We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay in Paleochora :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manto Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manto Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Paleochora :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have just returned from a one week vacation in Paleochora where we stayed at the beautiful Manto Studios. The room was very spacious with a living room, which had a small kitchen with everything you need. Nice to have a fridge to keep water in. The bedroom had a big closet with a safe deposit box. The room we stayed in had a big balcony with chairs and a table and a place to hang the bath towels to dry. The room was cleaned every day. The air condtioning was included in the rate and was very good. The hotel has wonderful cafe downstairs which servers breakfast buffet everyday with fresh good food, even freshly squezzed orange juice. The owners and people working there were wonderful, smiling, serviceminded people. The location was great, with walking distance to both beaches, tavernas and shopping. There is a small supermarket a fem minutes away. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel and i would most definately stay there when i go back.

Room Tip: If you want a big room choose one of the apartments. Very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have recently returned from a 3 week holiday to Paleochora where we stayed at the lovely Manto Studios. This is my second visit to Manto's having stayed for a week last October. The apartments are very spacious, modern, and cleaned every day with a regular change of linen and towels. Use of the safe deposit box and quiet efficient air con is included in the room rate.
All the apartments have lovely balconies where you can relax after a hard day in the sun, and a small well equipped kitchen area. The excellent buffet breakfast is served all morning and has everything you would want including freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious home made cakes and biscuits, Maria will also happily cook fried eggs for you if you want a change from the usual scrambled eggs! The location is perfect, with easy access to both pebble and sandy beaches and the tavernas bars shops are just a short walk away. Manto and her staff are all very friendly and helpful! A huge recommend for this place, the best place to stay in Paleochora!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veligandu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location,huge room,perfect-home made-breakfast,genuine Greek hospitality!
Best value for money!
We are a family of four (40,40,8 and 6).
The location is perfect.In between of Paleohora's 2 beaches.
The rooms are clean and huge.
The breakfast is really exceptional! Everything is home made and fresh.
But above all the hospitality is what is gonna last forever in your minds and hearts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked 1 night at Manto Studio and ended up to stay 5 nights. We loved everything, the sympathy of the owner, the charm of the hotel, the delicious breakfast with local ingredients, the village and its surroundings.

Manto studio is a beautiful, peaceful and well decorated hotel owned by an artist. It breathes a Greek clean white and fresh style enriched by beautiful paintings by the owner - which has an astonishing gallery right next to the aparthotel. We stayed in an apartment with kitchen. The studios have daily room cleaning. The hotel has beautiful outdoor areas and a public cafe were the breakfast is served in a buffet style by very friendly and welcoming staff. All ingredients from the olives to the orange juice and cheeses are very fresh (something we didn't found even on 4stars hotels in the island) and there's homemade cookies and cakes too!

There is also a free and quite fast wifi connection (enough for a Skype video call). .

We decided to lose our flight and extend our vacation just to be there a bit more time. You won't regret if you go there, I guarantee that!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Really nice place to stay on Crete! Big, bright and clean room, with nice terrace and small kitchenette was for us a perfect place to stay. The owner was really helpful and was waiting for us even if we came around 1 o'clock at night! Price was also really good.
Sandy beach in distance of 10 min walk, beach with stones even closer. Our only regret was that we stayed there so short ;)



Ps. We were there in September but in 2010! This option wasn't possible ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM-G2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed for one night at the Manto Studios with two friends after coming back from a long hike along the coast. I can only confirm what other reviewers have posted. The owner couple is very friendly and welcoming, our studio was spacious and modern with a large terrace. Breakfast is superb for a place in this price range. Free wifi is available and the speed of the connection is okay. I can highly recommend this place both for travellers coming through Paleochora and for those staying longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupo_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Clean and spacious apartment ideally located. Convenient when either you want to go on foot to the near by Chalikia Beach or to have an enjoyfull night stroll to the vivacious promenade.
We (I, my wife and my 5 yeart old daughter) had the family apartment (with one double bedroom separated). Chalikia beach is an all wheather beach. So even if there is a strong wind situation you may stay and swim on this beach.
The owner pf the place is a very young, elegant and gentle woman with an artistic attitude that it is blowing its touch to the whole of the building and in the rooms.
The breakfast was optional and could be a little better if it had in its content more cretan products than ordinary market products.
The home made cakes and the local types of pitas were extremely delicious and the ingrecients were absolutely fresh.

Though we are leaving in Crete we found that some beaches in the area of Palaiochora are unique. Dont miss visiting Gianiskari beach. It is only 10 muniutes drive, with the half way of it on a dusty and non asphalt road.

Room Tip: Choose apartment on the first floor. Not the one facing the main street But please do not have fear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#3 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oreia
Hotel Oreia
#7 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manto Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manto Studios

Property: Manto Studios
Address: 1 Athanasiou Diakou, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Studios Manto" was built in 2008 and their modern facilities, the clean rooms and their many comforts reflect the Cretan hospitality making your stay comfortable and relaxing. Each of the studios has been decorated with great taste from the artist Manto with paintings that draw their topics from the traditional folklore art, giving each room a different touch, which makes it special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manto Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manto Studios Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing