We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel, we'll be back for a longer stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carros
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, we'll be back for a longer stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel was one the best on our 4 week trip around Europe. We, being a family of four, stayed here for one night. We wish we could have stayed longer as the room/apartment was excellent. The hotel has a very nice swimming pool that the kids loved to use. The service from the hotel staff was exceptional, including the housekeeping staff. No problems finding it with our GPS.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 594sanderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
21
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

An earlier poster stated the distance from the hotel to Nice as being 12km, however that is only to the outer western city limit. To the centre of Nice Google maps shows just over 25km, and this is the most meaningful distance as most tourists will want to visit the old town or port, for the beaches, shops and restaurants.

I’d also recommend that you use Google maps to check the driving distances to the other sights you plan to visit (e.g.. Grasse, Antibes, Cannes, the Aquapark at Antibes, Saint-Jean-Cap-Ferat, Menton or Monte Carlo) because staying in Carros can add to the driving distance.

Like another poster, my SatNav also failed to locate the address. Fortunately Google Maps on my mobile phone helped.

Also note that when driving from Carros to Nice center, you have two choices a) to take the motorway and leave at Nice Est and pay a small toll, or b) take the non-toll highways and experience a higher degree of traffic as you enter Nice. Tried both several times and much preferred the motorway.

The hotel has a restaurant, but this is rarely open in the evenings and seems to be mainly used for special events such as weddings and conferences. I don’t know if breakfast or lunch was available, but assume it was open for these meals. The closest restaurant and the one recommended by Lou Castelet, is the Promotel hotel that is a few minutes by car and may be part of the same group. Their food was competent and reasonably priced, but not inspiring, however the waiters were very friendly and gave good service.

So again we come back to the distance. If you, like us, prefer to eat out in the evenings when on holiday then you may prefer to stay closer to the centre where there is abundant choice and the possibility to avoid driving after a meal. We found the location rather limiting - usually after a day out we like to come back and shower and change before heading out for a meal, but driving during the day and taking another 50km roundtrip to eat out was not something that I wanted to do every day.

If you prefer to cook at home or accept the occasional trip to the Promotel restaurant, then the Lou Castelet may be a good choice. However, the prices of the apartments are comparable to what you could pay in Nice, so other than the cold water swimming pool at Lou Castelet it's difficult to see the advantages.

We booked last minute and took pot luck. The apartment (2 double bedrooms costing 175€/night) was large enough and had all the equipment to make a simple meal (no oven). It was clean and we appreciated that the housekeeper came in each morning to make the beds, replace towels and fix clean the bathroom.

However, both I and my son found the beds to be hard and the pillows too thin - which affected my ability to sleep. We also found it hard to adjust to sheets again rather than duvets. There is a TV (no English channels) and a DVD player. There is free internet in the room which is generally adequate although the speed is patchy, and it sometimes stops for 10 minutes or so.

From our experience few of the staff speak basic English. Not a major problem in itself unless you need help.

A Lidl supermarket is 5 minutes by car and a big Carrefour 15 minutes away. Petrol stations can be found also on the main Nice to Carros highway (not the motorway) just 10 minutes from the hotel.

Overall the apartment was OK but not great value for money - we've stayed in nicer private apartments in Nice for cheaper. So next time we will stay in Nice centre and also have the freedom to enjoy the sights and a relaxing drink at a cafe in the evenings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOB777877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 14 days in August in this hotel. Great place for family vacation. Only 12km from Nice - aprox 20min to Promenade des Anglais. Large rooms, private balcony, entrance to grounds and parking place under security code access. Good swiming pool. Really, really helpful staff. Extended breakfast offer in a pleasantly price (7€/person). We had room (426) at second floor and big satisfaction. Plus is a own kitchen (for those who need it). Just only one mistake - sometimes problem with wifi connection in later time (f.ex. from 19 hour). Luxury price in a high season - for South France. We will return next year. Absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our troubles with this hotel started with our trying to find it! Even our GPS had trouble and we found if we missed a turn on one of the round-abouts, we had to go some distance before we could turn around! The hotel is a good place for families - lots of room inside and out and a nice swimming pool. Our room was poor. It was not clean - walls, fixtures, floors, greasy kitchen - and badly in need of renovations. The room was very hot and the AC was not turned on so the window had to be left open. Uncomfortable beds, flat pillows and shabby linens and towels added to our discomfort. We were there on a weekend and people were coming and going throughout the night. The gedroom window was on the back of the building and as well as the "people noise", we kept hearing something that sounded like a van door opening and closing. In the morning we discovered it was the noise of an elevator door (from the outer backside of the building) opening and closing all night long. Everyone coming and going to the back side of the building seemed to use this one elevator. Had we planned to use the kitchen we would have been very upset to find absolutely nothing in the way of dishes, pots and pans etc. The hotel did not seem to be full, but we certainly felt we had been given the bottom of the bottom room. Night time reception was in a different building some distance away so we did not check to see if a different room was available. The location would have been good if the hotel had been better, but we felt it was out of the way for a substandard hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Chose this hotel for second week of our vacation to explore the highlands and villages of the surrounding area after a fabulous week on the beach in Menton. While there is nothing very exciting about Carros, it is close enough to the area attractions (Vence, Tourette de Loup etc) and is only 20 mins from Nice. Hotel was great for the family, spacious and well kitted out apartments (AC, kitchen, large balcony) and very nice pool area.

Vence, St Paul and Tourette are great places to visit, but would skip Grasse.

There are supermarkets nearby (Lidl is closest, but much nicer ones in nearby Gautierres and St Jeanette) and wonderful markets in Vence. There is also a local butchers and bakery a short walk up the hill from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

The location is farther from NIce than they would have you believe. It takes a good 1/2 hour to get to Nice. It is fairly convenient to the paege and that is important in the area. The rooms are nice enough although could do with a new coat of pai

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mittensam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is a little tucked out of the way. Apart from that is there nothing to fault. It was clean, spacious had all the facilities and utensils required.

We used it as a base for exploring the Nice area and small villages around Carros. It was a short 20 mins drive to the Promenade des Anglais, which is free to park on after 7pm. Monaco wasn't far to drive either.

The self catering facilities made it a cheap stay. Everything worked and was clean. The bed was two singles pushed together, but they were comfortable enough. The shutters on the windows meant the room was cool, although a pretty powerful air con unit would have solved the heat issue if it was needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carros
0.2 mi away
Promotel
Promotel
#1 of 2 in Carros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Servotel Castagniers
5.1 mi away
La Vigneraie
La Vigneraie
#1 of 2 in Levens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel du Baou
Hotel du Baou
#1 of 1 in La Gaude
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#5 of 13 in Vence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere

Property: Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere
Address: 728 Route Metropolitaine N 1, 06510 Carros, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Carros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Lou Castelet Restaurant Residence Hoteliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing