We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“some aircraft noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“some aircraft noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

hotel was great food was great hotel full of russians and polish guests but to say you might hear aircraft noise is a joke the hotel is on the flight path planes come in every three minutes . didnt bother us to much tho would recomend the hotel great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Alison H,
Thank you for your positive review! We deeply appreciate, that you recommend our hotel to the other travelers!
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Guestrelation.rinelabeach@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    938
    317
    124
    72
See reviews for
1,618
951
71
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel where the sense of service is at the top ! Excellent food and very welcoming !
In my quality of Human Resources Director, I recommand to the Management of this hotel (Mr Lieros Ponogotis) to congratulate and appoint 3 of these employees as the BEST EMPLOYEES OF THE YEAR, for their professionalism and kindness are exemplary : Spiros, Thémis and Stelios. Hi to them and see you a next time !
Fred & Delphine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FREDERIC f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear FREDERIC f,
Thank you for your lovely review and for the high rank of our personnel! I will forward your regards to everybody you mention and in advance I can give you regards back). We hope to see you soon again and wish all the best to you and your family.
Warm wishes from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Svetlana Galimulina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I'm 22 and went on my last family hols with my parents to Crete. Lovely hotel! Gorgeous view when you walk out of the reception... nice terrace lobby area that looks out to a swimming pool surrounded by palm trees and stunning views of the sea. Looks beautiful when the sun sets!

Food: The food was good, lovely fresh pasta and rice dishes, although can get a bit repetitive... 100% recommend to book the Chinese restaurant... wish we'd booked it more than once!

Staff: are all very friendly, helpful and informative. Good range of cocktails (watch out for the measures!).

Entertainment: We didn't get down to see the entertainment in the evenings, but the animation team are fantastic during the day if you are into sports/ activities e.g. zumba, aqua aerobics, water polo, beach volleyball, football etc. Table tennis and choice of pools also.

Location: Depending on what you like from a holiday, the hotel is located in kokkini Hani which is an intimate little town on a strip of small restaurants, shops and bars. It is very quiet and less on the tourist side, which is why we liked it, but understandably that's not for everyone. Some lovely bars, watched the England game in Simple bar - deffo recommend a drink in there!! It's a good location because it's only 15 mins from the airport! Also buses are due every 15 mins and you can hop on and visit Heraklion, Hersonissos, Malia etc. We went to Knossos palace which was incredible!

Room Tip: Take extra pillows! Only one pillow on bed so wasn't too comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Jade T,
Many many thanks for your lovely review! We are glad to know, that you enjoyed your holidays with us and liked our food and restaurants, staff and entertainment! We hope to see you soon again!
Warm best wishes,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the resort for 2 fantastic weeks in June. On arrival we were met by staff at reception who were courteous and extremely helpful, fully aware of my previously emailed request for an upgrade to sea view room. This request was met and well worth the extra cost.

Having checked in we made our way along pathways winding between low rise white washed 'traditional Greek' accommodation blocks, through immaculately manicured lawns and tended flower beds, arriving at our room.

Our room was also immaculate, spacious and furnished to a high standard, the balcony opening out to a wonderful sea view. The rooms were cleaned, towels changed daily, bedding was changed every other day. The maids were so hard working and always had a cheery greeting and smile.

At this point I should mention that every single member of staff from the maids, waiters, waitresses, chefs, bar (hotel, pool, beach) staff, right up to the men in suits (ensuring things ticked along nicely!!) are an absolute credit to the Mitsis hotel chain. It is customer service of the highest standard and was a big factor in making our stay so special, well done.

Other factors which we loved are as follows

The beach, soft golden sands into crystal clear water, no rocks.

The meals, we would call at reception before breakfast and pre book lunch at the Taverna or for Chinese the following evening. No queues at reception or availability issues. Lunch at the Taverna is special, with its fantastic views a great place to spend time cooling off with cold beer / wines eating Greek salads, meats from the grill and freshly made pizza. We also booked the Chinese on 4 occasions, again lovely food and service. Other evenings we ate in the main restaurant. Loads of choice, buffet style with a grill, salads, pasta, veg, Greek dishes and desserts. It can get busy but is very well run, no queues to speak of which is down to the hard working staff.

The location, enjoyed a stroll outside the Rinela resort, numerous bars and gift shops. The locals are extremely welcoming and very forthcoming when it comes to offering nibbles and shots of Raki which have to be accepted so as not to cause offence, very nice.

A slight negative, the clientele at the resort is varied which can cause issues with certain nationalities who have no manners.

Examples such as barging through in the restaurant to reserving with a ‘towel’ sun beds and parasols very early in the morning at both the pool and beach. They then alternate from pool to beach which results in empty sun beds 'reserved’ with a towel and left unused for half the day. It doesn't detract from the holiday as there are plenty of sunbeds, but no benefit of shade due to the number of unattended parasols.

Difficult issue for the hotel to resolve that one!!!

A big thank you to all staff at the Rinela, we can’t wait to return next year

Room Tip: Request an upgrade with Sea View... at a cost that's well worth paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Peter W,
Many many thanks for this lovely review and for all your warm words about our Staff and good rank of our property and facilities! We will be very glad to meet you next year and we really appreciate, that you decided to visit us again! We wish you and your family all the best.
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Guestrelation.rinelabeach@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked this hotel a week before we went and I have say for the money it was excellent value. Its only about a 15 minute ride from the airport so you can expect to see the odd plane fly over but this didn't bother us at all and in fact I found it quite entertaining. The hotel is well positioned on the beach and if you fancy a break from the pool or beach its only 1.80 euros into Heraklion where there are great shops and restaurants. The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they are so obliging and helpful its unreal and they work really hard to make your holiday special.
ROOMS: The rooms are well kept and our room (522a) was in a good position and very spacious. We had a problem with the air conditioning and although it took a couple of days to rectify we eventually ended up with a brand new unit which was excellent. The rooms also have a fridge which is stocked with about 10 bottles of soft drink and a couple cans of beer, and this fridge is re stocked every 2 days. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard every day and the towels are also changed daily.
Food: There is the main buffet restaurant which has all the normal food you would expect from a hotel in Crete, lots of excellent salads, various meats, kebabs,pasta, fruit,cheese and puds. The restaurant can get a bit manic at busy periods and its loads better if you ask for a table outside. You are seated to a table and the waitress will take your drink orders so if you want plenty of wine ask for a carafe. There is another restaurant near the beach which serves pretty much the same food but is a little less manic and is in a very nice setting.(This restaurant you have to book after 0800 at reception the previous day). There is also a Chinese restaurant that you also have to pre book, the food is good and it is a nice change from the food in the main restaurant.
Drink:The drinks are excellent and the staff are not slow to serve you, both at the main bar and the pool and beach bars. The drinks are strong and there is as much as you want.
Pools: The pools are good, we liked the lower pool as it wasn't as noisy, there were two ladies making some kind of pizza things all day and George in the bar was very entertaining.
Beach: The beach was very nice and loads of sunbeds and umbrellas but if you want one you need to get up early and get your towel on them, we went down at 0745 and every one was taken.
All in all this was a good standard hotel for the money and we had a great relaxing holiday. Special mention must go to Christos the front desk manager who was so helpful and understanding, but then this was typical of all the staff.

Room Tip: 522A is a well positioned large room with brand new aircon unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fowlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Fowlies,
Thank you very much for this nice review and for sharing your positive experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to know, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, our pools and beach, food and restaurants, services. We deeply appreciate your warm words about our personnel. We wish you and your family all the best.
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

my wife and i holidayed here in the middle of may for a week and i must say it was a lovely place.
our initial accomodation which was a poolside bungalow was not what we were expecting as we had booked for a sea view room.the reservations manager ( stefan i think very kindly arranged another room even though it did not seem to be the hotels fault. )This room was just what we needed at the quiet end of the corridor and with a balcony overlooking the sea.
the layout of the gardens and several pools and private beach meant you could vary your relaxation throughout the stay which we did.
the restaurant and food and service were of a first class standard with food to suit any appetite.
this was the first time we had been all inclusive as it is usually half board we go for. i would recommend it and if you find the food and local drinks a bit samey or repetitive there is always the option of paying a visit to a couple of local cafe/bars just a short walk from the hotel which we did and found to be very pleasant.
there is also the option of dinning in the chinese restaurant at the hotel which i would definitely recommend as it is cooked to order and has a great ambience.there was no problem in booking this despite what some other reviewers have said.
it is also very easy to travel a bit further afield as there is a great bus service which stops just outside the hotel also and i would recommend this as crete is a wonderful place to explore.
there are organised trips which can be booked through the various reps at the hotel. i would recommend the day trip which took in the palace of mykonos ,the monastery of st george a lovely winery and a pottery. rita our tour guide was very informative and enthusiastic and friendly.
all in all our stay was fantastic and we would recommend the rinella beach for a wonderful stay in crete.

Room Tip: bungalow rooms seem a bit enclosed but everybody has different views on what makes for a good stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear lobeyd,
Many many thanks for your lovely review! We are happy to learn, that you have spend nice holidays with us and enjoyed our hotel and services!
We wish you all the best,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Guestrelation.rinelabeach@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days in this hotel and I can honestly say that we have really enjoyed our time.

The rooms:
Our first impression was poor though. When we arrived we were given a room which was located in the main central building. We had a standard double room with the sea view reserved and did not expected it to be luxury or what's or ever, but when you see hair in the bathroom from previous guest or you notice some dust on the furniture then you understand that something is not quite right. Then we invited the housekeeper to explain and to find a solution to the occurred issue and she quickly managed to clean the room (though we did not receive an explanation about why this happened and was that way, I assume this was because of her language barrier). We did not like the room still because of its location, I assume that happened because of the strange smell in the corridor on the way to the room, this smell reminds of an hospital (not leaving an impression of a 5-star hotel). So we asked the front office manager to change our room the next morning and right after that we were given a fantastic room in the right section of the hotel, closer to the sea. Then things changed and we got the feeling that we ARE in a 5-star hotel and felt like home. The room has everything you need. Keep in mind that if you want to get towels for the beach of use the safebox in the room then you have to make a deposit (as I rememeber one towel was around 40 eur, and i did not use the safe box).
Watch out is you are going there in the hottest months because it will get really hot in the room and if you leave the conditioner working for the night you might catch a cold.

Food and drinks:

The food was very good. We wanted to try something "local" and we did have that chance in the hotel. Apart from local kitchen, they also offer international kitchen (pastas and etc.). We are fully satisfied with the food service in Mitsis, though if you are looking for something closer to the service of Rixes, then this will not be it. But for Greece level this is very good.

Nothing much to say about non-alcoholic drinks. If you prefer fresh juices the probably Rinela is not the place for it, they mix water with syrups and you get that "chemical taste", so this is why i did not drink them. Coffee/Tee is fine, nothing special but FINE(though I am not a coffee lover). The main thing you might like to drink alot there is water and this might be a problem if you ask that at the bar or the restaurant. The water has a strange taste like it was taken from the tap, you dont feel it though if you take sparkling water and put a slice of lemon inside. But I always bought water outside of the hotel (a 6-pack for like 1.5 eur).

Alcoholic drinks are not branded in this hotel. You will see bottles you have not seen before. Nothing dangerous though but the taste is different, aspecially the spirits. If you like Gin-tonic etc then belive me you will not like what they have. In Greece you can find really great sorts of wine, but not in this hotel. The house wine that they serve is no good. Well, if you drink it for like 2 days in a row you will probably get used to it really fast (same as I did). The coctails they mix in the bar are fine, way better then Gin-tonic, but again you need to taste to understand whats is good for you.

The hospitality:

On the whole I feel really good about the service and I had the feeling that people care for our needs. People are polite and they are willing to help (most of them). The reception guys are doing a fantastic job. Big thanks to Elena and Svetlana!

Entertainment:

Have to mention that the animation team are very fantastic guys. They are really friendly, helpful and of course funny! The shows in the hotel are of course more children oriented, but still a place where you can spend time in the evenings if you are not planning to go our.

Also not to forget the outdoor loby bar. They had live musicians plays beautiful music(pop, retro and also traditional) so this is a good place to also spend your time.

The territory:

They have their own beach area. No meduzas or other living creatures that you can encounter under the water that might ruin your vacation. Cristal water, bar on the bear, and also some additional entrainment like water bananas etc.(for additional cost).

The have bars everywhere, which is really good because you dont have to walk far in order to get a drink or a snack. Very comfortable way of service even though the territory of the hotel itself is not that big.

A lot of places near the hotel like car rental, supermarkets, tourist information/tours, tavernas and restaurants. Also very easy to get a bus to basically anywhere you like. You can buy tickets at the reception.

If i'd had a chance to visit this hotel again I would definitely come back!

Crete was great and even more, it is great to sleep in a room where you feel like home.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.

Thank you Rinela for making my vacation on Crete a time to remember! Efgaristo to everybody!!!

Best regards,

Pall family

Room Tip: Turn to the reception! These guys can always help you! The speak good English.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Ernest P,
Many thanks for your lovely review and for sharing your positive experience with TripAdvisor community. We are glad to know, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend us to other travelers. We hope to see you in our hotel again and wish you all the best!
Warm regards from sunny Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.0 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Laguna Resort and Spa
Laguna Resort and Spa
#1 of 7 in Anissaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#7 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
78.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing