We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!!”
Review of Katerina Taverna

Katerina Taverna
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bradford West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Katerina Taverna is by far one of the best places to eat in Stalis,it is very clean, has a great atmosphere and the food is excellent, well cooked and plenty of it. Everyone is made welcome with a smile no matter how busy they are.It is a credit to George, Rania, Manos and Elini who work very hard to keep it up to the excellent standard they have achieved over many years.
It is just of the main beach road and only five mins walk to the beach, there are bus stops at the top of the street going in both directions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    72
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I would recommend Katerina Taverna and Apartments to anyone! Me and my family have stayed here four or five years in a row and we love it!

The rooms we have stayed in are spacious and very clean! You also get great views from the balcony, whether it be the mountain which lead up to the beautiful village of Mohos or the view of the sea!

The location is also brilliant. It is situated off the main beach road so is quieter and is only a five minute walk away from the beach!

The food at Katerina is definitely one of the best, if not the best in Stalis, with everything cooked fresh and served perfectly!...A personal favourite of mine is Rania's moussaka...delicious!

If you fancy a bit of music George will sing to you whilst playing the bouzuki... and Manos may join in if he isn't too shy! ;) George, Rania, Maria and Manos are a lovely family and always have a smile on their face!

Hopefully I will be back next year! Miss you all!
Lots of Love, Jemma xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“so so”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not bad interrior, but poor selection of traditional food and drinks, we/ve got a feeling we are not in greece- nothing SPECIAL GREEK, bad wines and beer, poor choice for the money paid, no local music

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank masha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

lovely fresh food and wonderful family that run it. Known them for many years and treat you like friend amazing food too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CLARE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTER LE STREET
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Many tourists eat here every night of their holiday”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten in Katerina during every holiday we have had in Stalis since first going there in 1998. The food is always excellent and the family and staff always make you feel special. There is a very good choice of food and specials each day. The traditional Greek fare is excellent and I can recommend the salmon, steak on the grill and liver and onions. In fact I can recommend everything! Many people choose to eat here every night and it's easy to see why. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank DESPAULA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katerina Taverna also viewed

Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
Stalis, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Katerina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing