We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being popular has a downside”
Review of Kapetan Dimitris - CLOSED

Kapetan Dimitris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $67
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Kapetan Dimitris open in May 2010 ...The cuisine is Cretan tradition with a modern twist....Old Cretan recipes transform to a new fresh recipe full of flavor using the best local ingredients presented in a more appealing way.....menu changes every two days to make sure that food is always fresh and has not been left over the fridge for days.....we also offer a variety of the Best Cretan wines but also from the rest of Greece......
Alingsas, Sweden
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Being popular has a downside”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I toured western Crete in late September. The food we had at Kapetan D. was perhaps the best during our stay and deserves high praise, as does the setting and the efforts of the single waiter. And there is the rub. As the place filled up the poor waiter was just overwhelmed and was running, more or less, like a scalded cat in his ambition to give good service to everyone! This is why I grade the service as only "Average" - no fault of the waiter's!

The propreitor undoubtedly has a good thing going - so let us hope that he doesn't spoil it by scrimping on manning but rather makes sure that service ascends to the same high level as everything else!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    30
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Unbelievable wine, perfect service, and then there's the food. Oh wow.

We enjoyed a fabulous bottle of wine, barley bread starter, squeaky cheese, zucchini in pastry, lamb and a luscious cool chocolate desert. Everything was prepared to perfection.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

There are several really excellent tavernas in Paleochora and this is one of our favourites-we enjoyed eating there several times during our stay. Lovely location by the sea and great to watch the mountains change colour as the sun goes down. High quality, interesting food with a welcome difference prepared to order & house red wine particularly good. Nice family atmosphere, warm welcome from Dimitri & Elli (& small son Theo if he's about!). Nice touches such as real tablecloths, fresh flowers on the tables & good cutlery-and the toilets are splendid!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BN152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Greek food with a twist”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Dimitri and his lovely wife Elli continue to provide Paleochora with interesting, delicious and inventive Greek cuisine. The starters are very different from many other tavernas in Paleochora and great if you are a vegetarian.Do try the mushrooms as well as the tomato and courgette fritters. If you fancy a salad with a difference this is the place to go. Their wild purslane salad is wonderful and they serve a proper mixed leaf salad with delicious dressing. The wine list is interesting but I drank their house white which is very good. Eating there feels very special as they have tablecloths, strong paper napkins and wine is served out of wine glasses. The service is attentive and very friendly All in all a first class experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mr chef I am still hungry.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Located on the center of promenade this restaurant s really nice decorated and it appears to be a european restaurant as it offers international menu and ofcourse it includes cretan- greek dishes.
Practically we found after we had finished and pay for our dinner that the portions were small as French, the cost was high as Swiss, the size of the plates for each portion was small like the tea plates used for English tea but the smile and the service of the very kind personell was really warm as it should be from Cretan people

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapetan Dimitris also viewed

Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
 
Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
 
Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
Paleochora, Chania Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing