We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly unpretentious hotel”
Review of Hotel Glaros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Glaros
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“friendly unpretentious hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Glaros is a lovely, quiet, simple hotel run by a delightful family who can not do enough for you. Rooms are quite small but have all essential facilities (air-con, en suite, fridge, TV). Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking a quiet side street just behind the main street of the village. Breakfast is not a buffet but you have a choice of Greek style or continental, and extras (e.g. fresh orange juice) are available at extra charge. The best thing about the hotel is the family who run it who are unfailingly helpful. This is not a hotel that would suit everybody, but if you put personal service above quality of facilities it is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil_oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
84
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Piacenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Old but well keeped structure,central and quiet position in Paleochora.The room was clean and big, and the toilet was superior to the Cretan standard.Breakfast was nice and served in a peaceful patio.Owners and price ok.Recommended

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lucagior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for two lovely nights. The family who run it were so friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was coffee, breads/toast with jams and cheese/ham which we found to be enough on a hot morning. We would stay here again if we ever came back - the location is great and it the price was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanandShen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, with good size rooms, very clean, very good Cretan breakfast, with superb owners, always with a smile and ready to help you, fantastic price for value of what you are getting, simply excellent, 5 mins walk to the beach - would always go there when in Palaiochora

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at glaros studio apartments in June 2012 the family running the place were welcoming and were happy to accommodate our every need.apartments are very clean and comfortable. Definitely a place we would visit again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Glaros Hotel as the warm welcoming hosts made it a pleasure to stay there. The rooms were clean and modern with a balcony and A/C. Breakfast was served on a terrace with beautiful flowers, which was a nice place to relax at any time of day. We were served a simple basic breakfast on the first day, but when we expressed our love of the local myzithra cheese, we were given a delicious Cretan breakfast the following days. The hotel is in a central location close to the bus station, but we weren't sure how to find it when we got there. Just walk straight down from the bus station until you see the Hotel Rea sign down a street to your right. Hotel Glaros is right around the corner from it. We were also given a recommendation at the hotel for the Methexis taverna where we ended up eating every day. I would highly recommend the Hotel Glaros.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

we stayed two nights and really enjoyed the!a quiet place
for someone who really wants to rest.and above all clean with very low prices!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toniagiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.3 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Paleochora
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#6 of 18 in Paleochora
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paleochora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glaros

Property: Hotel Glaros
Address: 1 Daskalogianni, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Glaros 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Glaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glaros Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing