We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swell Restaurant

Swell Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Kokkini Hani
Price range: $29 - $130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Swell Restaurant, the hotel's gastronomic jewel, guided by our young chef, whose inspired creations will give a true Cretan touch and will satisfy all the demanding pallets. You are more than welcome to join us! At Swell we wish to offer our personal interpretation of Cretan gourmet cuisine with an innovative gastronomic touch on traditional cooking methods using only the best products of Crete. We look around Crete to discover tastes and new inspirations to blend them to the menu. Herbs and spices are used in imaginative ways with surprisingly positive results in well-appointed dishes. Enjoy your swimming at the beach, ending your day with a mouthwatering dinner, or just relax at the comfortable couches with your cocktail marveling the deep blue of the Mediterranean sea.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was perfect! The dishes, the view, the hospitality and the service. They even explained the dishes one by one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    22
    6
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great food(fish or meat), great desserts, great view, quick and kind personnel.

If you visit Heraklion you should eat there.

I think that there no other place like this in Heraklion, probably in the whole Crete.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CCfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I live six months in Iraklio and i heard that Swell is the only restaurant here with Michelin star.I visited it and i was disappointed. Everybody mentioned fresh fish. If seabass and bream fish are what one Michelin star restaurant offers that you can find in every fish taverna in Crete. I expected more from Swell. Not to many choices of dishes. It was sunday night and the restaurant was almost empty. i have eated in Iraklio restaurants too many times and they all offer some desert on house,or raki,Swell didnt. I do not recomend this restaurant,there are a lot of restaurants in Iraklio where you can eat better for less money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kal0keri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KNBCH, Guest Relations Manager at Swell Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Kal0keri,
First of all thank you for coming to Swell Restaurant and for taking the time to write your comments. We regret very much that you have been disappointed on your first visit. We noticed that your review doesn’t say anything about the quality of the meal you had at Swell Restaurant. We hope that you enjoyed it as much as all our clients. We understand that your disappointment comes from different expectations. The way Swell Restaurants operates is to make of each plate a little oeuvre d’art. This is the reason why the catalogue cannot include dozens and dozens of dishes. Each one of them needs a long preparation in order to be perfect. Also, if “everybody mentions” fresh fish, it is because we only serve extremely fresh fish. This doesn’t allow us to put too many different fishes on the catalogue, as we rely exclusively on the catch of the day. We suggest asking the Chef directly, in order to see the availability of the day and you will not be disappointed anymore.
Finally, our menu is created and regularly updated by Lefteris Lazarou, the first Greek chef honoured with a Michelin Star. But the restaurant itself has not a star. Otherwise it would be impossible to have such a great experience with meals of an average of 30-40 €.
Once more we thank you and we hope to see you again in order to change your opinion in better.
Our best regards.

Swell Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hersonissos, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent for the 2nd year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

the restaurant location is excellent and the food is a piece of art .thank again for wonderful nights with all kind of fish delights.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funseasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek food in a beautiful surrounding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The restaurant is part of a hotel, but it has the entrance next to the hotel (so you do not have to walk through the hotel). We did not stay in the hotel where the restaurants belongs to, but simply made a reservation which was not a problem. We had diner there and enjoyed it very much. The atmosphere is very nice, you overlook the Greek sea when sitting there which is really very beautiful. The restaurant serves Greek food on a mondern way and has extraordinary choice of very good Greek wines. The service is very good. For sure, when we stay again on Crete in this part of the island, we will come back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swell Restaurant also viewed

Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
Kokkini Hani, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Swell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing