We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" yamas...."”
Review of Koula Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koula Apartments
Ranked #43 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“" yamas...."”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

just returned from a weeks stay at the koulla apts,was met with a very freindly welcome from steve and edna was made to feel at home wright away (as a single traveller means a lot) and the bar was still open till 4am horray!!! were everyone was all very freindly and was always busy wich tells you everything...the rooms are kept very clean,of a good size. towels and bedding changed regular. can't comment on cooking facilties in the room cause i neaver used them, you don't need to...! so from me a big YAMAS to steve and edna and all at the koulla.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hi had a gr8 wk at koulla apts .met some luvly people . apts are clean and spacious with gud size balcany.This was my first time to Stallis and wud def return.
Edna and Steve from Cheers bar were fab, really friendly and made us very welcome, gr8 hosts and Edna's breakfast is a must.Overall holiday was amazing cant wait to return.......
Thanks again Edna and Steve you are both luvly people and look forward to see you soon

JULIE BILLY,CHARLIE SAM XXXX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopaholic783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hi, Just got yesterday from the Koulla apartments. Had a fantastic 2 weeks, met some fantastic people and made some good friends. The rooms at the Koulla are what you would expect from a Greek 2 star, they are clean, tidy and spacious, location is great. Yes it is on a main road but after the first few days you don't even notice the traffic, but its location is perfect for the main strip and the beach not even 2 minutes away.

Great restaurants on the door step and of course the Yamas bar run by Steve and Edna is beside the rooms and they are there from early in the morning until 4:00 am should you have any problems and they will sort it. We tried a lot of the bars on the main strip (we were on holiday!) and were disappointed with several of them especially with the quality of the cocktails served. We returned early one night and went to the Yamas bar where Steve served up some lovely cocktails (full strength no half measures here! Yummy). Steve was more than happy to make other cocktails that weren't on the list with the use of good old google, so then the challenge was set!! For the rest of our holiday we were finding new cocktails to challenge Steve with and every time he came up trumps, great guy.

Edna supplied the food with great bar snack from your full english breaky which was superb to toasties, sandwiches and burgers and my hubby's fav the bacon and egg baguette which Edna cooks perfectly with a nice runny yoke, yum yum.

Really looking forward to returning next year and to see Steve and Edna at the Yamas bar, get the Dooley's in ready Steve!!

Hello to all our new friend we will see you next year and many thanks to Steve and Edna for making our holiday so great, we would recommend Koulla apartments and especially the Yamas bar to all.

Room Tip: Challenge Steve at making cocktails if he has the ingredients you will get it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been travelling to Crete for many, many years now and we love the Koullsa Apartments.
Manos and Nifula make your stay so wonderful and are always attentive to your needs.
Unfortunately, Nifula and Manos have had a year off as they were expecting a baby and the Yamas bar connected to the Apartments is currently being run by Steve and Edna Watts from the West Midlands.

The apartments aren't the most modern of apartments, but they are clean and everything is there for your needs, admittedly, apart from the odd breakfast on the balcony, I didn't do any cooking as the best cooking in Crete is Rania's cooking at the Katerina Taverna - the food is to die for and George just makes you feel like the best person in the world - just love it.

The Yamas bar is a great little bar, serving ice cold beers in ice cold glasses, the food is excellent and the breakfasts are amazing for the price.
The pool area is only small but it is always clean and sunny and sheltered.
The Koulla apartments are situated in a side road, in May it's not really noisy at all but we have been in August when it's a little noisier but nothing to get upset about!
Love Stallis - so many shops and Tavernas and great value bars, it's still les than a Euro a pint in some places if you look carefully!
All the Restaraunts we have tried over the years have been delicious - George's is still the best but there is a wide choice and you can sit on the beach and enjoy your meal if you wish.
Can't wait to visit again in 2013.
It appears that the family are severing their links with Olympic next year and are going private, they have a website and you can book online.
This is a shame as it was a great deal with Olympic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mantrachant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed from 3/09/2011 for 1 week
arrived about 4,30 am at apartments -met by manager who directed us to our room no 4 top floor. it was pitch black with no lights working on the stair way . having used our mobile for a light we entered the room. first impressions decent size room, tiny bathroom and very basic kitchen.|veryhot room with no aircon -
Apartments are on a very busy side road whitch joins the main stalis to malia road and onto the beach road, traffic all day and all night with coaches , moped and quad bikes using it at high speeds ,so you will have to sleep with windows shut if u want to get any sleep.
hired a fan next day at 15 euro,s for the week and a safe for the same amount of 15 euros
fan wasnt much help as all it did was recirculate the hot air all ready in the room so we had to sleep with our balcony doors open to try and get some air yet and of course the traffic noise.
the shower was tiny and designed so more water ended up on the floor than down the plug hole.
reported some minor problems with light outside and in room which was fixed straight away so that was good.
apartment pool small but the apartments only had 10 rooms so was big enough - sun all day around the pool area and always clean .
bar man very friendly and always helpful. didnt spend much time around pool area - just towards early evening after day at beach but always a sun bed available.
good location for bars etc and beach being only about 5 mins from both.
we spent most evenings in dwyers irish bar on the stalis strip - good singer owen and great bar staff (,never letting ur glass get empty) also great during the day with 2 sunbeds umbella and toastie lunch for 3 euros each,plenty of decent restuaranst to choose from but very slow service at Jasmine chinese rest .

for price we paid the apartments were ok - but we booked thro olympic holdays which we wouldnt do again see my report on olympic holidays

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven9668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have just come back from a lovely relaxing holiday in Stalis, Crete. We stayed at these apartments and was extremley happy with the large spacious clean rooms which we had booked 2 of them to accomadte 6 of us, so there was plenty of room as each apartment had 4 separate beds. Each apartment had 2 french doors leading onto large balconies where we spent a couple of nights having some lovely greek food (courtesy of Knossos on the main strip, yum!) and lotsof Mythos and wine - YAMAS! We had clean bedding and a room clean twice in the week that we stayed which was lovely as sand does get into all sorts of places! The appartmemts are on a busy'ish road so if you leave the doors open then you will hear this but this does die down in the early hours so didnt find this a problem and splept soundly untill 9-10am each day, just ready for a refreshing dip in the pool :) the only thing that i would mention is that not allaprtments have a air-con unit so can get abit hot in the night, but we hired 2 fans at 15 euros each for the week which sorted this out. Our room was number 11, but the second aprt, no. 12 did have air con which got our firneds room very cool in the night, this costs 30 euro's for the week. The hotelmanagers Steve and Edna were great and very friendly, and were at the bar from 9am each morning and cooked lovely breakfast (a big bacon roll for 2 euros! or a big breakfast with all the trimmings for 4.80euros, awesome!) the pool was lovely and clean and on our last day when we had tobe out of the rooms at midday we lazed by the pool all afternoon and steve and edna looked after our cases. One of the big pluses for these apartments is the location! It is lierally a 5 minute walk from the beach and as you walk on to the beach road (the main strip) your right in the middle of everything (it come out at Santido Anthousa hotel). Just a last few notes on the places i'd recomend to eat at, we stayed in stalis last year aswell so have tried most of the resteraunts! for a lovely evening meal with a beach front view we had a great time at Artemis, for a take out try Knossos (the best gyros - greek pitta with flame grilled meat and tzatsiki). i'll leave the rest for you to try out - all are pretty good! and if you like your cocktails then the Beach Comber is awesome - try the miss pink! i wanted to drink those all holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed here for 2 weeks found it central for beech shops and nightlife ,on a side street but had some traffic noise. The appartment were very basic but clean and we had clean towels/bedding every couple of days. We wre lucky to have had aircon in our room but at a price (115 euros for safe and aircon!!!!!) which came as a shock on our first day.Manos and his loverly wife could not do enough for there guests in the bar /pool area (appartments owned by another family member) . Walk into Malia along beach rd 35min, we took bus to herrennossiss every half hour cheaper than taxis if you like to shop.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_insideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stalis hotels
0.1 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#29 of 52 in Stalis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Neon Hotel
Neon Hotel
#32 of 52 in Stalis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ilios Studios
Ilios Studios
#15 of 52 in Stalis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Studios & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Katerina Taverna and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Psaras Apartments
Psaras Apartments
#12 of 62 in Stalis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koula Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koula Apartments

Property: Koula Apartments
Address: 9 Eleftheriou Venizelou, Stalis, Crete 700 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Stalis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Koula Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koula Apartments and experience the Cretan hospitality and an exeptiomal , for their category service quality. Koula Apartments in Stalis is a traditional apartment complex, just 150 meters away from the sandy beach of Stalis. Recently renovated, we are a family-run hotel which prides ourselves in providing a warm, friendly environment to our guests in a unique traditional greek setting. Our Studios and Apartments providing the most modern of comforts to our guests. Such amenities include digital flat screen TV's, AC, refrigerators, Full Equipment kitchen, and each one, offers a terrace ideal for sun-bathing. It is an ideal place for families, people seeking rest and relaxation, and those looking for fun and excitement during their holidays. Both studios and apartments offers: Full Equiped kitchen Krups Espresso machine Dining area Private bathroom with shower Balcony or terrace. Air contition Full HD Flat screen TV set with media player via USB Washing machine Hair Dryer Toaster Filter coffee machine Extra Services: Free beach toys for kids Airport tranfers Car rental ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Koula Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koula Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing