We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the castle at reasonable rates”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riedenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schloss Eggersberg
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Riedenburg
Armidale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“King of the castle at reasonable rates”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were a party of 6 adults and two children who had made arrangements for celebrating the Golden Wedding Anniversary of my parents at Schloss Eggersberg.
The decor of the hotel is awesome, a perfect match of period decor with modern conveniences. Often, under similar circumstances, I would feel intimidated, not sure whether it is OK or safe to sit on this chair, or that sofa. At Schloss Eggersberg, the balance is perfect, and it just feels comfortable and cosy. The Schwartz family complement that impression by their warm and personal service, without any stiffness or etiquette. On our first night we were asked what we wanted for dinner. There was no menu or blackboard in sight, and we were a bit puzzled by such an open question. My sister enquired about fish, which was not available, but we could have Schnitzel, if we wanted. It was a bit of a Faulty Towers moment, just as charming as the show, and the schnitzels and beers were delicious. Breakfasts are standard German fare of breads, cheese, smallgoods, jam etc.
Chef Herr Schwartz really showed his form on the night of the anniversary itself. We had a beautifully decorated side room, and he served an extraordinary degustation dinner. Choice of wines was limited in a similar way as the dinner on our arrival, but once again his recommendation was an excellent choice.
The area is very scenic. There are lots of different tourist attractions available. The only time an air of mass tourism came up was on our cruise up the Danube to Weltenburg monastery. You would not want to miss it though, both for its baroque church and the local beer. Back at Schloss Eggersberg in the evening, we were miles away from any crowds, in our comfortable time capsule, having an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a snowy Tuesday at the very end of November. We had just picked up a new car and began a two week trip visiting the various Christmas Markets in the South of Germany. We had pictured sitting down with other travelers around a blazing fire and recovering from jet lag. In mid-week during a snow storm on the last day of November, we should have known better. We were the only guests at the hotel but that only highlighted what we thought were the strong points of the stay--wonderful service and attention to guests. We stayed in a huge room in the corner--since we were the only guests, I would guess that it might be the nicest room. It looked like it might have looked in the 16th century but with heat. Naturally we ate at the hotel and expected a very meager choice--no way. There were at least a half dozen choices. The food was wonderful and the young waitress was just plain fun to talk with. After we had voiced our concern with the chance of being stuck in the snow to the waitress, the owner came out and said that our all-wheel-drive car would have no problem. Our breakfast the next morning was just as good and the owner's response to our request to borrow a windshield scraper (it did indeed snow that night) was to personally clean off the entire car for us. I apologized for making him keep the place open and working for just two guests. His reply was that that was the nature of the business and he was happy to have us. If we are ever in that area again, we will certainly stop again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NovaScotiaBruceCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We received a very warm welcome from the Schwartz family. The rooms were beautifully decorated, whilst being warm and comfortable. (we arrived on a cold day!) We enjoyed an excellent dinner of local lamb, and enjoyed walking around the beautifully kept gardens. The views were stunning. We would wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janeandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapolisMD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

17th century Wittelsbach (Bavarian royal family) hunting lodge in beautiful, non-touristed Altmuhl Valley (Danube and Altmuhl rivers between Nuremberg and Regensburg, Bavarian Franconia.

Accessible only by car (and then use a good map and directions from the hotel). Equidistant between Nuremberg-Munich autobahn and Nuremberg-Passau autobahn, across country. High over the banks of the river in long, Juraissic valley that looks like the Shenandoah, perhaps. Glorious views, great local lamb, pork and fish and Thurn und Taxis beer.

Restored by a gentleman from Munich and run by the Family Schwartz.

Multiple rooms in eclectic furnishing (some Biedemeier, family pictures, antlers and stuffed birds) of a country house. Has a small but interesting museum with an archeopteryx, pictures of Dark Age finds from digs, etc.), stables if you want to bring your horses up for the weekend (!).

Went with two Germans from the north and an American cousin, all of whom had never stayed in a schloss before and really enjoyed it.

In non-winter months tons to do: cave exploring, biking, kayaking, going to a castle with a falcon and hawk facility, small museums, wonderful baroque churches, and day trips to Nuremberg, Regensburg, Passau, Bavarian Wald....

Highly recommend. Price of rooms according to size--mammoth triple was 151 Euros including breakfast.

The experience is worth the price, and the family is charming. PS No elevator; if you stay in the loft room with cupboards built into the wall at the top of the house you may see bats flying outside your windows (a good thing).

  • Liked — The romantic history of the building
  • Disliked — Not modern (also the best)
  • Tips/Secrets — Get good directions
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnapolisMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riedenburg
1.7 mi away
Gasthof Zur Post
Gasthof Zur Post
#3 of 4 in Riedenburg
37 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zur Krone
Hotel Gasthof Zur Krone
#4 of 4 in Riedenburg
7 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gaestehaus St. Georg
Gaestehaus St. Georg
#2 of 3 in Kelheim
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
MARC AUREL Spa & Golf Resort
MARC AUREL Spa & Golf Resort
#1 of 5 in Bad Goegging
170 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fuchsbraeu
Fuchsbraeu
#1 of 5 in Beilngries
83 reviews
22.7 mi away
Wellnesshotel Schonblick Eichstatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Eggersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Eggersberg

Property: Hotel Schloss Eggersberg
Address: Obereggersberg 18, 93339 Riedenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Riedenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Riedenburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Eggersberg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly renovated and listed castle ensemble with a neighbouring rectory and an exposed castle ruin with breathtaking views of the Altmuhl Valley. In its idyllic position, our castle hotel offers an atmospheric ambience for events, family parties and weddings. Couples have the exclusive opportunity of holding their civil marriage ceremony in our wedding room. The perfect setting for a fairytale start to your lives together! Feel like the lord of the manor in our historically furnished rooms and suites, enjoy some time out. You can not only celebrate with us, but you can also work in a relaxed atmosphere behind thick, historic walls; after all Baron von Eck made many a far-reaching decision, many of which are still in force today. Our Renaissance castle offers plenty of room for holding successful meetings, seminars and workshops. The pure air and pristine surroundings of the lower Altmuhl Valley provide the ideal conditions for successful private meetings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing