We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Libyan Princess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Libyan Princess
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

You can't imagine to find a so clean, full of services hotel. Breakafast is amazing, served next to the swimming pool and with a lot of local food. Dimitris, the owner, is always happy to give you all the information you need. It's a 6 stars hotel (5 is not enough!)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mamdiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    50
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
150
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kissamos, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our second time at the Libyan Princess was every bit as good as our first. We love Paleochora as there is something for everyone, and the Libyan Princess is like the icing on the cake. Friendly, comfortable, relaxing, spacious. We'll go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvrilKissamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a relaxing weekend away early November in Paleochora. It was the only hotel open but we
didn't regret our choice. We stayed in 2 upstairs rooms with pool view and we really enjoyed quiet, the top quality of their mattress, the perfect decoration of the rooms and the rich breakfast all locally produce with tasty cheese cakes.
It is a local family run establishment with long experience and very helpful in providing information about the area. The hotel is next to the City Hall.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip to Crete at the last minute....and it was not able to be claimed on insurance. As it was at the last minute even those who say they refund, didn't. EXCEPT The Libyan Princess, who when I explained the situation, refunded immediately even though they said right from the outset that all charges were non refundable.
This is not a reason to book with them, but their attitude alone says it all. They are there for the customer and in this world that is a credit to them.. We will go to Crete soon and a booking with LIBYAN PRINCESS HOTEL is top on my list!

Room Tip: Talk to them.....what lovely people they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToTravel2Live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but there doesn't seem to be an official standard for hotels in Crete. This has 5 stars etched onto the marble steps and also engraved on the doors. No way to be considered a 5 star hotel, but it's very comfortable and clean, with a nice pool and honest breakfast, easily 3 star standard or better.

The staff were very helpful with Restaurant and "things to do" choices. We had a superior room, but the decor, while tasteful, is very sobre, and with the relatively short days at the end of the season it was a bit gloomy in the rooms. Tea and coffee making facilities.There were shutters and a thick curtain to make a nice dark room for sleeping (might not bother most Brits, but certainly bothers my wife if the first rays of dawn wake her up, or there's too much light from the street).

It's the first hotel that you go past on the main (if you can call it that, for such a small place) street.

I think it's the most luxurous choice in Paleochora, but I haven't stayed anywhere else, so can't say for sure. It looks that way, however.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, but the street is hardly an autoroute, so not that much passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the first night we arrived in Paleochora. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very modern and clean. The breakfast around the pool was great. The location is very central. However, it feels like a business hotel and did not have the Cretan ambience we were looking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sf1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

First, decide if Paleiochora is your kind of destination. It's not a party town for the kids. It's not completly asleep either. A small but distinct town centre offers restaurants and bars more enjoyable than most other places in Crete. There is a long sand beach for the kids on one side, and a rocky pebbles strech on the other - with crystal clear water & no sand at all in your nickers!! You are a bit cut off from the rest of Crete, so if your goal is to travel a lot, Paleiochora may perhaps be a bit off your track. For a lazy great Cretan week in one place, or just a few day trips on a rented scooter, or perhaps bus-hike-boat the long Samarian Gorge, Paleiochora is perfect in so mant ways.
If you are a real Scrooge, of course you will find cheaper hotels than the Libyan Princess in Paleiochora! What ever. Than maybe I don't even want you to stay at the Lib, because I might meet you there the next time I visit Paleiochora. -And there will be next times!! OK, I'm a Norwegian. But I don't have a personal oil well just because I am... A better hotel in this area isn't available. Nope. The Lib IS the best, by far. And as such, it is not expensive!! You get much more than you pay for. Easy choice for me. Enjoy your stay. We sure did!!

Small, discrete, comfortable, new, good beds, great service, good breakfast included, 100-200 meters to walk to "everything"... What more can you ask for?

Beds are much better than we've ever had in Greece. The reason we're not giving a full score for sleeping quality is probably because we're spoiled from home. Beds are great for hotel beds indeed. We still got up several times during the night for reasons unknown. Maybe it was the heat. Maybe sleeping with just light sheets was odd to us from up in the cold north. I don't know. But I can't really blame the hotel for that.

Hey, we even got a 6.4 earthquake thrown in for free during our stay - what a bargain!! :D

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reidar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleochora
0.5 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel on the Rocks
Hotel on the Rocks
#5 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#3 of 18 in Paleochora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.6 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libyan Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libyan Princess

Property: Libyan Princess
Address: Paleochora, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Libyan Princess 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libyan Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libyan Princess Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing