We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE HOTEL NEEDS RENEWAL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“THE HOTEL NEEDS RENEWAL”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Certainly not a 5star hotel any more,the room is a dissapointment itself,the photos attouched show broken toilet seat,broken door locker.It should be rated as 3stars hotel,although there is a good variety of dishes some of them are stale.Waiters empty the plates' leftovers on trolley tables passing by your clean table,disgusting..Staff are kind,overall cleanness very good but the money is too much just for this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simijtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    131
    85
    44
    23
See reviews for
166
118
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE&CYPRUS
Level Contributor
1,525 reviews
314 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,936 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My children were spending 3 nights here and we visited them for a whole day.
Although the reception area seems ok, the rooms are by far disappointing.
I can rate it for a 3.5* hotel but surely not a 5*. I wish I knew how on earth the owners have got the 5 stars!
The hotel is more than 35 years old but somebody reading that it is a 5* expects facilities and amenities of a five star.
The room was clean and it was overlooking the gardens. It was extremely small as well as the bathroom.
The beds were two singles and they looked ridiculous…(see photos). Very uncomfortable and very old fashioned!
The owner has to either get the extra stars off or renovate and update it. Of course the children booked through a discount offer and this 3 night stay cost 200 euros for 2 persons but still the stars have to be taken off. The offer was on a H/B basis, but the buffet was the same disappointing thing.
The staff at the reception is not professional and it seems that they don’t speak good English to cater for the foreign guests.
Visitors should have in mind that the coffee shop is also very expensive.
Internet is free though so this was the only positive I found here.
I truly cannot understand how it ranks #1 among the 4 other hotels in the area!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are probably better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamena Vourla hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

the room is nice, is very clean and spacious.the front desk very polite and spa services are excellent.Great location,near the beach, and it has exterior and interior swimming pool and the buffet has many foods to choose.Almost everything.the only thing that i can say is that coffee at the coffee shop is a bit expensive. 4 50 EUROS for a cappucino.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demmytheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed in Galini Wellness Spa and Resort as we need to get a ferry first thing in the morning from Ag Constantinos which is not that far away. As this was the only 5star hotel around we decided to stay.

On arrival it was very confusing as the entrance to the hotel is at the back of the hotel along a side road, very weird. Once we had worked our way round things started to look up as everything looked really great, the hallway was massive, clean, luxurious, absolute top notch.

We then checked in and well reception could hardly speak a word of English, I know I can’t speak Greek, and have come to expect 5 star hotels out of the UK to have staff that speak English but sadly not here.... As we arrive at 7 the Spa was closed, surely this should be open much later!!

We had to take our own luggage up to our rooms, and try to find our room. Eventually we did and what a shocker, wall paper was falling away from the walls, sockets coming off, marks everywhere, this certainly was not what I was expecting compared to what I saw in the reception and hallway area - so pictures included. Even a shower curtain for the shower and no ventilation in the batroom, nothing luxurious in that!! Im truelly gobsmacked that the condition of the room has not been addressed, and how have they got a 5 star rating, this room is more 2/3 star.

We decided to check out the restaurant as the price included dinner, oh a buffet, and all of it apart from the freshly grilled meat was not looking very appetising. There were flies everywhere which tends to indicate that this is not the most hygienic of places, actually not many customers eating for a room that looked as if it had been set up for a wedding for around 300 people. A member of staff came to take our order and again not speaking too much English, we asked for 2 diet cokes. We went to the buffet and came back to find a bottle of beer on the table. Tried for 5 mins trying to get a member of staffs attention, eventually a girl came over and looked confused walked off and carried on doing her work, eventually she speaks to the girl that took our order. Another 5 mins later our diet cokes arrive. OMG I’m so looking forward to what’s in store for breakfast - well let’s just say this was not much better either.

We walked the grounds and they do really look brilliant, impressive in fact, shame the accommodation is not kept to the same standard.

Checking out was easy getting a taxi on time much more difficult as the receptionist though we order the taxi for a different time, even though we wrote the time down for her.

I know we did not pay 5 star prices but if you use a 5 star rating then this is what we would expect, clearly the management here tae no care of what their customer expect when they visit 5 star hotels, and based on the previous comments here on tripadvisor I’m guessing they will not care about what I’m writing about either.

This was our first and only stay in this hotel, on our first day of our holiday to Skiathos. As you might guess I certainly will not be coming back or even recommending to anyone. Be warned this is not a 5 star hotel, the Spa may be to that standard but you will need to arrive well before 6pm to use it.......Otherwise you will find it difficult to relax as you will be so disappointed once you see your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed at Galini in May, 2012. Grounds, where they are taken care of are beautiful. Unfortunately, the owner gave up on most of the outside property- a major point of contention with the local population. I can't remember a five star hotel with a gravel parking lot. The park behind the property was at some point very nice, but is overgrown now.

Inside: the rooms are large, bathrooms are huge and beautiful, the balcony with the sea view is great. But again the owner gave up on updating the rooms long ago. A TV is from 90s-not five star. The fan is so antiquated that it is actually funny. The bed spread seemed to be old, as was the whole color scheme.

In sum, good hotel which should be marketed according to reality-max four stars.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tais24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

great swimming pool and breakfast but the rooms are a bit run down...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arieta88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for three days over the Easter weekend and we had the best time! The new spa manager that just started there is a great professional and he helped us relax with the different treatments that he suggested. We are going back very soon for another relaxing week.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamena Vourla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Violetta
Hotel Violetta
#3 of 4 in Kamena Vourla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.9 mi away
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
Boutique Hotel Skamnos
#1 of 11 in Arachova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#2 of 11 in Edipsos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Thermae Sylla Spa & Wellness Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dellis
Hotel Dellis
#1 of 16 in Kamena Vourla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandros Hotel
Alexandros Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kamena Vourla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort

Property: Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort
Address: 5 Vassiliadi Ger., Kamena Vourla 350 08, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Phthiotis Region > Kamena Vourla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kamena Vourla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in front of the beach of Kamena Vourla, this hotel is just 90min drive from Athens. Lamia city is only 15 minutes drive. The hotel prouds itself to be one of the most prestigious spa resorts in Greece with ideal location in front of the beach and thermal waters coming directly from the mountain Knimis. A family resort with variety of kids' entertainment and Spa facilities in an area of 3000m2 for the adults. An successful combination for the most relaxing holidays. The rooms are very wide and comfortable. They offer either double or twin beds, they have carpet and they are very elegant and cozy. Large bathroom, wardrobe, bathrobes and slippers, mini bar (with fee), bath amenities and free internet in the room are some key features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Galini Wellness Hotel Kamena Vourla
Mitsis Galini Wellness Spa And Resort
Galini Hotel
Mitsis Hotel Kaména Voúrla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing