We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful half term short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kokkini Hani
worcester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“wonderful half term short break”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from a four night break to Rinela Beach and we have been pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
We had a VIP room (642 - with wonderful sea views) which was spotless, and looked recently refurbished. Couldn't fault our room and maid service, however some of the standard rooms didn't have good outlooks and looked dated.
The beach is lovely, plenty of sunbeds and sunshades - although this may get crowded in the summer.
The small playground was great for little kids and the beach was safe for little ones.
The pool areas were clean but looked a bit tired, this may be as its the end of the season.
The food was excellent, we were both very pleasantly surprised by the quality and freshness of the food. Didn't get to the Chinese as the queues for this were early in the morning and for four nights it wasn't worth waiting to book this, and we booked for the 'taverna' easily. Waiting staff were very friendly
~Unfortunately the reception staff were the main let down - they were not friendly and could barely be bothered to smile at you.
Sadly (a sign of the economy and being so late in the season) the whole area was run down, so you were fine if you stayed inside the hotel itself, but other than a wonderful day at Knossos we didn't have a great time looking round the local area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,047
    969
    325
    126
    74
See reviews for
1,681
1,020
80
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

just returned after 1 week away at this resort for our 25th wedding anniversary, well our expectations were not at all what we thought it was going to be a bit disappointed when we had requested a sea view room and we got over looking the main road some of the staff were not very helpful this was a shame because most of the others were great not a lot going on around this area of crete either,the hotel was clean food pretty much the same every day the hotel in our opinion is not a 5***** either the area is pretty run down aswell needs a good lick of paint here and there ,,,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved Crete and had a great break!
The Rinela Beach hotel had some very good points and some really bad points.
It was a good deal but
Security was non existent, considering the whole place was walled and gated you would think a couple of people could have stood by the gate, reception or beach. Anyone could have walked in off the street. We kept a very close eye on our children.
Some staff were amazing and freindly (thanks George at pool bar) as you expect is Greece but some particularly reception and main bar were really rude and quite often no one seemed to be in charge. Computer says no mentality.
The apartment was equipted poorley and was tiny but clean (2 stars)
The food was fantastic and really saved the day, Genuine Cretien dishes, service was very good despite the large number of people being put through.
Don't walk down the beach towards the Aquarium it's very run down.
We still enjoyed our selves but found it difficult to relax with the lax security, especially after seeing how rough some of the surroundings were.
We put the service down to end of season burn out, hired a car and got out a lot, this helped break up the week and we saw how beautiful Crete is.

Room Tip: Some were obviously better than ours didn't get to see good ones though. If you have young kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Me and my husband stayed at the Mitsis Rinela Beach for a week from 9th to 16th October 2012. We were quite worried given some of the reviews we had seen, however on the whole the hotel is very nice and clean, but it certainly isnt a 5 star hotel.
The surrounding area is very run down and isnt pretty at all - we only ventured out once and that was enough. The economic problems in Greece have obviously taken their toll.
Given some of the negative reviews I will try to make this one balanced and fair....
Firstly the good points...
The rooms were beautiful and clean, the hotel cleaners did a fantastic job and worked really hard.
Our air-conditioning worked brilliantly, and the mini bar in our room was very welcome
The gardens were very well kept and very pretty.
The pools were lovely - especially the small pool, and George the bar-man was an absolute legend.
We had no problem booking the Taverna for our evening meal, and dined there every evening.
Now the average points...
There were always queues for a table in the main restaurant - although they did move quite quickly
The food, although plentiful was very 'samey', and if you're a vegetarian get used to eating Tsatziki, salad, rice and bread (oh and pizza in the Taverna - which is lovely, but after 6 nights you feel like you never want to see another slice of pizza :o)
The drinks were ok although we ordered a Mojito and it was undrinkable, as was the Pina Colada.... my advice is stick to Beer, Wine or Vodka and Sprite.
Finally the bad points....
There are no lifts or ramps in the hotel so if you have a pushchair, a wheelchair or struggle with mobility this isnt the hotel for you.
Some of the staff are really helpful (George at the little pool bar, and the Pizza Chef in the Taverna), however some of them are quite rude and dismissive.
At our welcome meeting the Rep Alexandra obviously didnt want to be there, she told a little boy who was about 3 years old and was chit-chatting to shut up while she spoke... If I had been his mother I would have complained about her. She didnt want to know about anyone's issues and didnt even try to sell the trips.
Some of the guests (Eastern European / Russian) were exceptionally rude, and had no manners, however that been said, some were really nice and friendly.
If you wanted to use the gym it was 30 Euros a day!!! However, if you had a spa treatment you could use the gym for free.
As I said earlier, the local area was very poor and run down - we didnt see the 'pretty' Crete that we had hoped to.
In Summary.....
We had a lovely relaxing time and met some really nice people. The hotel was lovely and clean, the food and drinks were average, service on the whole was good. The weather was gorgeous - high 20's early 30's all week.
Make sure you take a hairdryer as the one's in the bathroom are a joke!!
There are quite a lot of dogs and cats around the hotel - we knew about this beforehand and took dog and cat treats in our luggage. The dogs especially are amusing and very friendly. If you're an animal lover and have room in your suitcase take some treats with you.... if you arent an animal lover then I dont think the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Room 308 - Limited Sea View but nice and big and the Air conditioning works well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLOUCESTERSHIRE
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

17-24 October 2012

Holiday for 2 adults 3 children (but part of a group of 16 people)

15 mins from airport

On arrival we (3 families in our group) were told that there had been a flood and our rooms were unavailable and we had to stay 5 min walk away in a separate (very basic) building!! Not far but it was a pain having to un-pack and re-pack to move rooms. Reception staff not helpful over the whole situation and we wondered if there was a flood at all – maybe just a case of over booked!!!
New rooms were great – pools and beach on door step – all spotless and tidy – cleaned daily

LOTS OF STEPS – NOT PUSH CHAIR FRIENDLY – we were forever having to carry the push chair up and down steps!!!

Great animation team and kids mini-disco.
Most of the bar staff were friendly – everybody loves George at the pool bar :-)
Good food but a bit same/same every night. Taverna restaurant is same food as main restaurant but less crowded and more relaxed and pleasant. Chinese restaurant is lovely and worth booking.
Beach towels available at 20Eur deposit!!! but changed daily :-)
Lots of cats and dogs roaming around – but no mess - no problem
Planes flying over head but not really a problem
Would not go to Crete in October again as rained and was stormy – no indoor pools
Bus trip to the market was not really worth it – more fruit and veg than anything else.

Main issues - Could do with a indoor pool and slopes for pushchairs

Overall – Fab holiday x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were 2 families with kids ages 4-17 on a five day Holiday.
We took an all inclusive deal during last October.
The Hotel is close to the airport near Heraklion but far enough not to be affected by the noise.
It has a nice beach location in a shabby little town surrounded by gift shops.
The hotel should probable rated as a modest 4* hotel, since the maintenance & decor are fair but not above. We had different kinds of rooms. Tthe family room was nice and convenient, but we suffered from a lot of engine noise from the kitchen. The regular room was on top of a small pool it was fine.
There was a variety of food of mediocre level, nothing terrible, nothing excellent. The food in the bar during the day was awful. The option to order a lunch bag for the day was nice, but it was very disappointing. The pools were very nice, but since they didn’t heat them at all , only the bravest children could enjoy them. The kids club was disappointing and offered very little, but since we had 7 kids they played together and didn’t miss it at all.
You can rent a car at the lobby, we rented in advance with another company and had a much better deal.
It rained for a day so a lot of rooms were leaking.
It was a very nice and relaxing holiday, mostly thanks to having good friends to enjoy it with, and since we spent most of the time out of the hotel . We recommend it to people with children who like to travel out a lot. We also enjoyed the time spent at the hotel but we wouldn’t recommend it to people who like to stay on site during the entire vacation

Room Tip: The family rooms have an inner division that allows privacy for parents!! They also have sea view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel 12th - 22nd October. We were a party of 6, 5 adults and 1 child. Family rooms with pool outside was a real bonus as meant we could get the 4 yr old off the beach, who then played in the pool for an hour before having an afternoon nap. Many Thanks to Spiros (bar area) for looking after us every evening,making sure we never had an empty glass! Nikos & all the staff in the Greek Taverna for making us welcome every lunchtime. Staff behind reception very helpful especially Maria and the lady with red hair. The lady who walked round checking the hotel on a daily basis from 7am - 9pm was very friendly and always took time to stop for a chat. Only downside is not enough toilets in the main area (only 4 in the ladies) which you had to go down 2 flights of stairs for, queing is never good when you have a 4 yr old who waits until last minute to go! Overall a good venue but not if you have walking difficulties as lots of steps to pools and hill to master for the beach. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 549 and 549a (family rooms with divider) and small pool directly outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corineross59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkini Hani
1.0 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Exclusive Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.2 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,066 reviews
16.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Beach Resort
35.2 mi away
Iberostar Creta Panorama & Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 715 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Kokkini Hani
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kokkini Hani
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kokkini Hani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Hotel Kokkini Hani
Mitsis Resort Rinela Beach
Mitsis Rinela Beach Crete
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa Crete/Kokkini Hani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing