We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we just keep coming back again and again.”
Review of Haris Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haris Studios
Ranked #5 of 15 Palaiochora B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2013

we just keep coming back again and again - cannot add anything to our last review . just as good as ever. In same ownership are yiorgos studios - not on the sea shore, but with with sea views from the upper floors, and you can still hear the sea lapping against rocks. Yiorgos is a more modern 3 story building complete with lift. As mentioned by others there is now a small shingle beach with sun beds and umbrellas just five or ten minutes away from the studios where you can take a swim.we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Haris Studios are located along the rocky shore leading away from the landing stage and as such is a nice quiet spot away from the bustle of the town centre. Of course there is the sound of the sea lapping against the rocks but that can be soothing. Very clean well-equipped apartments with good size balcony and the added advantage is the owner's café next door where you can get all kinds of breakfast, drinks and very fine cake baked by Flora. They also own a newer apartment block behind these where you can use the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great, our preference is for 1st or 2nd floor although ground floor rooms may sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulK743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Paleochora is a delightful place to visit and stay and Haris/Yiorgos studios are perfectly situated at one end of the town, right by the water, They face east, towards sunrise (or moonrise) over the sea, which was lovely when we visited in June as the room and balcony therefore avoided the heat of the evening sun which could be quite oppressive after a day already spent on the beach. Most of the other reviews have painted the picture already - it's a quiet area that still preserves local feeling, while being very comfortable and no more than an enjoyable five minute stroll from the main area for cafes and restaurants. Rooms are a reasonable size and very clean.The Waters Edge café, effectively part of the same building, is immediately to hand and is a fine spot for breakfast and evening cocktails. As many others have said, Flora is very welcoming and helpful.

Down sides; practically none. Sure, the bathrooms in Haris studios are small, as one other reviewer has said, but (far more important) there is always a copious supply of hot water. As far as the weekly live music goes, this turned out to be one man and his acoustic guitar singing classic songs from the 60s - 90s, which was a pleasure to hear from our balcony.

Main reservation with writing this review? It'll get more difficult to book into for our next visit but you've got to be fair when someone had put a lot of hard work into their hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjhardmanlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Haris apartments for five days in May. The location is gorgeous with a balcony facing the sea. We could sit on the balcony and watch the sea in the evening. The apartment had everything we needed, We used the pool at Yorgis apartments or went to the rocky cove nearby,
It was a five to ten minute stroll to the centre of paleochora. The beds were comfy and we slept like a log. The cafe downstairs sells food and beverages and we had breakfast and snacks there when we could not be bothered doing it ourselves. We had one of Flora's dinners on saturday night and the food was fantastic. it is our intention to return to Paleochora next year and stay at these appartments.

Room Tip: any sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadiecool99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is our second visit to Paleochora. Last time we stayed in Haris Studios but this time elected to go to Yiorgis Studios - owned by Flora and Haris - the owners of Haris studios and the Waters Edge Cafe.

Although it is more than two years it was like coming home. Katerina was still there to welcome us. The bookings list noted us not as Mr and Mrs but rather by our first names. As we were arriving on a Saturday we had booked for one of Flora's dinners - and excellent it was too.

Yiorgis is only a few yards from Haris and much newer, the room was well appointed with everything we needed (except that there was no bottle opener!). Not really a problem.

It was good to meet up with some others we had met in 2010. It certainly is a place where revisits are the norm rather than the exception.

The pros and the cons of staying here.

Pros.
Friendly welcome.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Flora is a lovely lady.
Room was a good size.
Wardrobe had plenty of coat hangers.
Always hot water in the bathroom.

Cons
There are none.

Will we return.
You bet we will.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a very good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Flora is a very attentive hostess and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are (mostly) facing the sea and the sound of the waves is exciting yet comforting. The views across the waves with the morning sun as you sit on your balcony is what holidays are all about. Very tranquil spot but with tavernas and bars within 5 mins walk. This is not our first time here and won't be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our third visit to Paleochora since 2005. The previous two times we had been in Haris Studios. For our third visit we stayed in Yiorgos Studios which are owned by Flora and Haris who own Haris Studios which are immediately across the road.
The studios are 5 minutes walk from the centre of Paleochora and there is plenty of parking available.

The studios were completed a couple of years back. We were on the ground floor looking out on the small swimming pool. Facing east it got the sun in the morning. Even in late September the sheltered balcony area got hot very quickly. There was no sun brolly though I'm sure we had asked for it would have been provided. As a previous reviews states the studio is very well equiped and tidy and the bathroom was the best we encountered in our whole Crete trip (6 locations).We made some use of the swimming pool before breakfast and late at night!

When we go again we will try and get a room on a higher floor as there was a limited view of the sea on the ground floor.
If booking be clear what you ask for as some studios are at the back and sides.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palaiochora hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Palaiochora
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Palaiochora
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Palaiochora
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Palaiochora
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Palaiochora
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Palaiochora
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haris Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haris Studios

Address: Palaiochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Palaiochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Palaiochora
Price Range: $31 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering studios and apartments,with great views 5 metres across from the rocky shoreline and adjacent to our Water's Edge Cafe. Studios, some with a double bed and others with twin beds, are good for 1 -2 persons while an apartment has beds for 3 or 4 (if child). Only 1 out of the 9 rooms has no sea view, it's a double bed studio with a small balcony offering lots of afternoon sun. Haris Studios is a great spot to stay in Paleochora, close (10 minutes walk) to all the town's facilities and the main sandy beach, while directly across there's a small pebble beach (free sunbeds & umbrellas, diving instruction available) and a shoreline that's ideal for snorkelling. The atmosphere is warm and friendly with a team of family and staff dedicated to help make your holiday special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haris Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haris Studios Palaiochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing