We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this restaurant....”
Review of Week-End Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Viviers-du-Lac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Week-End Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Viviers-du-Lac
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Extremely disappointed ! Food is very expensive, second rate, service well below average. The two positives I can highlight is the view of Lac du bourget and the fact that they are consistent. I ate here 8 years ago and it was terrible and they are still open after all these years!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Week-End Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 106 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

"Your feet in the water" is the motto of Hotel Week-end, a cute hotel situated on Lake Bourget surrounded by the mountains of Savoy and a few kilometers away from Aix-les-Bains, venerated by amateurs of Hot Water Springs. If you are able to choose a room on the water, which is 10% higher than a room with the mountain view, you will sit on a small balcony and experience a dream scene with a quiet spectacular view. The rooms are relatively small, but nicely decorated, the bed scattered with mini-knitted pillows reflecting the traditional style of the region.

One inconvenience is that, during the winter season, their restaurant is closed, but you will be directed by the pleasant innkeeper to a couple of restaurants that offer traditional menus of the season. They only serve breakfast and public parking is nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed here only for 2 days, for a working meeting at the nearby Technolac science&business park, and I really loved it and sure would have liked to stay longer!
I had been a bit weary due to some bad reviews here, and because the booking and telephone contact proved rather difficult (no reply on my online reservation request. So better call by phone for a reservation - only Mondays the attached restaurant is closed, and there may be nobody in the house, so try again when the machine answers your call).
That's because it is in fact just a small family run hotel, without a real reception desk that is always occupied. So don't expect the kind of perfect service you expect from big hotel chains.
Nevertheless it was clean, the room was properly made up, and the service at breakfast was friendly and good.
The rooms may seem a bit small, but the decor with handmade wall paintings gives them an atmosphere you never get in a standard hotel. It may look old-fashioned and remote, but the free WiFi (for which you pay in many business hotels a lot extra) connects you fast and reliably to the world.
And the view from the room, with the sound of the ducks the only thing you hear, would make up for many an imperfection anyway!
Just make sure you get one of the 6 rooms facing the lake when you make a reservation !!

Room Tip: just call and ask for a room with lake view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solardiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed here for one night in a family room for four. Room was overlooking the lake which was fantastic as it is surrounded by hills and the road down to Viviers gives great views. The hotel room was a bit small for four but decorated in the style of a Frech painter (whose name escapes me) as were the other rooms. Next time I would book two rooms for two people. The situation was the best thing about the hotel which is a fairly small family run establishment. There was a great terrace restaurant overlooking the lake although the food was average. It may have been because we were there July 24th and the season proper had not started and the hotel was very quiet. The staff were fine. I would stay there again due to the location and the feeling of staying in a traditional French hotel in a French holiday area. You can hire boats, fish etc right in front of the hotel and although we did not have a chance to fully explore the area, it looks like a fab place to spend a week off season and drive around the lake and towns. There is a small airport nearby and we watched the planes coming in over the lake to land. There was no noise from these at all. The lake is clear and you can see the shoals of fish swimming right below your hotel room window. Remember to book a room with a view of the lake as there were some with a view at the back of nothing very much.

1  Thank leonine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank philippeK9869XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GERARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Léna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viviers-du-Lac
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mona Lisa le Clos du Lac
Hotel Mona Lisa le Clos du Lac
#1 of 5 in Viviers-du-Lac
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#2 of 3 in Le Bourget-du-Lac
71 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Aquakub
Best Western Aquakub
#9 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ombremont
Ombremont
#1 of 3 in Le Bourget-du-Lac
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Le Cervolan Chambery - Voglans
1.3 mi away
Campanile Aix Les Bains
Campanile Aix Les Bains
#22 of 36 in Aix-les-Bains
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Week-End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Week-End Hotel

Address: 139 rue du Colonel Bachetta, 73420 Viviers-du-Lac, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Viviers-du-Lac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Viviers-du-Lac
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing