We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family/couples apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ran-Mari Apartments
Ranked #32 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just returned form a fabulous 2 week holiday in Stalis where me my husband as well as or 2 daughters stayed at the Ran - Mari. The apartments are clean and basic but perfect for a 2 week holiday. They were cleaned most days and the towels and bedding changed regularly. The pool area is absolutely lovely with plenty of space and sun loungers for all. You never had to get up early to reserve a sun bed there were always some available. Drinks and snacks were reasonably priced. Whilst we were there there were a couple of bbqs which all guests are invited to. We didn't go as we like to go for a walk and eat out at restaurants but I think by all accounts a good time was had by all. It is about a 15 min walk into the centre of Stalis but all the way you are passing shops, restaurants and bars so it is pleasant.Some reviews say it is a 15 minute walk to the beach,but if you cut through the large 4 star hotel next to ran mari then there is a path leading straight to the beach which takes only 5 minutes!! Overall an excellent accommodation which I would definitely recommend. The only things i would improve are : have a toaster in the room instead of a coffee maker and take a hair dryer. Even though it says the apartments have a hair dryer ,,,it isn't very good!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley503933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Ran Mari Apartments what a gem ! Very family friendly, lovely hosts nothing was to much trouble, the apartment was cleaned every day and fresh towels twice a week. The accommodation was very clean with a wonderful swimming pool and poolside bar, would definitely recommend this accommodation and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for a fun lads/girls holiday do not stay here by any means. We somehow ended up here with 16 lads and from the second we arrived we knew we were in the wrong place. This is a family hotel where any kind of noise/ boystressness is not tolerated. After our first night which i would class as pretty tame we were confronted with a meeting first thing in the morning concerning our levels of noise during the return home.

In the meeting i felt like i was back at school which was the last thing i was expecting while being on holiday. The women told us that the other clients had complained and that this was our last warning.

After the meeting i decided to call the holiday company and arrange a transfer to a hotel that was suitable for 16 buggers. I was told a new hotel would be found and we would be moving the following day.

After another fairly tame night apart from a small arguement between 2 of my friends i was again woken by an angry women demanding another meeting. This time the owner of the hotel (George) ran the meeting. He stated that we were behaving like animals and that it was not that kind of hotel.

I didnt pay much attention as i was expecting to be moved that day anyway. I called my contact from the holiday company to find out when we were moving. I was devastated when i found out the owners of Ran Mari had put out a bad word for our group which resulted in us not being able to move to any other hotel in Malia. This didnt make sense to me as they could of killed 2 birds with one stone by us moving hotels. I found this act very spiteful and it meant that one more small disruption and we would have to call it an end to our holiday.

We spent the rest of our holiday walking on egg shells and this is not what you want to be doing on a lads holiday. Towards the end of the holiday we were invited to a BBQ by George and we had a really good time drinking and having a laugh with them.

On the last day we were sat down and introduced to a long list of fines which included petty things like dirty bed sheets and missing towels. I felt like we were being harrased and after spending hundreds of euros at the bar for the 10 days we were there i felt there was no need to chase us up about a few missing towels.

Overall i would say that Ran Mari are happy to take your money knowing that 16, 20 year old lads should not be at these apartments but the staff took an instant dislike to us as we are young English lads.

Not saying the Ran Mari is a bad place, just advising anyone apart from families not to stay here.

Terry Tibbs
Thankyou Good Night

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lewis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely loved staying here! Came here with 3 other mates on a lads holiday. At first we were worried because our transfer dropped us in what seemed the middle of nowhere but a short walk got us to the Ran Mari. It is a great hotel, everyone is friendly including the owner George who was always about, his daughter and the cleaner. The room was cleaned everyday and the cleaner had no complaints despite our mess. George is a great guy who will go out of his way to make time for you and get to know you. The pool was nice, well kept and had the bar right next to it which was perfect. Good food at the bar and for reasonable prices as well.
It was about 15/20 minute walk to the strip which was ok because there were a lot of restaurants and bars on the way, also was about 15 min walk to the beach so was not too bad. Was really glad we stayed here and even when we left, George let us leave our suitcases at the hotel so we could go to the beach or do what we wanted, until it was time for us to get our flight.
All in all a great place to stay, bit sad to leave the place! Would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just come back from holiday in Stalis unfortunately we stayed for 3 days at the Rani Mari apartments.The apartment was clean but it was a 20 minute walk in hot weather the owner had blocked 2 exits which meant a long walk.The apartment was very small with old fashioned furniture the TV was 60s built and the electrical wires were stuck together with insulation tape.The owner keeps a dog on the premises and the first night of our stay the dog bit me so BEWARE.Best thing was leaving these apartments and finding a much better place to stay for the rest of the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a great place to stay with a family , lovely quiet relaxing place and well run by George and his daughter Ranya, George is a funny chaaty man with many stories to tell. The location is excellent for the beach and the many restaurants and bars, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Me and 2 other girls stayed at the Ran-Mari Apartments this summer (2012) and had a brilliant stay. The rooms were newly decorated, the apartment complex itself was really nice and the owner George was extremely welcoming. It was the perfect distance from the strip only about a 15 minute walk and about 10 mins to the beach. We all had a brilliant holiday and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabby181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.0 mi away
Villa Malia
Villa Malia
#78 of 91 in Malia
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Studios & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Memories Apartments and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Irini Studios
Irini Studios
#37 of 66 in Stalis
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Stella
Villa Stella
#5 of 66 in Stalis
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everest Apartments
Everest Apartments
#16 of 66 in Stalis
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ran-Mari Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ran-Mari Apartments

Address: El.Venizelou Street, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ran-Mari Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re a couple searching for an intimate getaway, a family or a group of friends Ran –Mari Apts offer an impressive range of resort accommodation that will exceed your expectations.We are located in the area of Stalis, Heraclion Crete (30 km east from the airport) and within a short walking distance of Mallia (500 meters) and Hersonissos (1500 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ran-Mari Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ran-Mari Apartments Hotel Stalis
Ran-Mari Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing