We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau des Comtes de Challes
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Very friendly staff, with lovely grounds. I know it's an odd thing to review, but we really liked the doors - they felt very castle-y.

We attended the wine tasting in the cellar, which was free to hotel guests. We enjoyed talking with the owner and sommelier while getting a tour of the cellar and kitchen area. (And enjoyed the wine, of course).

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    158
    53
    32
    12
See reviews for
63
233
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I completely agreed with one comentary on the cold reception while staying with Groupon voucher. An old lady at the reception was extremely cold, like we came to your own house and ask to sleep and eat ! Sorry, with or without a Groupon voucher , we are still clients! Not good wine taste, 15 euros per person is not worth doing it. Only 3 wines to taste and these ones that the Hotel is going to sell at the Reception. Room was small and dusty! Swimming pool is dirty and cold in spite sunny time. Please avoid the Hotel. A youngg man in the morning at the Recption Desk was rather professional and kind. My advice to the Hotel Directory to chose right people for the Reception as they represent the face, image of the Hotel. It is my sincere opinion.

There are many good ones in Chambery that is just nearby.

Room Tip: not downstairs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yanita_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for just one night and, on the whole, had a good experience. The Chateau is a large property with lodgings in different buildings. All are attractive and stately. Perhaps we should have been concerned when our room type was called a 'Charming Double'. Isn't charming a real estate term for small and in need of renovation? As it was, our room was on the smaller side (quite narrow), but was attractively appointed. The bed (to be discussed later) was canopied and there was some nice older furniture as well. We did not have dinner at the restaurant but the breakfast the next morning was certainly adequate, offering the standard fare in a very pretty setting. Now - the bed. It had its problems. For one, the mattress was too small for the frame and, more importantly, it squeaked and offered very little support. My wife and I both felt we were rolling toward the middle. At checkout, we mentioned it to the nice young lady on duty and the information was relayed to the manager/owner. He seemed incredulous that there could be a problem, but, to his credit, he came up to our room, with two other staff members in tow, and checked out the offending object. He repeatedly said that the bed was new and would only admit that it was too narrow for the frame. Trust me, the mattress had sub-standard firmness. We stayed at seven hotels on this trip and six of the mattresses were fine. This one wasn't. A shame, too, because otherwise, we liked this place. It's in a quiet town convenient to lovely Chambery and does have a certain - here's that word again - charm. And it should because it's not cheap (June. 2014 price: 182 euros B&B). My suggestion: Ask to see your room on check-in and do a quick mattress test. (One more positive that needs mentioning: The free wifi reception here was excellent, best on our trip. We had consistent, uninterrupted iPad performance in our room. None of our other places of lodgings could say the same.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroWhenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of wight
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am amazed at the negative review below......? We stayed here for a week at the end of May with Travel Editions with a group of 23 others. Our large, light and sunny room was also across the garden, (we imagine they get block bookings at a good rate?) but it was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and decorated and had a good shower over the bath. The towels were changed every day.

Wonderful views to the mountains from our window. We had half-board and the set menu was of a very high standard (a lot of hotels in France do set menu's) beautifully presented and the wine list was extensive - but not cheap!! We had a 'wine tasting' conducted by the owner, which was also very good. The chef was happy to oblige me with alternatives on some evenings because of my dietary needs.

Everyone in our party seemed very happy with everything...we would return here and thoroughly recommend!!

Room Tip: Room 52 in the annexe has two windows, so good mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wightbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived at the chateau, and were greeted by a female receptionist, who was all welcoming and smiling... until the point where I handed her a Groupon voucher. The smile fell off her face so fast I feared it would hit the desk. She took the voucher from me as though it were printed on used toilet roll, muttered to herself a little, then showed us, literally, to the servants quarters. I say 'showed', she actually just took us outside, and pointed in the general direction of our room.
It would seem that the management has failed to explain to this lady that the whole point of Groupon is to get people in to try the hotel, with a view to them returning at a later date.

It's a beautiful hotel, but the atmosphere is very stuffy. By contrast, the chap who took us on our wine-tasting session (Free with our peasant's Groupon voucher) was friendly and very informative, and a credit to the hotel.

We considered having dinner there, but there's no menu, it's just a set menu for the evening, with only two choices on it, neither of which were very appealing.
The room itself was small and dusty, and it was missing handles and a lock on the sliding bathroom door, I had to claw at it like an animal to get it open, and the shower fitting above the bath was broken; not what I would expect in a place that would normally cost over 200 euros per night. It's no wonder they are only a 3-star establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmetyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed for sadly just one night en-route to Italy. Fantastic experience - friendly fast check in, offer to visit their own wine cellar and tasting (very good, and bought some wine there): very nice bedroom, with a four poster bed, and good food. Most beautiful grounds, gardens, and great views of the mountains. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ONSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londerzeel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

a "one night stay" on the way to ski , that was the pupose. very nice reception. an exceptional wine cellar, and a short introduction to wone tasting offered by the hotel. the dinner was of average quality. the room was really ok and the quality of the bed super, as wel as the breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a vaw on the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulCroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challes-les-Eaux
3.3 mi away
Hotel des Princes
Hotel des Princes
#2 of 23 in Chambery
593 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Maison Rouge
La Maison Rouge
#1 of 1 in Barberaz
253 reviews
5.4 mi away
Le Chateau de Candie
Le Chateau de Candie
#4 of 23 in Chambery
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Chambery sud Challes les Eaux
Ibis Budget Chambery sud Challes...
#2 of 4 in Challes-les-Eaux
251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kyriad Chambery Centre - Curial
3.5 mi away
Petit Hotel Confidentiel
Petit Hotel Confidentiel
#1 of 23 in Chambery
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Comtes de Challes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Comtes de Challes

Property: Chateau des Comtes de Challes
Address: 247 Montee du Chateau, 73190 Challes-les-Eaux, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Challes-les-Eaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Challes-les-Eaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau des Comtes de Challes 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 15th Century castle, a hotel since 1860, is an invitation into a romantic park of 10 acres overlooking the magnificent valley of Challes les Eaux spa resort. Outdoor swimming-pool, casino 300 m and thermal baths 150 m from the hotel. Business meals, weddings, etc... And 7 seminary rooms can accommodate up to 350 people. Enjoy staying in the refined setting of a fortified residence. 3 Historical buildings divided into 54 bedrooms and suites with epoque furniture. Come to experience the charms of a historical residence. Enjoy the professional organisation of your business meals meetings and seminars. Only 5 minutes from Chambery, the historical capital city of Savoy, 20 km from Aix-Les-Bains, just one hour from Lyon and Geneva, on the way to the French ski resort. The Castle is opened every day, all year long. You will be delighted to participate to Seminars, Weddings and others treatments at the spa in Challes les Eaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Comtes de Challes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Comtes De Challes Hotel Challes-Les-Eaux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing