We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Just back after 2 weeks with the family at this hotel. The staff make this place special, and they work very hard indeed. It is a big place and there aren't many quiet corners to escape to if you are looking for peace and quiet but as a family hotel it fulfils its promise. If you are used to the American style all inclusive you may come away disappointed - there is no waiter service beside the pool, you fetch your own in plastic cups, but the food is generally pretty good if a bit repetitive. Stick to the Greek basics and you won't go far wrong. The waiter-service Chinese restaurant is also good.

In August it was predictably very busy with loungers all reserved around the pools and on the beach by the time breakfast has finished. The rooms and public areas are kept scrupulously clean and the grounds are manicured. Our only gripe, and it is clearly beyond the control of the hotel, is the proliferation of guests with pockets full of roubles but without any manners.

The in-house car rental offering is competitive with a modern fleet.

We would go back again because the staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Rob B,
Thank you for lovely review. We are delighted to know, that you spent nice time with us and would like to return.
We wish you all the best and see you soon!
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,808
    922
    313
    124
    72
See reviews for
1,553
927
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Me and my partner travelled here last October and after searching for a holiday for this year, we are finding ourselves struggling to beat this holiday! We stayed for 7 nights and booked through A1 travel and well what a deal we got. The hotel is beautiful, the staff was lovely, our room was always clean and the beach was just fab! The bar men worked their backsides off as it was a busy hotel even for October which shocked me. I did find not many people stayed round the pool area more on the beach but that was because the pool was cold but that didn't bother us as we liked the beach as snorkelling was fab. The amount of fishes you could see was incredible. We did one trip we arranged with the hotel rep and that was amazing. We visited Spinalonga which we took a coach to the harbour and then had a boat trip. Our tour guide was lovely. She gave us so much information on the way up to Spinalonga and all around it. Very fascinating!!! We got to stop in the bay for a swim and a BBQ and it was like something off of a TV show just pure bliss. Would highly recommend this trip if you do visit crete in general!!!

Food: everyone's favourite subject. Let's just say your spoilt for choice. Breakfast was amazing. Lunch the same and dinner well, outstanding. You have to book for the Chinese and we went twice it was just so lovely!!! We had lunch in the taverna a couple of times too and that was beautiful. If you like pizza or are a fussy eater book in for dinner there. Even though the main hotel restaurant had so much choice you wouldn't be worried about being fussy.

Rooms: kept tidy cleaned and freshened daily. Air con perfectly cool. The rooms stay fairly cool due to the shutters we had on our French door.

You can travel to the village centre by coach. There is a stop just outside the hotel it was about 4€ For a return. Recommend visiting as the shops was beautiful. Even took a walk up the harbour and that was lovely. So much activity in the water!!!

We was the youngest couple in this hotel but that didn't matter i just loved this hotel and holiday that I will be definitely visiting again. 5 star service and 5 star review. Just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Emma C,
Many many thanks for this lovely review! We are very glad to know, that you enjoyed your holidays with us and we hope to see you soon again. We appreciate your good comments about our food, staff, services and cleanliness of the hotel.
We wish you all the best!
Warm regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

A fanatastic family holiday on the beautiful island of Crete. Stayed at Rinela Beach from 22nd July to 5th August in room 125, superb view over the main pool to the beach. The room was situated directly over the terrace bar seating area but this caused no problems at all as the area was very quiet from 11.30 pm. Family room was just a normal room with two extra beds squeezed in for our children (13 and 14) so was more cramped than I expected it to be but in fact worked out fine as the hotel is so nice we spent very little time in our room. We had a few cool showers but nothing worth complaining about. Maid service every day and a mini bar topped up regularly. All the staff were without exception fanatastic ! From the maid to the waiters and the animation team all were polite and friendly, you couldn't ask for better. Our only issues were with the restaurant which did get very busy at times and was quite noisy. The food was very fresh and had plently of variety if you didn't eat three main meals in every sitting as some of the guests seemed to. Recommend the Taverna which gave a break from the hussle and bussle of the main restaurant and needed to be booked at reception the day before, as did the Chinese restaurant which we didn't try.
The lobby and the Wi-Fi room below it could benefit from some air conditioning or even just some fans as both areas were almost un-usable at times due to the stifling heat, and yes you do expect it to be hot in July/August but equally you expect some respite in a 5* hotel. My only other critism is regarding the reservation of sun beds both around the pool and on the beach, this started from 6.30 am. and after our first week of struggling to find beds after 10 am we unfortunately had to join in and get up early to get a sun bed. Really not sure what the hotel could do about this.
Overall this is a good hotel with good facilities and superb staff and is one of the few hotels that I would consider re-visiting.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view-it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Deborah H,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to know, that you enjoy your stay with us and would like to return. We hope to see you soon among our repeater Guests. You could also join our Mitsis Friends Club, the special program created for our Repeaters. Al the details you can check on our web mitsisclub.com
Warm wishes from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Had a brilliant holiday at this hotel but the hotel is definitely not 5 star.
No air conditioning in the foyer is in my opinion unbelievable in a hotel of this supposed quality.
The free wi-fi is really poor and only available in the foyer.
The staff throughout the hotel are however brilliant,really friendly and helpful. Our room was kept spotless and had a lovely view over the main pool and towards the sea.
The main restaurant is very busy at peak times and could also do with more efficient air-conditioning. The Chinese restaurant is brilliant but our favourite was the Taverna great location and the staff are brilliant.
In the brochure it mentions some air craft noise what it fails to mention is that it's every ten mins from about 7 o'clock in the morning.
Overall a good hotel that with some little tweaks could be a great hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Tim B,
Thank you for this review and for lovely comments about our staff. We deeply appreciate it.
Best warm regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just returned from this Hotel. Overall great Hotel with lovely views great gardens and a wonderful beach location. Food was good in main restaurant and Chinese was fab. Little disappointed with Taverna although wonderful location, there wasn't as much choice and they need to have a bread station. We also felt rushed when we went in on the later sitting. Overall though food standard was good. Also Tuesday evenings they serve fresh muscles which were awesome.
Rooms were kept clean and tidy and the maid was very warm and friendly.
Animation team were great with the kids during the day, lots of fun and activities going on. However evening entertainment was a bit poor, limited resources and uncomfortable chairs.
We also experienced an accident with my youngest son who was pushed in the pool area. He cut his head open and was taken to hospital. Through a very stressful time the staff were amazing. The doctor was at poolside within minutes. The ambulance arrived within 10 minutes and we were stitched up in no time at all. So I would like to take this opportunity to say a big thank-you.
Bar staff very friendly however I wish that some of them would treat the children with the same customer service the adults receive. Sitting at the main bar I witnessed many children being ignored whilst waiting for a drink, remember they have paid too to come to this Hotel.
I would like to finish on a positive as we really did have a great holiday just a few small niggles that could be easily rectified.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90MichelleH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear 90MichelleH40,
Thank you very much for this review! We are glad to know, that you spent nice time with us and we appreciate your nice words about our staff and hotel!
We hope, that you will recommend us to your friends and family and wish you all the best!
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We took a long time to decide on this hotel as it was our first holiday somehwere different in last 7 years.

Despite the good reviews (and some bad) we were very pleased with our choice on arrival. The hotel has a stunning view overlooking the sea and beach.

We had a family room for 4 which was clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate with a mini bar that was stocked regularly and a good sized balcony overlooking one of the smaller swin up pools. The maids did an excellent job in cleaning and making up the room daily. Yes there is some noise as the maids clean the rooms as they move furniture but did not really bother us and shows what a thorough job they do.

The main restaurant is very good with a lovely terrace again with good views, the food was very nice, fresh with plenty of choices. Occasionally there may be a short wait for a table but no more than a few minutes. The taverna was also nice but our favourite was the chinese which was excellent.

The two main bars have a nice outside terrace with very good table waiter service so no need to queue at the bar which is nice, although sometimes difficult to get a table. Occasional entertainment such as live music and the greek night.

The beach bar and pool bars offer drinks and snacks such as popcorn, donuts, toasted sandwiches and ice cream until 6pm.

The smaller pool has a couple of smallish waterslides mainly for younger kids.

The beach was our favourite location with very nice sandy beach, with parasols and sunbeds available. The water is crystal clear and warm and safe for families. Pedaloes and kayaks are available free and there are also motorised watersports available at extra cost.

We didn't get up at 6am to secure our sunbed as suggested but just took our chance after breakfast and in majority of cases we could get sunbeds, the hotel did arrange for some extra ones to be made available which were placed at entrance to beach, I just picked a couple up and placed them where I wanted (beach or pool). It is fair to say that a large number of beds are reserved for most of the day but remained empty for long periods.

Staff - without exception we found the hotel staff extremely hard working, friendly and helpful. The maids do an excellent job and the restaurant staff and bar staff also.

Animation team - we did not go to all of the evening entertainment but what we did see was good lighthearted fun entertainment. During the day the team are very good with various activities, darts, football, table tennis, water polo, beach volleyball etc - there is something for eveyone ant the team work hard to involve as many as possible and make it fun. Leon, Cory, Natalie, Kai and Tom are excellent with the kids and ours made some new firends and had an excellent time largely because of this team.

Finally we had a medical emergency about an hour and half before we had to come home, an accident happened around the poll resulting in our youngest son splitting his head open badly on the edge of the pool. The medical attention was very good, the onsite doctor arranged for an amublance that took us to the nearest medical centre, our son walked straight in to have his head xrayed, following which he was cleaned up and stitched up, cleared for flight home, taxi back to hotel all in just enough time for our bus back to airport.

The animation team and bar staff had tried to encourage kids not to play games pushing people around the pool for the whole time we were there and understandably got a bit upset when someone got hurt, they are just looking out for welfare of kids.

All in all a very good family hotel and holiday with very little in way of negatives.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Steve H,
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to know, that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and deeply appreciate your nice words about Hotel and Staff!
We wish you all the best!
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issum, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a fantastic holiday with good wether, very good food, wonderful days and friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. The greek and chinese restaurant are also very good. The bar keepers are very friendly. We had a nice room with seascape. We will recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Katrin H,
Thank you very much for your lovely review! We appreciate your nice words about our staff, food and restaurants and that you recommend us to the others.
We wish you and your family all the best!
Warm regards from Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.0 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
78.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing