We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farchant
Reviewed January 5, 2012

At just 2 miles from Garmisch-Partenkirchen, this hotel is perfectly set to accommodate all types of travellers. We arrived a couple of days after Boxing Day and even though we arrived at 11am, our room was still available. Rooms are very well decorated and furnished and the bathroom with shower & toilet was immaculate. Plenty of wardrobe space and our request for extra coathangers was dealt with immediately. Although it states that wi-fi is available in public areas, we were able to pick it up in our room (108) with ease.
The adjoining restaurant served a good selection of food and drink with some very tasty Bavarian dishes, although it is advisable to book a table in advance. We had a special New Years Eve menu and at midnight all went outside for fireworks and champagne (provided by hotelier)
The village of Farchant is very pleasant with some lovely buildings with wall art on the sides. There are plenty of well signed walks and a hike up to the waterfalls is recommended
Breakfast was included and there was a very good selection of breads, rolls, meat, cheese, cereals, fruit and salad. Fried or scrambled eggs were available if required.
Would we stay here again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcgooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Located about 12 minutes from Oberammergau the hotel was our refuge from the passion play ad the steep prices of the larger town. It is a great location, and while the website makes it seem located in the country, it is definitely in town (a small one, but a town). Farchant is picturesque

Service could not have been more pleasant. The Breakfasts were very nice. Rooms were small but adequate. @ single rooms were just as cheap as a double.

The hotel is a good base for exploring Zugspitz, Oberammergau, Garmish, Mittenwald, Innsbruck and the environs

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Farchant is about five minutes by car from Garmisch, the train station, restaurants and shopping. This gem of a hotel is ideally located somewhat off the beaten path, and an ideal "home base" for trips to Oberammergau, Fussen, and train trips to Innsbruck, Munich. The inn keeper and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating; food is wonderful. There is a bakery across the street and walking paths are close by. Very convenient parking. Staying here gave us a look at small town life in Bavaria in the most gorgeous setting imaginable. And....the cows are driven out to pasture and back home every day down the village streets...fun to watch!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NC8307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

A beautiful, practical hotel in a beautiful town, the Gasthof Alter Wirt is ideal for traveleres wanting to get away from the stress of city life. The rooms are practical and comfortable, nothing too fancy, but very cozy. The staff is very kind and extremely helpful. The food in the restaurant downstairs is absolutley delicious and their menu offers a wide variety of traditional Bavarian dishes, all made with fresh ingredients. Skiing in the alps is just a quick bus ride away and the center of Garmisch is only about a 10 minute bus ride. The town it's in, Farchant, is quite small but very friendly and relaxed. The town is nestled in the alps, so everywhere you look there are beautiful views of the mountains. Overall, if you're looking for real examples of Bavarian life, and not just another tourist trap, or you'd just like a quiet, relaxing vacation with great food and beautiful scenery, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank freeskier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank sergioleonardi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanR585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Xenax87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farchant
3.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Obermuehle
Best Western Premier Hotel Oberm...
#6 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Zugspitz
Hotel Garni Zugspitz
#1 of 4 in Farchant
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Foehrenhof
Hotel Foehrenhof
#1 of 2 in Farchant
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Farchanter Alm
Farchanter Alm
#4 of 4 in Farchant
8 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt

Address: Bahnhofstr. 1-3, 82490 Farchant, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Farchant
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Farchant
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gasthof Alter Wirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing