We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lovely Soleil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soleil Studios/Apartments
Ranked #1 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Lovely Soleil”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been to Stallis for the last 4 years as it has everything we love in a holiday. We stay at The Soleil, if we can get in, but as its very popular and we are limited with dates we often stay at The Seagulls next door. However we are always greeted like friends and use the Soleil for our snacks and drinks during the day and a before dinner drink! Roula and her staff work so hard and go out of their way to be helpful. We highly recommend The Soleil and hope to return again next year!! Dawn & Colin W

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    27
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just come back to dreary U.K. from spending two weeks at the soleil apartments and studios. Can't fault the owner Roula and the amazing staff. Always helpful and friendly. Nothing too much trouble. Rooms cleaned 6 days out of 7. Food great. Pool area fantastic and walk straight onto the beach. Shame someone had a problem with having to pay for a new toilet roll whilst they were there. Life is hard. Answer to that is: takean extra one with you, stop whinging about small things that really are not a problem and do not actually ruin your holiday or visit the loo less often..... Come on guys give them a break. We have been going to stalis for years and can honestly say this was the best holiday we have ever had. So much so we are booking to go back twice next year. Thank you all at Soleil for a brilliant holiday. See you soon. Luv Dawn and Dave. xxxx

Room Tip: If you require a spacious room book apartment not studio. A couple of apartments even look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawndavidyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was the first time I had stayed at these apartments and it won't be the last!! For a 2 star hotel it has everything you need, from the beach right on your door step to the pool area with plenty of sunbeds and the pool bar serving fresh, home cooked food including homemade chips!!. Roula (the owner), Andrea, Katerina and Maria are great and are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them, they all live locally and know the area and will help in anyway they can..

The rooms are clean and have everything you need in them, especially as you are on holiday and all you really do is sleep in there of a night! The bed was very comfortable with nice clean, freshly laundered sheets and the rooms are cleaned 6 days per week. I stopped in Room 5 which is a little bungalow style apartment just by the main building which overlooks a lovely rose garden. This bungalow has 2 rooms and is lovely and private but still close enough to the pool/beach area. When I come again next year I'll be asking for this room!!

As someone said before, they are not with Thomson but Low Cost Holidays and On holiday to name a few, I personally think Thomson are crazy to pull out of these apartments as it is a lovely, friendly hotel where nothing is too much trouble. We found Roula to be friendly and welcoming to ALL the guests not just her "regulars" as someone previously stated!

Stalis as an area has everything you could want, from local cretan taverna's to chinese and italian. Akti bar is about 200 metes from the apartments and you get a 10% discount if you are staying at Soleil!! The main road and bus routes are in short walking distance

Overall I would highly recommend these apartments and will be holidaying there next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Ok let's get the good points listed.

The Soleil apartments are in a great location and are good value for your money. The pool area is great and you step straight onto the beach. They are in a prime location for all the shops, bars and resturants. The bar staff and the cleaning staff are very friendly and helpful. The cleaner does a great job.

Negatives. The bedrooms are in need of some TLC. No shower curtains, very poor bathrooms. But hey how long do you spend in a room !! Beware of course of room 5. This room is not adjoined to the complex but situated under a main street shop and very close to the public path to the beach. Making it impossible to leave windows or patio doors ajar in fear of breakins. We had this room but requested another... but that's another story.

They will not be with Thomsons next year, I wonder why ?!!!

The owner Roula is obviously disinterested with Thomsons and of course she does have her favourite guests !!! If you are on her list nothing a problem.... if not well lets say she smiles a lot.

Stalis is a great resort and we will return but not to the Soleil unless I read of some TLC !!!

Great location could be a gem... come on Roula update the rooms and stop the meanness re toilet rolls etc and you have a great business.

Room Tip: Not room 5 !!! Go for 2nd floor 204 or 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in July 2012 had such an amazing time, incredibly clean, room cleaned 6 out of the 7 days, pool area was clean and no need to wake up early to get a lounger as there were plenty available. Staff were lovely and friendly, food from the bar was great too. Great location, right on the beach, middle of Stalis so restaurants and shops were basically on the doorstep.30-40 minute walk to the Malia strip, which we walked every night and didn't mind, although taxis in to Malia are around 8€. Brilliant stay for both families or young adults who don't want to stay in the center of Malia, would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Had an extremely relaxed holiday here, where nothing is too much trouble! Staff are a mine of information on things to do and see, locally, and will help in any way they can. Location is fabulous, with beach at end of the pool terrace, and the bars and restaurants a short stroll away. Turn right at the top of the stairs, (not mentioned in any previous reviews, but be warned....four flights of 6 marble steps down to hotel, ...difficult with luggage, etc..) for Mikes...Gyro's on one side, fabulous local food in his restaurant opposite...(beware of 'showering resident' who lives next door!!!), and of course Yannis' at top of the stairs., Fab food/excellent service.
Turn left at the top of the stairs, and you will find 'Minos', about a 4 minute stroll........great food, brilliant service by real character!!!
Loads more I could comment on, but you won't find a bad meal anywhere in Stalis.........and Andrea's home made chips by the pool are a must!!
All in all, a super relaxing break, in superb location, with excellent service..always with a smile!!
.......But don't tell anyone, 'cos the Hotel will be full, when we want to go back!!!!!!
Shhhhhhhhhhh.,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyAnn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a lovely place.. you are made to feel very welcome and once you have been there for a day you feel like you are with friends, Andrea is a fellow brummie who works behind the bar and she makes a fab full english breakfast! Lovely genuine person who cant do enough for u to ensure u have the best holiday x Katerina always full of smiles again another lovely person who cant do enough for u nothing is too much trouble x Rula who is the owner is lovely she loves to get to know u and enjoys a chat at the bar; all in all the staff are brilliant and really make your holiday by ensuring that family atmosphere is present during your stay x The rooms are basic but clean only criticism really is that the rooms could do with an update but they are exactly as described .. my one piece of advice would be to take plenty of mosquito wipes, creams etc as i had about 10 bites !!!! All in all this wonderful place is a gem its right on the beach, the pool is fab and there is plenty to do with regards to shops, restaurants, various tours and excursions if you want. we are definately going back.. missing it already x
Alison, Tony, James and Laura xxxx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlTon41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Zephyros Beach Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 52 in Stalis
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latania
Latania
#3 of 52 in Stalis
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anastasia Hotel
Anastasia Hotel
#1 of 52 in Stalis
1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
Hotel Panorama Stalidos
#17 of 52 in Stalis
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soleil Studios/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soleil Studios/Apartments

Property: Soleil Studios/Apartments
Address: Stalis, Crete 70007, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soleil Studios/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soleil Studios/Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil Studios/Apartments Hotel Stalis
Soleil Studios/Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing