We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,051)
Filter reviews
1,051 results
Traveler rating
539
275
131
68
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
275
131
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswell restaurantoutdoor showerbeach barsea viewlanding pathprivate beachday bedclose to the airportfour posterbeach bedsall inclusive packageour honeymoonbeach holidaylarge terracefresh orange juicean upgradebreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 1,051 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our stay in this hotel was really nice! We booked one day before arrival by telephone...and everything went well! Children are welcome here. It is a nice quiet hotel with 5-stars-allure.
Animation-team is good, not too loud but possible to participate.
The best thing in this hotel is the SERVICE, more than 5-stars worthed. Thank you to Franco, the guest-relations-manager! Really good good service and such a friendliness of everyone who works here. Very well coached-personell. Never seen before, and we travel 5 times a year, so seen a lot of hotels. Compare it with the Miramare Wonderland Hotel in Rhodos, same concept like here. Being active in tourism-sector, this is one of the best hotels we went to in this style and category. On the beach if you like!
The food in the restaurant could be better. All fresh and clean, but more taste and more finesse would lighten up the endresult of the hotel. Maybe the all-inclusive-cuisine-stamp??
Children pool was cold, not heated.
Rooms were very nice, only the bathroom is a little disaster...taking a shower and there is an inondation in the whole bathroom, should be taking care of.
The planes who passed every 5 minutes...the children liked it! Loud? NO, an airplane is an airplane and we need it to get to HER, right? Positive extra point:10 minutes taxi to the airport! Happy children, happy parents at the end!
We will come back here, maybe another time this summer.
Book this hotel as a couple or with children, if you like it quiet and if you like natural greek nice houses with beautiful bougainvilleas with top-service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My stay at Knossos Beach Bungalows was amazing!! The staff was above and beyond friendly! We were greeted by Franco and he told us all that the hotel had to offer, including activies, the dining, local tours they could arrange, and then helped us take our things to our room. The beds were a bit hard, but we were so busy and so tired by the end of the night we didn't care. The hotel has a dining area, beach volleyball, paddle boats, massage table on the beach, 2 pools, dance area/bar everynight, and their "animation" staff literally was everywhere all day everyday just to make our stay that much more fun!! We did a tour to the cave Zeus was born in and it went to a monastery that is said to be the birth place of St. Maria.... it was an all day trip for 29 euro and it was wonderful!! We took the bus one day into the city, walked around, and it was a very easy bus system to use. Our bungalow was literally steps to the beach, quiet, and private. I loved this place and am already looking at when I can go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We arrived from England to a warm greeting by a friendly reception of staff and offered an upgrade to a sea view room on arrival. We were helped with luggage and shown our way to the room and there was another surprise awaiting us , fruits and drinks! The guest relations manager was very helpful and offered assistance and help throughout our stay. The suite we booked is spacious and although the king size bed is made from two mattresses, this was the most comfortable bed we slept on in a hotel! We opted for the half board option from the start that included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast is heavenly and for suite guests they can have breakfast at the special area in the restaurant that offers full sea view sights and assistance from staff to a wide range of special options included such as fresh drinks, and omlettes...The breakfast itself is amazing, all kind of cheeses, hot and cold food etc, we were definitely spoilt for choice and at breakfast the petite fort and the madira cakes were a must. The dinner was amazing!! truly spoilt, we were not able to make our minds up with all the different dishes and sea food salads and meals and choices available that change every day! The deserts, you will have to try for yourself to understand the taste! We did not leave the hotel for food, because you truly do not need to, as even by the swimming pool the bar is lively and offers sandwiches and the prices are ideal! Menues change everyday! The hotel employs special group of "friends" that organise different events during the day from singing and dancing to disco and sports! we are into sports so there is always beach volleyball and soccer to look forward to. The cleanliness is truly amazing and the restaurant manager is very helpful, before our last night he organised a dinner at our patio with sunset views that was truly astonishing with a 5 course menu and drinks and the price was very reasonable. The hotel has a tennis court that you can book for free and the hotel also hosts a gym that is fee based and probably needs expansion. We were not disappointed by one thing during our stay, we loved it and we would definitely return again and again! This was the perfect honeymoon and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md0u00d2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The property was beautiful and had a wonderful private beach. The staff was very friendly and there were more activities than we could be involved in, and we are an active couple. The site was a little hard to find but conveniently located next to a bus that runs to the port and the airport, and getting luggage on and off was no problem. If we go back to Crete, this will undoubtedly be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newly_wed64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We were really enthusiastic about coming to the hotel and looking forward to staying there. Maybe our expectations were just too high but the feeling we got was disappointment.

Let me still first start with the positive impressions.

The bungalows are really very-very close to the sea. We stayed in a waterfront one and really liked the opportunity to go to swim at any second you like and to get back on a private terrace without the necessity to close the doors, take your towels with you and so on.

The restaurant was a real surprise. The food was always fresh, tasty and abundant wich was really great taking into consideration that the hotel is not big.

The staff was always friendly and willing to help.

Meanwhile the negative points were too strong for us to give a higher rate to the hotel.

Now I just can't stop wondering why oh why do the majority of the reviewers either keep silent about the most terrible thing about the resort or say it didn't really matter. The AIRPLANES. We knew there would be some but we could not expect such a nightmare - too much of them, too low, too loud - note that the airport is really very close to the resort and I guess there is no other directions for the airplanes to land from so the impression is that you are staying on a takeoff strip.

The bungalow interior was not of a 4-star hotel. Very shabby and old - old furniture, torn sheets on the beds, cracky walls. The bathroom was very small and had a door that did not open wide enough.

Next. On a table in your room you will find a notification that the seaweeds in the water are precious ones and cannot be removed. Sounds very environmental-friendly but I was shivering every time I stepped in the water and felt that disgusting heavy brown mass touch my skin.

Now the "entertainment team". I realise it is always a point of controversy but I still can't understand why do the hotels that position themselves as "romantic" (did I understand all these beds on the beach and absence of children right?) think it is absolutely necessary to make their guests being teased by some over-active adolescents offering to go and make some stupid activity every 5 minutes!

We did our best to take advantage of the location of Kokkini Hani which is right in the middle of northen coastline of Crete, we rented a car and explored the western, eastern and central part of the island trying to spend less time on the territory of the complex and thus to use only its advantages: the sea a few steps away from the bed, good breakfasts and welcoming staff.

But we will not return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews