We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views”
Review of Hotel on the Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel on the Rocks
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“stunning views”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent 4 nights in June.The hotel is facing the beautiful Libyan Sea.All rooms have balconies overlooking the sea with dramatic series of mountains in the background.What a view to wake up to each morning!By evening time the sun is behind hotel and it was very pleasant to sit and relax on the balcony and watch the world go by,.Hikers from Samaria Gorge arrive on Ferry across the bay every evening.Breakfast is served in lobby and you can eat on veranda with the sea a stone's throw away.I will treasure those moments at this lovely hotel.Needless to say staff were very friendly.The bathroom is very small but who cares when you have a view as spectacular as this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although the bedroom and bathroom are small this is a good hotel for a relaxing stay. Close to the main area of the town with fantastic views of the sea and mountains.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is good with a wide choice of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a room on the first floor with excellent views of the water. The staff was wonderful and made sure that our special occasion was celebrated with great fanfare. The breakfast was wonderful and I would have to say that this is the best place that we have stayed in Paleochora (been here 4 times). Lovely and romantic.

Room Tip: First floor is best since you have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lisabelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2013. Our room was small but adequate. The view from the balcony is lovely - every morning we were able to watch the ferry to Agia Roumeli depart at 8.30 and return at 7pm.

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, with a great selection of fruit, cereal, cold meats, cheese, bread, croissants, cakes and some hot food (bacon, eggs etc).

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient. Everything was spotless.

The hotel was 5 minutes away from many nice restaurants and bars - our favourite place to eat was Maria's at the far end of the strip facing the sea.

Every evening the roads around the restaurants are closed to cars and the atmosphere is relaxed. We spent most days on the beach which is mainly sandy and the sea is good for swimming.

There is an excellent museum close to the hotel with an exhibition on the Akritans of Europe which was free and very interesting.

We will definitely return to Paleochora and to On the Rocks.

Room Tip: They all face the sea. Most of the normal rooms are small but there are some larger suites available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janerogers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week and found this little hotel to be way beyond expectations. Bright, clean with lovely balcony view of the sea and quite modern. The staff were friendly and breakfast was well presented and very enjoyable.

The location overlooked the rocks (obviously the name gave us some hint!) and was a short walk into the town where they were tavernas, restaurants and shops with the sandy beach a little further stroll. I have never commented on sites before, but this hotel made me want to recommend it, it was a fantastic break.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to overlook the sea and only 3 floors with stairs and a lovely glass lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were most impressed be all that this hotel has to offer: good-sized rooms and comfortable beds (and pillows!) with wonderful views straight out to sea and along the coast to the east, excellent breakfasts, and staff who are helpful and alert. All was clean and comfortable. The hotel's position is good too - 5 minutes from the town centre and 10 from the long, sandy beach to the west - giving the minimum of necessary daily exercise! Please note - the map provided by booking.com is inaccurate in showing the hotel's position. We are already considering a return trip next week!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alingsas, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed three nights in late September. The room on the second floor with an eastward-facing balcony was quite satisfactory except for one thing: The mini-bar cabinet had been built with no exhaust air vent, resulting in that the cooling machinery ran all the time making the cabinet and the mini-bar quite hot! This was easily fixed by keeping the cabinet door open, but still an annoyance. Could be permanently solved in five minutes with a small power saw.

The breakfast was fresh and adequate, but would benefit from a toaster (I couldn't find one).

The staff was invariably friendly and helpful.

The hotel's location is by the seashore road with little traffic in nighttime and fair chances for a parking spot. Note that the location given on maps (middle of town) is inaccurate.The walk to the center of town and the sea-front restaurants is only some minutes and the walk across the peninsula to the sandy beach (the eastward one is pebbles) is perhaps five minutes. The westward facing beach is, I understand, much more windy.

Consider taking the ferry to Chora Sfakion if you go by car - it is a leisureful 3½ hours trip, very pretty in good weather and will save you going the same way north you came!

Elafonissi is a wonderful bathing spot, especially for children. By car it takes about an hour to get there, depending on which way you go. Make sure to be there early before the place fills up (tenish)!

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor - a thick power cable will spoil your view from the balcony. Second floor is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleochora hotels
0.2 mi away
Aris Hotel
Aris Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paleochora
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Libyan Princess
Libyan Princess
#1 of 18 in Paleochora
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pal Beach
Hotel Pal Beach
#8 of 18 in Paleochora
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Glaros
Hotel Glaros
#4 of 18 in Paleochora
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#9 of 18 in Paleochora
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Megim Hotel
Megim Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paleochora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Rocks

Property: Hotel on the Rocks
Address: Daskalogianni | Palaiochora, Paleochora, Crete 730 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Paleochora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Paleochora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel on the Rocks 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel on the Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Rocks Paleochora, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing