We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Incredibly friendly staff, made to feel extremely welcome (in particular Giorgios in the taverna). Wifi in hotel was not working, which was annoying but not huge problem as wifi in cares locally. Loved the setting of the Taverna for dinner, shame the weather did not hold up for us on the last few days,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Hemmary!

Thank you a lot for your review! Thank you for your nice words, we really appreciate it very much.

We wish you all the best and we would be glad to meet you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 3,820 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were treated with attention and care. The staff on reception were friendly and sooo helpful, they were never too busy to help and always very approachable. The hotel itself was beautiful and spacious with something for everybody. The food was of the highest standard and if there was something you particularly wanted, the chef would cook it for you. The Beach Taverna was in a beautiful setting and Nickos was so warm and professional, as was his wonderful waitress. The whole staff made our stay so easy and happy, I can't recommend it highly enough. A fabulous family friendly hotel.

Room Tip: If mobility an issue than request lower level room, they are equally lovely but will avoid a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Samatha!

Thank you for your review and such good notes to our staff and hotel! We really appreciate it very much. We hope to see you soon again! Our best wishes to you and your family. Best regards from Nikos!

Yours sincerely,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I spent 7 days in this hotel last week (8th-15th april) and I can't really fault much. The staff and barmen were all very polite and helpful with whatever we needed. The food was very repetitive but that could be partly my fault for not being adventurous enough, however the Taverna food is lovely and I wish we had discovered it earlier in the holiday!
The drinks from the bar are very strong but if you ask for smaller measures then they will do you smaller measures so ignore any comments about them being undrinkable. Nikos the barman is great, as he remembered our drinks night after night so we didn't even have to ask!
Our fridge in the room did smell though but the drinks in it are free which is great!!
The only thing is the evening entertainment was quite poor. I can't really fault the animation team as they did try however I would've loved some more entertainment of an evening.
Also the selection of pools are great and right behind our room was a pool which hardly anyone went to so if you are looking for a peaceful holiday then this pool is perfect, it is to the left of the hotel near the tennis courts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eeeeessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your positive review and such a good words about our hotel team! We wish you all the best!

Kind regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We couldn't praise this more highly, check in excellent and fast, reception & indeed the whole hotel was spotless. Room was good with mini bar which is re-stocked every 2 days & is included in the price. The grounds are exceptionally well kept & the views are beautiful. Food was fantastic, the Chinese food was excellent & it was very noticeable that food hygene is taken very seriously as we noticed the Chinese chefs date dotting all of the food before it went in the refrigerator, this is something we have never seen before in Greece. Wi-fi wasn't working during our stay but I understand this was a problem with the telephone company & it was not the end of the world as there is a bar 2 mins walk outside of the Hotel with wi-fi & computers if you don't have a smart phone.

Overall, a fantastic hotel, service, hotel, grounds, food, views, what more could you want?

I can't understand some of the negative comments I read on here before we booked, especially the ones about the food, we most certainly could not praise this more highly and everyone else we spoke to during our stay had the same opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Stephen!

Thank you that you have choosen our hotel Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & SPA for your holidays! It is very nice to read this warm and obvious words about our staff, food, quality of the food and cleanliness in our hotel. It will be our pleasure to meet you again in our hotel and we would appreciate it, if you could recommend us to your family and your friends. We wish you all the best!!!

Kind regards
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

April 2012,7 days in Crete,Rinela Beach - very good hotel,welcoming staff,smiling people,gorgeos pools and clear and calm sea ... animation team(roumanian) excellence,i am roumanian woman and my son was so much fun ,a brilliant holiday...i will return.

Elena - Suisse

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Elena-Suisse!

We thank you very much for your warm words and, of course, we are waiting for you again!

Our best wishes and warm greetings.

Guest Relations
Svetlana Galimulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Upon arriving to the hotel, I was impressed, but when I went to my room, very disappointed. We came as a group of 15 and were the first visitors to arrive for the season, and there was nothing set up. No entertainment, no internet, and it seemed like no food. We were served the same pieces of meat at every dinner/lunch service. We diceided to eat two times on the local economy. The rooms were ok, but need to be updated, our bed was hard, shower small, tv small, and refridgerator had mildew in it. The town outside of this hotel (resort) is very poor and there is no entertainment outside the hotel. The drinks and staff were amazing but we will not be back to Crete.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Cheri C!

Thank you for your comment and also for your critics, because it helps us to be better and maybe improve something. Thank you very much for your nice words about our staff, because it is really very professional and amazing! We wish you all the best!

Guest Relations
Svetlana Galimulina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

They shut down during winter and it is not a good idea to book a room on the first day they are open for the season. The staff was not ready for the group of people that checked in that day. The rooms smelled like they had be closed for a few months and the refrigerator had mold on it. The food is horrible but luckily there were 2 restaurants open right across from the hotel. The animation staff was aggravating and could not put on shows because equipment did not come in. The spa was nice but they offered a buy 2 and get 1 free and complained when I wanted my free massage. Anytime there was a complaint no one spoke good English. The view of the ocean was beautiful and I can say that I have been to Crete, Greece but it is not on my list to do again.

Room Tip: When booking ask for the ocean view, if not, you will be looking at run down buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shauntil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liarosHeraklion, Guest Relations Manager at Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Shauntil!

Thank you for the review. However i beg to differ with you - each person, which is working at the hotel is speacking English very well, actually it is an idispensable condition to work here. And also it was no way possible they were cheating you in the SPA, maybe it was just a kind of misunderstanding, but not more. About the restaurant - all the "eating-points" of our village together cannot offer so much, as the only one our restaurant.

Best regards,
Svetlana Galimulina
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
772 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range: $104 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive RINELA BEACH RESORT & SPA in the area of Kokkini Hani, east of Heraklion, is a five-star family resort on the finest beach of northern Crete. The hotel features 441 rooms, carefully designed to provide all the comforts of a five-star holiday resort. RINELA BEACH RESORT & SPA is a water paradise, since in its facilities guests can enjoy windsurfing, water ski, canoe or diving, aquarobics with the guidance of trained personnel, water slide games in the pool and on the beach! For those who wish to combine business with pleasure, the closed theater can also be used as a conference room for 400 people, while a smaller hall can host conferences and events for up to 100 people. Special entertainment programs for guests of all ages, numerous family activities, a luxurious Spa and a series of gastronomical proposals complete the picture of the ideal resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing