We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
42
4
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
4
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaravella restaurantone bedroom apartmentfirst floorthe ownermicrowavecaravellegeorgecleanlinessinternetpaleochorabalcony
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 54 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2010

What can I say about the Caravella, everything was fantastic and perfet!! The flat was immaculate, very moderns and spacious (also with electric rolling shutters!!), with two air conditioners and free WiFi which it worked perfectly all the time!
The owner is friendly and very flexible, we went to his restaurant to eat lots of times, his family are also very friendly and the menu delicious!
the beach of Palaiokhora is not far, 15minutes walk or 5 minutes by car/motorbike

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank Pitbulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Clean and slick new apartments beautifully decorated, beautiful view, two balconies,
two tv sets, microwaves, even wi-fi free!
A really nice experience, hhhhighly ... recommended.
By the way, ''Caravella Restaurant'' is the best fish-restaurant in town, also!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank nikos1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Absolutely great, it was exactly what we wanted - quiet, solitary and romantic. George, the owner, made us feel welcome and at home from the moment we arrived. We were very pleasantly surprised by the apartment, it was large, clean and well furnished (and even had free wifi). Amazing view of the South West coast of Paleochera, including fantastic beach and sunset. Anyone looking for some adventure should rent a decent car and drive here - what an amazing drive it is - but take the road parallel to the west of the main highway, a little longer but much more twisty, scenic and wonderful views.

Pros - large, clean, modern, quiet and romantic. George is great, and a meal or two at his fantastic fish restaurant is a must.

Cons - not many but if I have to nit-pick - the kitchen could have been equipped with some basics like salt and pepper, the pillows were to hard and while we had Wifi we couldn't get a signal most of the time.

Fabulous - we are absolutely going to return

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank magzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Found it by chance when browsing the internet. It proved to be an excellent choice. Great views, very close to the main village of Palaiohora, and at an amazing price we thought for the time of travel. Try and book early (we booked in April for end of July).

The apartments include a small living room with kitchen and dining table, a big and comfy bedroom and toilet. Very new, clean and spacious even if you decide to spend time in rather than have a day out during very windy days.

Only problem was we were two couples and one of the two had a small problem of privacy sleeping on the sofa/couch in the living room. However, this is something you ought to know in advance and does reduce the overall cost of our stay as you don't have two separate rooms. Maybe you could agree on taking turns on the bed!

Overall, very happy with our stay and also with George, the owner, who was willing to cater to our every need. Would definitely stay there again. Don't forget to eat at the 'Caravella' restaurant; right on the beach with fresh fish and plenty of traditional local and other Cretan dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

My housband and me had a perfect stay at caravella for three weeks in september 2008. The apartments is very nice, clean and fresh and with a fantasic view! Good kitchen, big refrigerator and all you need for cooking. Giorgos, the owner, will do the best he can to make your stay comfortable. When we told him that we did not like the pillows in the bed he bought some new one! We will also recommend you to visit the family restaurant, Caravella Fish Restaurant. Excellent food and friendly service!

Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
30  Thank enjoyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews