We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved IOS!”
Review of IOS Paleochora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palaiochora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IOS Paleochora
Ranked #2 of 17 Palaiochora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On the beach but with a "countryside" feel,a tree-lined drive to the parking space, a very friendly welcome from Kyria Olga, with wine and (very good) raki as an arrival gift. Exterior - looks old; but don't be put off. Our room was very attractively decorated, spacious with a sea-view balcony; tranquil, peaceful. 10 minute walk into Paleochora, short drive to the beautiful Anidri beach, lovely country walks accompanied by the resident dog! Lots too, of resident cats - all friendly but if, like me, you are cat-allergic, necessary constantly to deter their entry to room!

Room Tip: Upstairs, sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for one night at the IOS as a start of a trip around the island in April. The owners living on site were very friendly and welcoming, the room was absolutely great. We had a room in the first floor with balcony and seaview which seemed to be brand new (or freshly renovated). The room was well equipped with everything you need (incl. air condition, TV, small kitchen and fridge), and we received nice homemade white wine and raki as welcome gifts. The sea is only a few metres away. Funny thing: The family dog accompanied us when we were walking to the center of Paleochora for dinner (only a few minutes walk). We can definitely recommend this place and will come again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the first floor with seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

i love crete and here in Paleochora i always have the feeling to relax the family is very friendly
and to the beach i need a few seconds. The mountains the see the air, and this nice place is good for my health. i am here for more than 20 years, its always nice, they have nice organic olive oil too and also tasty wine so i go again in a few days from hamburg to paleochora to ios.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have been staying in Paleochora for over 25 years, and only found IOS rooms 3 years ago! But it was worth the wait!
The rooms are basic Cretan style, but the views from the front rooms are spectacular.
IOS is about a kilometre out of the village, but it a lovely walk at any time of day.
The owner lives on site, and thank goodness for that as he is the most generous person ever with his vegetables, olive oil and home made wines.
You feel as though you are staying with the family here as everyone makes you so welcome, and it is a taste of real Cretan life.
If you want peace and quiet, the simple life with the attractions of sea view, beach with loungers at the end of your garden this is for you.
Fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gloriaandbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is the third time (and definitely not the last time) we stayed in this wonderful property.

Paleochora is only 7-10 minutes walk away from the apartments. The location is superb, really quiet, the whole place is covered in green and view to the sea is marvelous.

The rooms are clean and tidy, equipped with everything that you will need. We were lucky again to stay in room 2, which is upstairs and offers front sea view from inside and balcony with front-sea view.

The beach was quiet and clean as always.....

The price of the room was at least reasonable (if not cheap...)

Try these apartments if you want to avoid Paleochora's overcrowded center (specially in August) in order to secure a safe parking for your car.

We look forward to visit this place again (hopefully next year....)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have found these rooms via Internet and made an e-booking for our stay in August 2012. We have been really surprised by the modern services of this small and hospitable family hotel. What we have appreciated a lot was the honesty of the owners about what we should expect and what we are going to see. It is an often fact to be surprised by something completely different than you have booked. Expected, since the owner confessed that they are working for years with foreign tourism; Yes, Paleochora is an international destination!

But more for the rooms; They are clean, spacious, fully equipped with A/C, fridge, kitchen, safe and an amazing balcony view to the shore. Bottles of local wine, raki and oil were on the table at the time of our arrival, along with a promise that everything we would need, our kind people be happy to help.

The hotel is located in a quite neighborhood of Paleochora within a small forest, and it 'owns' a private beach. The waters are crystal clear, ultra cold and refreshing, and your definitely gonna count how many times a day you can dive!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have visited this small hotel earlier this summer, on June.
This small property lies right next to the sea, and it has a private beach. It is 500m far away from town center right before the paleochora camping.
The room was really quiet and clean. Mr Pantelis, the owner, was always helpfull and friendly with us, and he offered us daily!! local wine, olive oil and raki!!
Unfortunately there was not any room available with sea view, however the room's view to the garden from our private balcony was also astonishing. We look forward to visit paleochora and ios rooms next year (or if we are lucky, even earlier on September!!!!)

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Eleni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palaiochora hotels
0.8 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#1 of 18 in Palaiochora
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#2 of 18 in Palaiochora
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#7 of 18 in Palaiochora
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Palaiochora
137 reviews
0 mi away
SeaView Petrakis
SeaView Petrakis
#4 of 17 in Palaiochora
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oriental Bay
Oriental Bay
#3 of 17 in Palaiochora
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IOS Paleochora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IOS Paleochora

Address: 1st Km of Road Paleochora - Anydri, Palaiochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Palaiochora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Palaiochora
Price Range: $23 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find our rooms in the east side of Paleochora right next to the sea. You follow the road to Anydri and you turn right in the first bridge you will meet. In our place you will appreciate the natural beauty and the Silence of the Sea ... more   less 
Also Known As:
IOS Paleochora Palaiochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing