We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts, great food, great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Michelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalet Michelle
Ranked #3 of 4 Venosc B&B and Inns
west mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts, great food, great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I can only echo the praise of the other reviewers for Chalet Michelle. Our hosts, Michelle and Bryan looked after our every need, served up fantastic food at breakfast and evening meal and shared their local knowledge of the area and cycling climbs to make sure we managed rides within our ability level.
The view from the chalet is breathtaking and would take a while to tire of, while the chalet itself is comfortable,clean and cosy.
Be warned about the steady climb back from Bourg if you're cycling, but in all honesty if you're climbing the alps then it's just a mere pinprick.
It would be hard to find a better base for cycling or walking in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p7fella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Michelle as one stop on our honeymoon. Bryan and Michelle were great hosts, with fantastic knowledge of cycling in the area, help with rental bike problems, good food, recommendations of day trips (hiking and biking). They really went out of their way to make our stay special. When they found out it was our honeymoon, they opened a bottle of champagne for us! Michelle recorded the Tour stage each day to watch when we were out riding or hiking. I also met Bryan by chance on a ride up Galibier, and he loaned me 10 euros to buy some food to keep from bonking! They also will provide rides cheaply to/from Bourg D'Oisan, making it easy to stay in Venosc if you don't have a car and don't feel like biking every time. Also, the views from the rooms are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Chalet Michelle in July 2012, using it as a base for the Marmotte. Brian and Michelle were the perfect hosts - the accommodation and food were great and only bettered by the wealth of information regarding cycling and the local area.

What chalet owner would record a stage of the tour for you to watch after the Marmotte, provide celebratory champagne and take you out on a 'recovery' ride the next day? Just brilliant!

One word of warning though... don't try and hold onto Brian's back wheel on a climb or follow him down a descent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Seven of us stayed at chalet Michelle in June 2012 for 4 nights on a cycling trip. Brian picked us up from Lyon with all our bike boxes and immediately made us feel very welcome, telling us about the local area. The chalet was really excellent, rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the views were truly stunning. Michelle was also very welcoming and knowledgeable, and they recommended a number of climbs and descents that we would not have otherwised known about or tried, all of which were great. We chose to eat in on 3 of the nights and were rewarded with large quantities of fantastic, filling and healthy food (and the wine was good too). The breakfasts were just what was needed for some hungry calorie requiring cyclists, with the home made banana muffins a real highlight.

The bikes were kept safe in the garage next door, and the only downside to the chalet being the last 500 foot climb back to the chalet with weary legs, but it made the views spectacular!

I would wholeheartedly recommend this chalet for any group of cyclists looking to take on some of the great alpine climbs. Hosts were great, food fantastic, clean and amazing cycling!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gareth-harris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed with Bryan and Michelle for a few days on a short break for cycling. This is a great place to stay and we'd really recommend it. They are very welcoming, extremely helpful and accommodating and good conversationalists. The food was good and it was great to be able to get a good cup of tea. If you are interested in a home away from home, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

A combination of wonderful hospitality, great food and comfortable surroundings make this the ideal base for skiing Les Deux Alpes. Situated in the pretty village of Venosc and linked via telecabine to the ski area it combines gallic charm with high and challenging skiing. Overall possibly the best week I have enjoyed in 30 years of skiing!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Hosts Michelle and Bryan have ten years of experience welcoming skiiers, cyclists, hikers, and mountain enthusiasts from all over the world. You cannot do better for friendly,local knowledge and good value, well-positioned accommodation. We have stayed in many chalets in the French Alps and this is up there with the best. The only thing missing for me was a bathtub to soak in at the end of a tough day but then I am a bit of a princess.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonTickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venosc
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chalet Mounier
Hotel Chalet Mounier
#1 of 45 in Les Deux-Alpes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Hotel de la Muzelle
0.1 mi away
Chalet Morville
Chalet Morville
#1 of 4 in Venosc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Les 2 M
1.8 mi away
Hotel au Bon Accueil
Hotel au Bon Accueil
#4 of 4 in Venosc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Champ Du Moulin
Le Champ Du Moulin
#1 of 2 in Venosc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Michelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Michelle

Property: Chalet Michelle
Address: La Ville | Venosc, 38520 Venosc, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Venosc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Venosc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Michelle is situated in the beautiful unspoilt village of Venosc, all rooms have stunning views across the Veneon Valley to the Muzelle glacier at 3400 m and the Ecrins National Park. Chalet Michelle is ideally positioned for both summer and winter activities. The resort of Les 2 Alpes is just a 7 minute gondola ride away and the Alpe d’Huez climb is only 20 minutes by bike. An authentic and charming artisan village, Venosc offers bars, restaurants and interesting shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Michelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing