We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flair Hotel Winkler Brau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Velburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice stop-over”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

By luck we visited this hotel on our way to Austria. It is close to the A3.
The restaurant is situated at the inner court and the food is good value for your money.
Nice cosy and clean rooms and the facilities in the hotel are good and makes you wish to stay longer.
That is the reason why on the way home we again stayed a night in this friendly place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
26
6
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night in 2010. We stopped on our 1100 miles journey and enjoyed every minute. Very friendly staff; great, clean room and the food is... Hmmm... I can`t wait to stop by again. Next time we will prepare to bring our swimming suits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice stop-over place along A3 halfway Netherlands and Italy
Excellent food and drinks , and clean comfertable room . All for a reasonable price. Employees are friendly and gives good advises.
The terrace is well situated at the innercourt and can be closed when it starts raining. .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jlm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while working in Hohenfels. The drive to Hohenfels was about 15-20min. The staff is friendly and will go out of the way to help and accommodate you. I had to leave the hotel for work one morning at 0350am and they made me a special pot of coffee that was waiting for me in the wintergarten. Pool on site. Spa on site and A+++ restaurant with excellent prices!!! Free Wi-Fi too! Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sms330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Over the course of a three week work trip in Bavaria, I ate at the Winkler Brau six times. There is no shortage of restaurants in the area at which to eat. However, there is only one that is truly special: the Winkler Brau. Everything on the menu is very tasty, but the combination of a Schweinshaxe and a mug of Kupfer Spezial is in a league of its own. The Schweinhaxe's crispness, tastiness, and juiciness are almost perfection. And the local Kupfer Spezial seems to have been made specifically as the ideal complement for a heavenly pork experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepytime_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I would like to offer my own review, but really, I think that "Chirstmas Come Alive" sums it up. Traditional Bavarian Hotel and Restaurant with an amazing atmosphere. Not a B&B but a hotel so don't expect US style B&B, but you aren't losing anything. The drinks are great and the food outstanding - like many places in the area, they use locally hunted boar and a can't miss. I usually eat here at least once every couple of months when I am in the area though I have never stayed at the hotel so I can't offer anything on the rooms. If you are between Nurenburg and Munich, this is a must stop. Perfect for a romantic get-away, to a family base to explore, to a business dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riflemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at the Winkler Brau at Christmastime with friends during a local deer and boar hunt. The Winkler is a traditional-style Bavarian hotel and it does the Christmas decorations and dinners in proper German style. If you ever have the pleasure of traveling through Bavaria at this time of year, make the Winkler a stop, you won't regret it. At night, large candle lanterns are lit inside and outside the entire hotel, giving it a Hansel-and-Gretel air, but with the authenticity of a hotel that's done this for decades.

As the name suggests, they brew their own beer a dark but mild potion that is terrifically satisfying (and so is the stein size!). The staff dress in traditional Bavarian style and are friendly and helpful, and usually quite busy. I can recall sitting with friends over beers watching two women deocrate a dining room for guests coming in - no detail was too small, including candle lanterns on the windowsills. The food is simply outstanding, and at Christmas order the goose (Gans) - it is beyond heavenly and so filling you'll roll right out the door to your room.

The Winkler has a series of interconnecting rooms and hallways that are a little odd, but charming to negotiate (it's not really wheelchair friendly though). The rooms are large and very clean (this is Germany...), as are the bathrooms which hold standing showers (very modern). Winter heating was POWERFUL (I turned it down AND opened my windows....), if you're there in summer there won't be any A/C. Think chalet-style wood and in you're in the ball park.

The breakfasts are likewise outstanding, held in a glass-enclosed garden restaurant - choices of egg, fruits, yogurts, breads, meats, etc. If you go hungry, it's on you.

I hesitate to say the location is great - it's really only near to the local US Army facilities and at least two-three hour drive from either Munich or Stuttgart. There's not a heck of a lot out that way except small villages and beautiful countryside. That said, if you have the opportunity, take it, especially at Christmas. You surely won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSOTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velburg
9.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Neumarkt
Park Inn by Radisson Neumarkt
#1 of 7 in Neumarkt in der Oberpfalz
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zum Loewen
6.7 mi away
Garten Hotel Hirschenhof
Garten Hotel Hirschenhof
#2 of 4 in Parsberg
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Hirschen
Romantik Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Parsberg
66 reviews
14.8 mi away
Landhotel Weisses Ross
Landhotel Weisses Ross
#1 of 1 in Illschwang
49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Zur Post
Hotel-Gasthof Zur Post
#2 of 3 in Velburg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flair Hotel Winkler Brau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flair Hotel Winkler Brau

Property: Flair Hotel Winkler Brau
Address: St.-Martin-Str. 6, 92355 Velburg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winkler Braustuberl)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Palatinate > Velburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Velburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Flair Hotel Winkler Brau 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Flair Hotel Winkler Brau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing