We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small paradise with wonderful wonderful owners - will return as soon as possible.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aubagne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostellerie de la Source
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Aubagne
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
342 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A small paradise with wonderful wonderful owners - will return as soon as possible.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

During a two week stay in Gemenos, we needed to spend three nights at a nearby hotel, and, luckily, chose the hotel "de la Source". The setting is magic - swans, tennis, covered swimming pool, a beautiful garden with 800 year old boxwood hedges, beneficial and ancient waters from a Roman aqueduct, and a couple who are so, so charming and thoughtful. We stayed at one of the adjacent bungalows with a private terrace. The wifi coverage does not include the bungalows, so we took our computers to the terrace by the main hotel as needed. The location is very convenient for Marseille, Cassis, and all the beauty of the locale. My son and I both loved it, and very much enjoyed learning the history of the church and the property. Hope to return soon. Book in advance, as 'the Source' has many regular guests; do read the history of the property which can be found on the desk in the rooms.

Room Tip: Wifi in the main hotel is available, not in the bungalow rooms. There are church bells which ring p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_Antle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
26
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Simple clean place if a little dated. But the charm of the grounds on a summers evening and the welcome of the hosts puts any doubts behind you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Hostellerie de la Source is located outside of Aubagne. By car it takes a couple of minutes to the city, to the Centre Commercial and to access the autoroute. The beaches of Cassis, La Ciotat and Bandol can be reached within 30 - 40 minutes by car.
It's a peaceful place with a little lake and swans, a nice terrace and lovely pool area.
The room we stayed in was nice and clean. It could have been a little more spacious. The bathroom was perfectly clean as well and pleasant.
The owners/ hosts have been VERY friendly, obliging and helpful in every situation! Since we were visiting a lot of places in the surrounding area, we often returned late which wasn't a problem at all.
A nice breakfast selection is offered as well.
We did enjoy a very nice stay at the hostellerie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We loved this little hotel . Service was superb and the room and bathroom was huge with all amenities.
The manageress was so helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Cheshire is right - the showers are hand held and the bathrooms may be old fashioned, but the positives more than outweight the negatives (which are minor anyway).

My wife and I stated here for three nights at the end of August. We ate in the hotel restaurant (it has a selected menu for the week with additional courses available on Friday and Saturday) and it was fantastic. It always strikes me - having come from such an expensive city as Dublin - how wonderfully good value meals are in many places in France: and of a high quality too.

The hotel is a lovely wee place and everyone working there was very friendly. If I were in Arles again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

It gets my vote!

  • Liked — Location, pool and good restaurant.
  • Disliked — Pink tiles in the bathroom!
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't arrive in a 4x4. Access to carpark is via narrow lane.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

I regularly stay at this hotel on business, and after the initial shock of it not being a business style hotel (i.e. it's not brand spanking new) I have come to love this hotel. I think it is a family run place (there are always people sitting around in the staff living room and a couple of friendly old dogs wandering about). During the summer you have breakfast on the terrace outside, and there is also a swimming pool and jacuzzi. It is such a relaxing place, a perfect retreat after work. The only downsides are the showers (old fashioned hand held style with no shower curtains) and the fact that there is no restaurant (except by booking for 10+ people). However, there are a handful of good restaurants in Gemenos about 5 minutes' drive away, and the shower thing is a very small price to pay for being in such calm, relaxing grounds with wonderful friendly staff.
All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere and surroundings
  • Disliked — Basic showers, no restaurant, no lift (but only 3 storeys)
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummysistersandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubagne
1.8 mi away
Relais d'Aubagne Hotel
Relais d'Aubagne Hotel
#2 of 6 in Aubagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Logis Le Mas de l'Etoile
2.2 mi away
Hotel Souleia
Hotel Souleia
#1 of 6 in Aubagne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Relais de la Magdeleine
1.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Aubagne Les Paluds Agora
4.8 mi away
Apparthotel la Girafe
Apparthotel la Girafe
#1 of 3 in La Penne-sur-Huveaune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de la Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Source

Property: Hostellerie de la Source
Address: Saint-Pierre-les-Aubagne, 13400 Aubagne, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aubagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Aubagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Source 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing