We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pela sofia - just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pela Sofia Apartments
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Stalis
Reviewed January 17, 2011

stayed here with my wife in July2010. Just a short walk from the busy section of stalis, close enough to walk but just far enough out to enjoy a great day and quiet nights. Smashing layout, great bar, pool, garden and close to the beach. Plus all of the footy !! Great mix of families, couples & singles. Malia only 5 mins in a taxi.
We loved it and would got back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elliebo_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Pela Sofia Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

My boyfriend and i are just back from a 1 week stay at the pela sofia, you couldnt say a bad word about the apartments there fab, being a young coulpe we were worried incase it was an older crowed and more families that stayed at the pela sofia but it was mixed with young groups, young couples, families and older was brill and suited us great because it wasnt to mad or to quite. its a family run hotel and there all so friendly and would go out of there way to help. the rooms are basic but very clean and have just what u need, its 50euro 4 the air-con per week and 20euro for the safe per week but is totally worth it. there in a superb loction with just a 2min walk to the beach were they have lots of water sports and plenty of loungers to soak up the sun, theres a good couple of supermarkets right by pela sofia so ul never b stuck and just a 5min walk takes u to the strip of stalis were thers plenty of resteraunts and bars, if ur looking 4 something livelier its about a 25-30min walk into malia were ul find all your night clubs. we hired a quade 4 4days and was totally worth it 4 seeing about the place. if your looking for something a little more livelier to do during the day a 10min drive takes u into hersonisses were u have star beach, theres not much of a beach at it but has a fab atmosphere and is good for young couples and groups, theres bars,music, pools to lay by ,watersports, bungy jumpin, lazy river, water slides and lots more....we had a fab week and if we were to ever go back to stalis it would be staying at the pela sofia apartments would highly recommend them :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yaz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed at the Pela Sofia for 2 weeks and would recommend them without a doubt, the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble,everywhere was kept clean and tidy at all times.We requested a sea and pool view when we booked and we feel our apartment 207 was the best , it had two balconies, only a few have two, with a view of the pool, gardens and sea view over the tops of the trees from one of them.The apartment was spacious with one twin bedded room and another room with twin beds at one end and kitchen/diner at the other but there was plenty of room. The kitchen had a two ring hob,kettle,fridge and microwave, there was NO TOASTER OR FRYING PAN, the bathroom had a shower and towels were supplied. The pool was a good size and there were loads of sunbeds with umbrellas.
The beach is only a few minutes away from the Pela Sofia and is a sandy thin strip, the sea is lovely and warm but was choppy, so was no good for snorkelling, the cost of a parasol and two beds was 5.40 euros.
The bar and restaurant we used the most was the Rose and Crown, it was 100 yards from the Pela Sofia and had 2 pool tables,internet and a PS3, Manos (the best Pina Colada maker in Stalos) and his staff made you feel very welcome, the food, breakfast and dinner was delicious. We had a wonderful holiday and hope you do too!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slevs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Very nice hotel and when we arrived we couldn't believe how nice it was for how much we paid. We had a room which slept 4 ,there was one double room with single beds and an open room with two single beds, a table and chairs, kitchenette and a big wardrobe. We also had two balconies, one over looking the pool. Ask for room 307! BEST ROOM. Cleaned daily and sheets changed after 3 days and cleaner was so funny. The hotel food was ok, burgers chips english breakfasts etc, but was reasonbly cheap. We were a large group of 12 aged 18 and found the walk to malia only took 20 mins! Hotel was mainly younger adults but was quiet and would be enjoyed by elders also. Restaurants everywhere were good, our fave was camelot and antolia. Make sure you check out the African beach bar and meet dejoin the bar man!! Crazyyyyyy. Always get free raki shots and fruit. Quote of the week "erm, We're here for the rave". Hello to Ronaldo and Rooney if you're reading - cheeky.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

stayed at the pela sofia apaartments end of may begining of june 2010. absolutley lovely apartments. good location bars restuarants 2 supermarkets in very close proximity. reccomend going to satellite bar for breakfast i think they do it all day 5 euros well worth it - just a 10 minute walkfor apartments. also isf you are going to go into malia go to the bull restuarant fantastic value for money and friendly service 10.90 for 3 course meal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Just returned. Pela Sofia is rated as a greek 3 star but comparing with other hotels this one is under rated. The rooms were clean, fresh towels supplied every other day and sheets changed weekly, and the bins changed alsmost everyday.The maid was also very friendly. The owners Maria and spiros were always at hand. Our room overlooked the roadside, it could get a bit noisy but it was great for people watching. The noise was reduced dramatically when the doors were closed. We were there at the end of the season so air conditioning not required. We did pay for a safety deposit box which was expensive at 40 euros for 2 weeks. Our friends didnt get one and had no problems. The crime rate is low in crete Drinks were slightly dearer than the pubs. The pool was a great size and the gardens were a great size, never had to fight for sunbed. The beach was an easy walk. Malia is about 15 mins walk and the bars and restaurants are plentiful We ate somewhere different every night and most are great. Not a great deal of entertainment, mostly quizes but are fun. Trip to spinalonga good. Knossos good but if you have seen ruins before then don't bother. Definately hire a car, its cheap and easy to drive, the views going over the mountains are magnificent. Quads look fun, you do need a licence, however never got round to getting one. Local bus service good.Hired push bikes and roads easy, very few hills. We prefer to visit different placeswouldn't necessarily go back however would definately recommend it., so

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Just returned from another two week break at the Pela sophia, again we had the most pleasant of stays.From getting off the bus and checking in it felt like we where back with friends. All the staff are friendly and helpfull, Maria and her husband spiros are always on hand to help. The rooms are of a good size, and by greek standards superior although basic by english standards, they are cleaned every day, sheets changed twice a week, towels every other day. We did however, have a road side room this time which can be noisy and so had to pay extra for air con so we could keep the doors closed at night, this would be my only gripe as we had to pay 10 euros a night for this. Try and request a pool side room if you can.
The pool is a lovely size and very clean with plenty of garden space and sunbeds.( NO need of throwing the beach towel to reserve is needed). It is a very short walk through the hotel grounds next door to the wonderful beach with warm sea.
The bar and snack bar serve excellent drinks and food, and there are tv screens for those who like to watch the inevitable soaps or sports. Internet is around 1euro for 8mins.
Stalis is a wonderful strip of bars and resturants and local gift shops selling the usual tat. Ideal for those with pushchairs or wheelchair bound as it is very flat and straight. It is very easy to walk to Malia if you must or even to Hersonniss if you are a good walker.
We tended to have breakfast on the balcony and people watch and then go to our favourtie resturant Anatolia oevery other evening.The food is to die for and the service is fantastic although some might say a little pricey. We did find that stalis prices had gone up quiet a bit this year. There are a few good music bars nothing to rowdy the best is the Beachcoomber that plays live music every other night, and serves the best drinks around, again costlier than some of the other bars but we like good drinks not local.
Overall if you want a nice relaxing holiday with things to do in the evening, good resturants and no mountains to climb to get back to hotel then Stalis could be for you and the Pella Sophia has to be the best self catering apartments around.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tia24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalis
0.0 mi away
Neon Hotel
Neon Hotel
#30 of 52 in Stalis
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariadne Beach Hotel
Ariadne Beach Hotel
#13 of 90 in Malia
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
Talgo Hotel - Apartments
#21 of 52 in Stalis
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kostas Apartments
Kostas Apartments
#23 of 52 in Stalis
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matamy Beach Hotel
Matamy Beach Hotel
#19 of 52 in Stalis
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Stella
Villa Stella
#7 of 64 in Stalis
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Sofia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Sofia Apartments

Address: Nik. Grammatikaki St., Stalis, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Stalis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Stalis
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pela Sofia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Sofia Apartments Crete/Stalis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing