We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Giorgos”
Review of Lia Sofia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lia Sofia
Ranked #6 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Turin, Italy
1 review
“Thanks Giorgos”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I just got back from ten wonderful days in Stalis, where me and my girlfriend had a really great time. We stayed in one of the apartments of Lia Sophia, in a double room. The apartment was simple but cute: there was one bedroom, a bathroom, a kitchen-living room and a spacious balcony where there was a table for lunch. The air conditioning is an extra, but it costs only 6€ per day if you want it. The welcome was excellent: the whole is run by a greek family where Giorgos, the owner, is really friendly and very helpful. He booked us a taxi from the airport (40 € instead of paying 45-50) and he is always available to provide information on excursions, locals, facilities, and anything else.
The most important thing is where the apartments are located: very close to the sea. I mean, very. A two minute walk to the beach where you can rent two chairs and an umbrella for only 5 € per day, and where there is also a funny lifeguard named Besnik that will make you smile often during the day with his jokes! A few steps from the apartment there is the shopping street just along the coast, where you can go out for evening walks and where you will find many pubs, restaurants, shops of various kinds, supermarkets and excursions centers (I recommend Sparrow Travel, where a nice gentleman with mustache works).
To conclude, I advice Lia Sophia from all points of view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gian Luigi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at the Lia Sofia apartments from 27.06.13-07.07.13. We travelled as a group of 3 and stayed in the studio apartments on the ground floor. The rooms were spacious and clean, every 2 days the rooms were cleaned with new towels. The family who owns the hotel are great, so friendly and cannot do enough for you, especially Giorgos. We had a mix up with the rooms when we arrived and the air con wasn't working properly but less than 24 hours after we arrived everything had been fixed! The hotel is less than 1 minute walk from the beautiful beach and is situated just off the beach road, so is extremely close to numerous amounts of restaurants, bars and cafes. Malia is only a 20 minute walk from the hotel. There is no swimming pool at the hotel, however we didn't feel the need for one as the beach is so close. The ground floor studios have a balcony out the front and a patio with a washing line out the back. Giorgos also works at one of the pubs down the beach road called the Rovers Return Inn, this is a fab place to chill and have a few drinks of an evening. I would highly recommend this hotel, we had a fantastic time and would definitely book again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenbarrett93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Another great holiday stopping at these apartments, every year seems to get better. It is so friendly and welcoming you feel at home straight away. The apartments are clean and comfortable and ideally situated for Stalis many amenities . We will return again. . Martin and Lynda

Room Tip: High floor for best sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 25.6.13 to 5.7.13 great place to stay, thanks to the family owners especially Jiorgos who was very helpful when we had problems with our transfers (Resort Hoppa). Weather was fantastic. Apartments just off the main beach road of Stalis where you will find plenty of bars,restaurants & shops though you will find many more just off there. Found a great restaurant Katrina's known locally as Georges bit further up from the Curry Park which is also a nice restaurant. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very clean, spacious rooms. safe and airconditioning reasonably priced. Close to beach, restaurants and shops. The family who own this are so welcoming and helpful. We have already booked our next holiday here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 10saturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in apartments Lia Sofia from 25.05.13 to 19.06.13 with a child 1 year aged.
Apartments are spacious, clean and tidy, with 2 balconies, one looking to the sea, kitchen with all necessary things. All that we needed was there.

The apartment has its own territory, where you can relax in the shade among the beautiful flowers and palm trees. There are children's toys, swings. To the sea and restaurants 3 minutes to go slowly. However, there is very quiet and calm, child laid to sleep in the afternoon on the balcony. Sandy beaches are wide, very pleasant.

Owners deserve kind words, they are very responsive, always ready to help in any situation. In addition to regular cleaning and changing of bed linen, sometimes even washed our dirty dishes - thank them very much. You can buy from them homemade wine, raki and olive oil - all very tasty. In general, owners made our stay excellent. We did not want go home.
Many thanks to Jiorgos and Mary, Kostas and Lia. We wish success to their family business.
Sergey, Nadya & Vera.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trutnov, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our first vacation in Greece was great! Nice, clean and large apartments, only 80 mts from the beach and from the city, but no noise. The owner is very friendly and nothing is a problem. We like to come here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Filia Hotel Apartments
Filia Hotel Apartments
#9 of 52 in Stalis
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#5 of 52 in Stalis
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#2 of 52 in Stalis
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lia Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lia Sofia

Property: Lia Sofia
Address: Oulaf Palme, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lia Sofia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lia-Sofia apartments are located in in a quiet place in Stalida's heart, just 80 meters from the beach, with a view to the wonderful sea. The facility is consisted of: 10 appartments which can host 3 - 4 persons and 5 studios which can host 2 persons. All of them they have a balcony and the front ones they have a view to the sea while the back ones a view to the mountains.There are also a parking place and wonderful gardens with palm trees. Other facilities that are nearby Lia-Sofia, are restaurants, bars, medical center, bank ATMs, bus station and many more, just 2 minutes by foot. Our apartments and studios offer safe box, air-conditioning system, electric cooker and a fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Lia Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lia Sofia Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing