We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, great food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, great food and service”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall, our experience here was very good! We visited Crete in June 2011.

CONCIERGE: As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with friendly staff. They offered us ice water, helped us check in, and gave us an overview of what to expect during our stay (in terms of meal vouchers, facilities, services, tours, etc.) Since it was late afternoon and the main restaurant was closed, they offered us a delicious gourmet lunch at Swell for a very discounted price. An excellent welcome to Crete!

ROOM: We stayed in a bungalow with a sea view. Looked very basic but a good size and clean. Complimentary wine and fruit basket were much needed for snacking throughout our stay! Balcony view is beautiful but you also get a view of the balconies below as well as radiators and concrete floors next door.

FOOD: Everyday we had comp breakfast and a choice of lunch or dinner in the main restaurant - all buffets and good service. Selection is quite large between American and Greek fare and is quite good. If you do an early tour with the hotel they let you in the restaurant before it opens for a light breakfast.

FACILITIES: Grounds are absolutely beautiful with flowers everywhere and I especially loved the little herb garden. Beach, of course, is nice and relaxing. Bartenders at the pool bar are friendly and sometimes give you free drinks! There are a lot of activities to do - just wish we had the time to enjoy them!

COMPLAINTS: The location, though fairly close to the airport for transport, was not ideal. Descending airplanes for landing flew right above us. Also, we didn't think there was much to do in the town itself so you have to travel. They do offer a variety of tours though we weren't entirely satisfied with them. We did a tour to Chrissi Island (gorgeous) but way too far - shouldn't even be offered if most of the day is spent traveling. We also did a tour around central Crete. Stops were great (Knossos Palace, Diktaio Andro, etc) but our tour guide was not very good - not sure if we got unlucky or if the tour company provides mediocre guides.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    235
    116
    61
    34
See reviews for
317
411
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as family of 4 and slept in a suite with sea view.
Overall facilities are good, location is quite poor (hotel is just below the landing path to the airport... Hence airplane noise all day long) but the people were mostly extremely kind.
Quality of service was of a very good 3 star... But not really a 4 star ... Especially the very limited 'all inclusive' and the basic food.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrrfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was in this place for second time and once again I left with very best memories.
Apart from the standard excellent facilities (beach, room, service, staff), which I knew from when I visited the place 2 years again, this time I tried the "Swell" restaurant of the resort. Without doubt, It has been one of our greatest dinning experiences. The food can be easily compared to that of a michelin restaurant in terms of taste and creativity, but at the same time, it keeps the authenticity of the local greek and cretian cuisine (not surprisingly, as i learnt afterwards, the chef is a famous greek chap). We tried couple of local wines and I was surprised to discover their unique flavour. This is a certain recommendation, not only for the guests of the hotel, but for everyone visiting/staying around the area.

I wish my stay was longer.

Room Tip: The pool hosts beach parties so rooms next to the pool maybe noisy during those nights. If you wish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stathisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have visited many countries and therefore knew many hotels, however we discovered Crete 6 years ago and fell in love of the Island and the KBB&S! since then we usually go once a year.
What I really love of this hotel is the way it was conceived: as a little Cretan village, with an absolutely respect of the environment (maximum height the equivalent of 2 storeys) even the wall outside the hotel has some kind of "hollows" so as to permit trees to rest themselves... when you arrive you can see wonderful bougainvillea and while walking within the hotel they are everywhere and it's just amazing... their fucsia color, the white of the bungalows and the magnificient blue of the Mediterranean joining the sky :o) un rêve!
The Knossos Beach is between the road and the sea, once inside, you don't even remember the road and you can walk along it, there are little green spaces and even a mini vegetable garden of aromatic herbs. They love dogs and accept customers to take theirs, so it's also a pleasure for customers with a pet.
Knossos Beach is not far away from the airport and Heraklion, which is really nice both for a short transfer airport-hotel, or visiting the different museums, the Knossos Palace, taking a drink, doing window-shopping or shopping (yeah! it's my case) Heraklion is a cosmopolitan city and you can be staggered by the quantity of things you can find and appreciate. I adore to see the Cretans out, taking advantage of their beautiful "paradise" and frankly you don't feel the very difficult moments they are living, just when you talk to them, they express their concern but are always optimistic and wishing things be back to normality... sure they're people like you and me: le peuple!
For visiting the many places Crete has, it's better to rent a car, it isn't expensive. The Island is biggg! wherever you want to go distances are a little bit important, but it's worth!! You can also take the public transport which is really cheap and reliable. There are 2 bus stations in Heraklion and they serve all the Island.
Concerning the hotel, there are different kinds of accommodation, it's up to the customer to choose what one prefers. I really like the "bungalows sea front", just a couple of metres from the beach, in front of the Dias Irakleiou Island, with their terraces where one can sit down
watch the absolutely wonderful sunsets...
The staff is very helpful,they make you feel at home, from the Managing Director down.
In the "buffet" restaurant you can find Flavio, the cook who prepares the breakfast (eggs, pancakes,bacon...) and the dinner (grilled fish or meat...) always smiling, happy of doing his work, or Kleri, a lovely waitress doing her best permitting you to spend a nice moment "à table". Or Anastasia or Efi, who will always have a nice little word to enhance your stay. The staff at the bars are also pleasant, kind! The chambermaids are perfect. Everything is clean.
The receptionists are top, ready to help you.
The Knossos Beach is a hotel not a club, so do not expect a noisy animation, the team proposes different activities but doesn't force guests to take part. That's cooll!
And finally you can go to the Swell restaurant, people from outside the hotel and hotel's customers enjoy its excelent food. It's paying, but the prices are really affordable. You'll really enjoy it, the Chef is a 1-Michelin star, young, innovative!.
We've been five times to this hotel and have never been deceived.
I hope we'll go back next year :o)
BRAVO and THANK YOU to the management and the staff who do their best for offering us such nice holidays!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doradi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a place with a wonderful location, on a clean, sandy beach, facing a clear, blue, very salty sea! Here you will not encounter the typical, huge holiday hotel, just bungallows and suites spreading along the shore like in a small village! It is a wonderful feeling, it gives you intimacy, place to wander about the coquette alleys. You can really relax in such a place!

It is worth going if you are a beach and sea fun, preferring a quiter holiday, in a laid back and very welcoming part of Crete! It lacks the crowdiness and the swellishness of the typical posh resorts as it is located in a small Cretan village, yet you can find plenty of tavernas and bars to relax and enjoy good food!

The food at the Knossos Beach Hotel is EXTRAORDINARY!!! Delicious cooking, not very diverse, but just tasty, tasty, tasty! Children facilities are few, a small playground and a small pool, but when you have the sea to yourself, that's more tha enough! (at least it was for us and for our our 2-year old boy!)

The downsides of the place is the all-inclusive package which is very strange when it comes to the beach bar. And the treatment you get, depending on the rooms you stay in! For instance, we had a family room booked for our holiday, which was quite expensive, yet there was no water in our room when we arrived, after a long and tiring trip. Not to mention that the family rooms are totally uncomfortable from all points of view! The next day we payed the difference and moved to a Junior Suite and suddenly we felt a lot more "spoiled" and afterwards we enjoyed a wonderful holiday at the Knossos Beach!

Room Tip: I can only talk about the family rooms. AVoid them, as they are small, hot and far away from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

It was a wonderfull experience. The personel is verry friendly and helpfull. You feel immadiately at home. Verry good food, every day different, verry big choice. Beautifull beach, Pleasant swimming and playing in a nice warm water with nice sand beaches.Verry nice bungalow with everything you need to feel at home.Good animation-team. It's a pitty not many guests want to get tired by participating at the animation.We had an excellent stay and we recommend this hotel to every-one with or without children.

Room Tip: just ask a bungalow or a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

As you enter the hotel you are surrounded by beautiful contrasts of the blue ocean and white beach bungalows. The scenery is amazing. Hotel staff are very accommodating. The gourmet restaurant downstairs called Swell has a unique perspective of Greek cuisine. It pairs traditional with modern and succeeds. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCuc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
7.8 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arina Sand Resort
Arina Sand Resort
#3 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
1,053 reviews
8.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites

Property: Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
Address: On the waterfront, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites is a family owned resort, on the north coast of the picturesque island of Crete, Greece, built directly on a sandy beach with shallow waters, offering guests panoramic views of the blue Aegean Sea, with 39 Suites & Villas, 62 Bungalows Sea View, Water Front and Superior Water Front, and 34 Standard & Family Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knossos Beach Bungalows Hotel Kokkini Hani
Knossos Beach Bungalows And Suites
Knossos Beach Hotel
Hotel Knossos Beach
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing