We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant but basic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irilena Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irilena Apartments
Ranked #19 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant but basic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had 2 weeks here in september and it was a brilliant basic holiday.
Location couldnt be any better as everyone says its only 2 minutes to all the bars, restaurants and shops but far enough to be quiet. Anna(owner) is lovely along with both her daughters, they work hard to keep this place nice.
If you are looking for cheap typically greek accomodation this place is great.If you want 5★ then go somewhere else. We met some great people here and we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WendyMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Don't expect perfection. Irilena apartments are basic but comfortable. If you needed anything more than that which was provided on arrival, all you had to do was ask and one of the lovely family members who own and run the place would do all they could to oblige. The rooms were cleaned and the linen changed frequently. The pool was lovely and clean and we never had a problem getting three sunbeds. Some guests did hog them, but that's just selfish guests!! The aircon was essential for us as the temperatures were quite high. The beds were comfy and with a bit of common sense we avoided mosquito problems. Irilena is set about 100m from the busy main street, and at the end of a cul-de-sac, so a nice peaceful location and only about 5 minutes to the beach. Taverna and supermarket just two minutes walk. All in all, brilliant value, brilliant holiday, brilliant family hotel and brilliant owners and staff. Loved it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Any rooms above ground level. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria/uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Anna+ daughters / irini / elena (your hosts) Are very nice people & will help always, Anna is only
basic English. .A big + is the apts are situated a short distance from all the lovely attractions of Stallis AT the end of a no though road with no passing noise.The accommodation is of basic economy priced. Good sized rooms, Showers/Hot/water o/k, but have to hold shwr head . Aircon available + £s. Safe Dep + £s. The poolside has sun from approx. 11am til finish, Rear rooms sun early til 12 mid.Snacks / drinks available, But not on tap, You must mingle & mix and plan your days in apts. Irilena Apts & Stallis a good place to be. Travelled as couple and loved it.

Room Tip: Poolside for sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived in Crete several years ago on the recommendation of our daughter. Well, I can honestly say this has been the best recommendation ever. We arrived in Stalis and received such a warm welcome by the whole community. This is the main reason we have returned every year since.

Anna, Irini and Lenia who run the Irilena Apartments are an amazing family who can not do enough for anyone. The apartments are very typical of Greece, basic however they are regularly cleaned to a high standard with fresh linens and towels every couple of days. The rooms which we have used are a good size and have all the utensils needed. I tend to take a kettle, but these are available from Irini, as are toasters. We have not cooked in the room, although I know neighbouring apartments have. We tend to go out to eat in the many fantastic restaurants along the sea front only a 5 minute walk away. The pool is clean and a good size, more than adequate for the number of guests and you can always get a sunbed. You can also purchase toasties, burgers, snacks and drinks at the pool bar.

We feel totally and completely at home in Stalis, in fact we relax the moment our holiday starts. Please do not hesitate to book these Apartments I'm sure you will join the many number of guests returning year on year!!

And, in response to the adverse comment below, I and others witnessed the way the author spoke to Anna on one occasion and this was totally out of order. The proprietors remained helpful, polite and friendly as always.

See you next year Irilena, Simply The Best :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MicM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

For the 5th year running we have stayed at the Irilena apartments and like the years previous we had a wonderful time! I stayed with my boyfriend during the last week of August and it was lovely, unlike a lot of places in Greece it had a good sized pool, I am 5ft2 and my partner 6ft3 and we didn't seem to have a problem at all! Althought the accomodation is basic it was immaculately clean, with fresh linen and towels every couple of days. The snacks and drinks around the pool area where great. The frappe's are gorgeous! A wonderful and welcoming family, thank you for making our holiday once again!
X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks, end of August beginning Sept. We arrived at 12am to be greeted by couple who had been delayed and where sat by there bags in the little foyer. Not one from the hotel. we hadn't got a clue what to do. The lady just pointed to a wall to tell us to call a number to let them know someone was downstairs waiting, using our own phone. Good job we had a mobile as there was no phone at the desk.. 5 mins later a lady, who now I believe to be Ireni's mother who then showed us to our rooms and just kept saying ok, ok. Now I know in Crete you get 1 toilet roll on your arrival but we didn't. No shops open so had to wait till the next morning. We were so tired we just fell into bed, which was lumpy, flat and had one flat pillow. Next morning, we got up and nobody was at reception. The shower room was disgusting with mould on the walls and thick black stuff next to the doors and shower, which was cracked. Plastic bands held the shower together. Day 3 and no cleaning had taken place, bins full, both toilet and apartment one. No clean towels which by day 3 were filthy. A threadbare cloth on the floor in the shower room floor. Constantly wiping it. Would have been better if there had been a mop. A brush and dustbin would have been nice too. When we did ask for towels, we were told every 4 days aswell as the cleaning. I explained they were dirty and the mother took us 2 upstairs. They were so threadbare, I could see through them. No kettle but she had some downstairs so why not put them in the room, seeing as it's what people had said previously.. We had one large plate, even though we were a couple. The knives wouldn't even spread butter as they were for cutting veg up. Pool cleaned once in 2 weeks cos we watched them. Ashtrays round the pool were just emptied with water around the pool then washed into the pool water. No towel for drying cups and washing up. Morning, noon and night, people were banging doors. The mother was miserable as sin and never smiled once. Threadbare curtains in the living area and stains all over them. Because nobody emptied the toilet bin, we ended up putting it down the loo as it's not healthy. We had stickers taped to some of the switches as there was dodgy electrics. Irini was the only nice part of our holiday, when she WAS around. Got up on the final day and yet again greeted by nobody to say hope you've had a nice time and to say goodbye. We have never stayed in such a dirty place in Crete and we weren't the only ones to say it. I'm 5"2 and the pool was small for me, but thank god we didn't go in it anyway. Maybe our standards are a little higher but most definitely wont be going back. We stayed here because of the reviews, but wish we hadn't cos this is not the place to stay if you like clean and tidy. The pictures we have taken will be going to the tour operator who we bought the holiday from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived at the apartments at night and was greeted with a welcome letter and keys (which is left in the door). We fumbled around in the night without any light as we did not realize in order to use the electricity the key has to be put in a slot on the wall next to the door! The rooms are very big and spacious and the bathroom is one of the best i have used in Greece. The owners are very attentive and friendly. The rooms are cleaned every other day and u can buy snacks at the pool bar however there is no "real food" such as an English breakfast or lunch and dinner, however you will find no problem finding food to eat as the strip is filled with restaurant and the beach is within close proximity. The only downside is you are never able to get a spot by the pool as everyone puts their towels down which is nonsense. Me and my friend came to Malia to go raving for the summer and the Malia strip is a 30minute walk away which is doable! The apartments offer the best of both and the cab fare was 8euros. We would definitely come back as the apartments are secure and a great place for resting at night.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor and up because you will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#3 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athena Apartments
Athena Apartments
#16 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latania
Latania
#4 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dias Hotel & Apartments
Dias Hotel & Apartments
#11 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nikos Apartments
Nikos Apartments
#10 of 54 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 54 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irilena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irilena Apartments

Property: Irilena Apartments
Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Irilena Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Stalis! Irilena Hotel and apartments is offering good value for money accommodation services since 1990. Irilena is a family owned hotel, located in the bay of Stalis or Stalida, as it is locally known. The hotel has been dedicated to serve holidays of pleasure and relaxation since 1990. Irilena is committed to spread Cretan hospitality and summer spirit. The long sandy beach of Stalis, that is almost 300 meters far from Irilena hotel, promises you carefree bathing in the Aegean Sea. Sunbathe around the pool with your family or your partner, plan your trips along the island of Crete with our help and forget about the cost of your holidays.We would like to offer low cost accommodation but high level of memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Irilena Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irilena Apartments Hotel Stalis
Irilena Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing