We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine De Clairefontaine
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome from the young lady on reception who took us to our room (in the annex) and explained everything very well. After unpacking we sat on a terrace at the front of the main building enjoying a relaxing drink and the wonderful grounds. The dinner was excellent and the service efficient and breakfast the following day was very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    80
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
124
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The 4 star hotel is well situated in a quiet area a few miles south of Vienne with some nice landscaping. We were allocated a room in the Annexe as the main rooms (cheaper) were taken by a wedding party. The room was excellent; large, nice bathroom, separate loo and a small terrace surrounded by greenery. Worth noting that the TV did not have any English channels but to be honest, you won't be here to watch the goggle box. There's free wi-fi so you can catch up with news via your iPad. One (seemingly silly) criticism is that the bath is too big. Fill it and you can't put your feet against the end so you simply can't relax else you would go under. OK for two though! We picked this hotel for the Michelin starred restaurant and we weren't disappointed. Amongst the various options we went for the 69E menu which was starter, main, dessert and some small items in between. Excellent food and service. It's a nice hour's drive to Lyon and all its attractions and quite close to Vienne that is fantastic to walk round and includes a FANTASTIC Roman archeological museum which is worth every centime of the admission fee. As I said, not cheap but very good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phils_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nor far south after Vienne ( France), you can find the beautiful " Domaine de Clairefontaine" in the small hilly village of Chonas-L'amballan.
The hotel is actually a splendid house from 1780, located in a green and large part, away from everything.
Of course, the room ( in the new building) are perfect, cosy and well decorated.
More importantly, the food is great, be for a simple lunch or a lavish gourmet dinner!
On top, the service is perfect, friendly and efficient.
The best memory of our summer holidays this year!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new building ! ( more expensive but also more comfortable) make sure you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHERIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The reason to stay is to experience the restaurant which has one Michelin star and is a real treat. The hotel portion itself is okay but the overall facility needs more to do when one is not eating. It is situated in a quiet parkland setting in a very sleepy little town not far off major highways. In that it is convenient as a transition point. The room was very nice and comfortable and was located in a dormitory type building beside the main old house which houses the restaurant. The place desperately needs to invest in a pool and they have lots of room to install it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cankenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We choose this hotel to accomodate us during the jazz festival in Vienne, but have been quite dissapointed.

The hotel has two buildings: an older one with some character and charm, and a newer one. We stayed in the newer one.
I would not comment much about the architecture and design of the new building which I found boring, and very mixed (the bathrooms are very rustic, while the rest of the building is quite neutral in the design of its common areas and exterior facades).

What I really disliked was that they did not come to do the cleaning for 3 days in the row (meaning to change the garbage bins, and refill the toilet papers, etc.). Of course no vacuum cleaning. And they would have kept like that if not notified! Of course, the eceptionist blamed the cleaning women, but it shows no controlling and management.
Also, on the stairs it was a bad smell that continued until I personnaly opend the window as no one from the hotel personnel did.
Finally, the street noise was quite strong,

Regarding breakfast, there was another strange habitt at this hotel: they opened at 7:00 AM and closed the breakfast at 9:30 AM, which I found really strange as this is a hotel for people who are in holiday, so they could be allowed to have a late breakfast, say until 11:00 AM (as all other hotels that we visited had late breakfast).

In one of the evenings we had dinner at their restaurant (rated with one Michelin star). We have not been impressed by the food if compared to other one star Michelin restaurants, but service was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel.
I arrived very late due to flight problems.
Staff were superb organising me food even thought the restaurant was closed.
I was made to feel special and relaxed after a difficult day.
Rooms large and very clean - great bathroom.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. The ambiance of the place is great. Food and service was outstanding. We arrived late, but the staff was ready with refreshments, red wine, cheeses and other treats, all without asking. While enjoying our refreshments they arranged our rooms and took our luggage without us being aware of anything. The breakfast buffet and service was great, but you need to take your time to enjoy all the local treats that are offered. The kitchen from what I understand uses local produce and makes all its dishes from scratch. The grounds are great to stroll around in. I even took a nice run in the surrounding area. Feels safe. We enjoyed the food market on the Saturday in Vienne, I highly recommend it for food lovers. Vienne is pretty little town and has some real nice restaurants and shops. Prices are so much more affordable here than for example in Paris. Taxi service was great. Why only one Michelin star? Should be two. I have dined at several Michelin restaurants and Mr. Girardons restaurant in my opinion should be considered for another star. The sommelier was very knowledgeable. Domaine De Clairfontaine gives a sense of family but with a touch of royalty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chonas-l'Amballan
2.5 mi away
Le Beau Rivage
Le Beau Rivage
#1 of 2 in Condrieu
313 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Pyramide
La Pyramide
#1 of 6 in Vienne
81 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Domaine des Vignes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
#1 of 6 in Chasse-sur-Rhone
559 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel La Gabetiere
Hotel La Gabetiere
#1 of 2 in Pont-Eveque
89 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ibis Lyon Sud Vienne Saint Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine De Clairefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine De Clairefontaine

Property: Domaine De Clairefontaine
Address: Chemin des Fontanettes, 38121 Chonas-l'Amballan, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Chonas-l'Amballan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chonas-l'Amballan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine De Clairefontaine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine De Clairefontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De Clairefontaine France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing