We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$284
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Anna Apartments(Kokkini Hani)(Great Value!)
$40
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra(Kokkini Hani)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Themis Beach Hotel(Kokkini Hani)
$114
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marilisa Hotel(Kokkini Hani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunset Beach Hotel(Kokkini Hani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coralli Beach Hotel(Kokkini Hani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,934)
Filter reviews
3,934 results
Traveler rating
2,366
1,031
339
125
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,366
1,031
339
125
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantmain restaurantanimation teammini bargreek tavernawaiter servicemain poolsea viewmitsis rinela beach resortreception staffice creamgreat holidayevery other dayprivate beachtoastiesbeach barfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 3,934 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel itself was lovely. When we arrived (approx 11pm), the reception staff were not that friendly. We discovered throughout the holiday, that it wasn't because it was late and they were tired, they alway had a bad attitude. The Hotel was swarmed with Russians. I hate to say this because I am not usually biased about people, but they are HORRIBLE, IGNORANT AND UNFRIENDLY. They pushed in everywhere. This really spoiled the times we were in the restaurant. The food was palatable, but wouldn't say it was 5 star, more like 4 star. The service from the bar staff was second to none, really friendly and happy to chat if you wanted to. The main pool and the beach was heaving, so we stayed around one of the quite pools, which was lovely. If you don't mind the Russian's then try it. If you are fussy, I recommend you don't go there

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the side pool rooms, they are lovely. but we didn't always get the mini bar filled properly every other day
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Brenda M,
Thank you very much for your good review!
We wish you all the best.
Kind regards from Crete,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My partner and I took our eldest granddaughter to this hotel for seven days from the 18th July to the 25th. We were quite shocked when we arrived, firstly because it looked nothing more than an average 3 star hotel. Then we were directed by the receptionist to our rooms and sent the wrong way, so by the time we found it we had humped 3 cases of luggage around a maze of steps, paths and Gardens. The. Room itself was pretty standard considering it was booked as a superior sea view, the view was pretty and the room was immaculate. Clean towels and cleaned each day. We have stayed in some superior rooms and this was pretty basic with added luxury of dressing gown and slippers. That evening we went for a meal ( all inclusive) starving from our long journey and found a queue to get into the main dining area. Although this didn't take long to go down, once in it was chaos! The organisation was pretty diabolical be fair! I am amazed at how a major injury of some innocent child didn't actually happen. The amount of east Europeans whose manners were non existent ruled the dinning area and if they barged in front of you once they did it a thousand times, I'm pretty laid back but I really found myself getting annoyed by their persistent rudeness! Didn't bother with breakfast much and skipped lunch a few times because of this. Food was ok but not fantastic! However, the toasties during the day sustained us and saved our granddaughter coming out of the pool to go through the distress of the dinning area! Each morning my partner had to get up at 7 am to put towels onto sun beds. The place was jam packed with not enough sun beds to go around, pool or beach area! Some guests were having to use the grass areas. Never had to do this in a 5 star hotel before or pay 60 euros deposit for 3 towels!!!! No where to go outside of hotel, town just outside of hotel is more or less a ghost town, and the main city Heraklion ...just dont do it it, bleak and grey, like most cities., on the plus side the weather was beautiful and the staff friendly, particuarly animation team and George in the small pool bar! We paid £2,100 for the 3 of us for one week....ripped off into believing it was 5 star! We have travelled extensively paid less and received far better for our money! So my fault for not doing enough research granted but I did read reviews on here! This is an honest review of our holiday there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Not a five star and would be hard pushed to say four.
Accommodation clean and basic, we had booked a Superior Double it was more of a standard room. There was a fridge in room with 8 small bottles of soft drinks, 2 of which are water it's only restocked ever two days when we asked about extra water for room where not offered any and told to get a glass from the bar. Towels changed most days. Not sure if the bedding changed during the 7 days.
The safe was charged at €25 (not a deposit a charge) not free like the majority of hotels we have stayed in.
We had a room looking into the main pool, at first this seemed an advantage till we released the noise from the main entertainment area then the loud music played daily. The noise on a night was till about midnight, but one night it was 2am.
First day sat at pool and thought we where on a 18-30 holiday with the music blaring all day, no break from it unable to relax. The entertainment staff seem to keep the mass busy but don't take the hint when u open your book and want to be left alone.
Meals where a bit mad, to many people trying to get served in the short window of time allotted. The serving areas where badly organised and the food much more repetitive than other all inclusives. It was nice to sit on the outside terrace of the restaurant, however often waited quite a while to get drinks which are served, and meals eaten before drinks arrived. One aspect i hated was that there was wild CATS wondering around where you where eating. People kept feeding the cats and the staff never battered an eye about them being there, as I said not a 5 or 4 star. The restaurant is just not big enough for the amount of people the hotel accommodates in the busy season. They need to consider how to manage the restaurants differently.
There is a Chinese restaurant, I emailed the hotel before we left England for the night of my husbands birthday otherwise you need to be in reception before 8am to book the following night. Also there is a Taverna restaurant this is similar food to the restaurant but much calmer and quiet. You have to book the day before if we had found it earlier we would have gone every night.
My advice go for breakfast at 8am you need to be up to get your sunbed anyway, go for lunch about 12.45 and tea book the taverna it's quieter!
The gym was crap, it was a running machine, a bike and a cross trainer in the middle of the spa! Then the spa staff told me i had to pay to use the equipment! As there is not much surrounding the hotel other than a small shopping area I did not feel safe to run to far. The local area is a but of a dump, a lot of half build buildings in the small town, not really a place you would want to venture into, we walked around one night.
The sun loungers hit and miss some not to old, other need to go. You have to pay €10 each deposit on towels for pool. The sun loungers get reserved by 8am, all the parasols at the beach and pool are fixed and can't be moved. Extra sunbeds can be obtained down by the theatre on a morning around 9.30-10. But you have no chance of grabbing a parasol as I said the are fixed in position and gone by 8.
Have been to quite a few Riu hotels and prefer them. This hotel is clean and plenty of staff. But the noise in the main pool during the day was terrible (other than a Sunday which appears to be the entertainment staffs day off). The chaotic restaurant drove me mad as did the cats!
This was our holiday as a couple and not as going out partying with friends, next time it will be a Riu hotel, and possibly an adult only.
Won't be going back.
However, If you have booked and are going for a lively family holiday, like wild cats and don't mind queuing for meals, you will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onlinebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Rinella for 10 days from 8th July 2013. This was our honeymoon and we had been looking forward to this for a long time! We were not dissapointed.
There were only a couple of minor issues in that when we first arrived, we were not in the room we thought we would be be (they upgraded us the next next day). Also,once in the new room, the aircon unit was extremely loud so we couldn't leave it on full blast overnight. Also, the fridge (which is filled up every two days) seemed to be 'losing' the odd can of the beer we bought. We did raise this with the management and this did stop.
All that said, we had a fabulous holiday there. The hotel was clean, staff very helpful and friendly and atmosphere ideal. We suggest you take the opportunity to hire a car from Janiz (on site car rental desk) as the island is well worth exploring and some of the views around the mountains are simply breathtaking. We paid 140 euros for two days car hire in a Peugot 207cc Cabriolet - it was amazing!
The food at the hotel was superb quality and plentiful and there was a nightly waiter service at the bar area. The pool bars are open till around 6pm and the staff at the family pool (George in particular) are really firendly. Not sure how strong the all inc beer is but the cocktails seem to hit the spot!
Word of warning if you are there for the sun is to bag your sunbed early becasue despite there being a no reservations policy, almost all the sunbeds have towels on them from 8am - that includes the ones on the private beach!
This hotel is ideal for couples and young families - there were quite a few children there when we went but they run an animiation club which seems to keep them entertained.
We used the spa facility which was an amazing experience and would recommend you use this if you can - it worked at at 60 euros for two of us.
Everything you need is within Rinella Beach but if you fancy a night out then the town has a few bars and places to eat if you turn right outside the complex. We can recommend Its Simple Cafe/Bar for their amazing cocktails and friendly English manager. If you are after something more lively then this is not the place to be - you should be looking at Malia!

We would recommend this resort to anyone and we would welcome the opportunity to go back again. We had a wonderful honeymoon there :)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely but if you want the re-filled fridge and a pool outside your room then you need to ask for VIP/Family room when booking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Claire P,
Thank you very much for your nice review! We appreciate your good words about our staff and hotel. For sure I will forward your regards to Jasmine.
We wish all the best to your new young family!
Best warm regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Realtion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family stayed at the Mitsis for 2 weeks in June 2013. We had a fabulous holiday and had no complaints at all.
Clean, friendly, good service excellent animation team, thanks Will and the team !!!
The hotel is very nice not 5 star but I'd give it a low 4, food and drink is very good and the Chinese and Greek taverna are excellent, however the main restaurant is far too busy.
We had a wonderful stay and would recommend.
Just if your travelling with a pram not many ramps down to pool areas all steps.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Lynni2,
Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate your good words about our hotel, service, food and animation. We thank you, that you recommend our hotel to other visitors.
We wish you all the best!
Kind warm regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews