We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb buffet breakfast”
Review of Manto Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manto Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb buffet breakfast”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped here for coffee a few times and were always impressed that we got a piece of cake or halva as well. On our last day we went for the buffet breakfast and the cost (E6 pp) was very good. We in fact stayed longer than we intended as it rained. The only time in the fortnight we were there! Very very good!!!
We didn't stay here, just used the cafe. However if the rest of the hotel is organised as well as the cafe it should be great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoRod_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Manto stuidios has it all at amazing value.

-Fantastic location (metres from bus station and short walk to beaches on both sides of Paleochora.
- Great breakfast included at Manto cafe.
- Beautiful room with decorations all painted by Manto herself (she also has a gallery on the same property) and my room had a private balcony.
- Sensational roof terrace where you can laze away on deckchairs.
- Great staff. On the evening before my checkout they even left a breakfast in my room as I was taking the very early bus to Chania.

Thank you Manto for a great stay. I look forward to returning.

Even if you decide not to stay at the hotel, you can have the buffet breakfast for a measly 6 euro at Manto cafe (on t he same property). Ridiculously low price for what's available

PS: If you are looking for a walk to do other than the usual ones (say if its too windy to get to Elafonissi beach), there is a very nice walk from Karvopetra (not sure about spelling) beach which is about halfway between Paleochora and Gialos to the west. The walk is marked with blue markers but not always clearly so does require some direction finding ability. There are two entrancesm, one with great views of the coast but harder (I went that way ont he way back) and the other which rises up along the gorge until you are walking on the rim of the gorge. Both ways eventually merge into one. I finished it at a gorgeous little church...the path became VERY hard shortly after and did not have proper equipment (though I did try but the stinging plants were getting at my legs - I had shorts on). Bring plenty of water.

PSS: If you are on a strict food budget, you can get very cheap but VERY good food at Everest Grill...the Gyros there are around 3E and so far are the best I've had, even better than the ones at restaurants I've tried.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 3 and it was very spacious for a solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cdchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything you read about Manto Studios on the previous reviews is so so true. This place is so perfect for families, for couples, for everyone. We stayed just nor night and wished we had more time to spend. Definitely would go back there. Have a look at the nearby art gallery run by Manto herself too. Amazing. Message to Trip Advisor: I wonder why Manto Studios isn't enlisted in the Hotel's category. This is definitely a full fledged three star hotel , at least! Even five star hotels would be jealous of its hospitality, service and breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in one of the apartments during July with our 2 year old son. The apartment itself was large and incredibly clean. The rooms are beautifully decorated by the owner with her own artwork as well as the communal areas.

The cafe serves a superb buffet breakfast which was included in the price and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Couldn't recommend this place higher.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for a week in Manto studio and absolutely loved it! The hotel is beautiful, clean and well-kept. The owners and staff are sweet and helpful, the food is healthy, homemade and quite lovely. The hotel is just a short walk from the beach, and as soon as you step out of the hotel, you are in Paleochora which is a sweet little town full of little shops, cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a one week vacation in Paleochora where we stayed at the beautiful Manto Studios. The room was very spacious with a living room, which had a small kitchen with everything you need. Nice to have a fridge to keep water in. The bedroom had a big closet with a safe deposit box. The room we stayed in had a big balcony with chairs and a table and a place to hang the bath towels to dry. The room was cleaned every day. The air condtioning was included in the rate and was very good. The hotel has wonderful cafe downstairs which servers breakfast buffet everyday with fresh good food, even freshly squezzed orange juice. The owners and people working there were wonderful, smiling, serviceminded people. The location was great, with walking distance to both beaches, tavernas and shopping. There is a small supermarket a fem minutes away. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and i would most definately stay there when i go back.

Room Tip: If you want a big room choose one of the apartments. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have recently returned from a 3 week holiday to Paleochora where we stayed at the lovely Manto Studios. This is my second visit to Manto's having stayed for a week last October. The apartments are very spacious, modern, and cleaned every day with a regular change of linen and towels. Use of the safe deposit box and quiet efficient air con is included in the room rate.
All the apartments have lovely balconies where you can relax after a hard day in the sun, and a small well equipped kitchen area. The excellent buffet breakfast is served all morning and has everything you would want including freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious home made cakes and biscuits, Maria will also happily cook fried eggs for you if you want a change from the usual scrambled eggs! The location is perfect, with easy access to both pebble and sandy beaches and the tavernas bars shops are just a short walk away. Manto and her staff are all very friendly and helpful! A huge recommend for this place, the best place to stay in Paleochora!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veligandu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Paleochora
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aghas
Hotel Aghas
#16 of 18 in Paleochora
17 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mediterranean Sea
Hotel Mediterranean Sea
#13 of 18 in Paleochora
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manto Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manto Studios

Property: Manto Studios
Address: 1 Athanasiou Diakou, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Studios Manto" was built in 2008 and their modern facilities, the clean rooms and their many comforts reflect the Cretan hospitality making your stay comfortable and relaxing. Each of the studios has been decorated with great taste from the artist Manto with paintings that draw their topics from the traditional folklore art, giving each room a different touch, which makes it special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Manto Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manto Studios Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing