We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faded grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“faded grandeur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it did the job. We had a room at the front with great views of the Seine and a nice balcony.Everything was fine - bedroom and bathroom were a good size and bed comfortable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    24
    14
    13
See reviews for
14
33
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The restaurant of this hotel has only one defect : the stereotyped , impersonal architecture of a building designed in the style of French architect Auguste Perret , a specialist in reinforced concrete whose impact on Normandy’s post-World War II reconstruction is unfortunately immense . Yet waiters are courteous and efficient. Menus are excellent and affordable , and the restaurant enjoys a wonderful view of the Seine

Room Tip: Since this is a review of the restaurant, I would suggest chosing a table with a view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel certainly enjoys great views over the River Seine. It is well placed for all town amenities. It is apparent that the owners have embarked on an extensive redecoration programme but sadly our room had yet to be tackled: it was small and the ensuite was tiny and quite awkward particularly for tall clients. Cannot complain about the service and the breakfast was adequate. Did not sample the dining room which looks to have been redecorated recently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuzechSpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed as a small group, visiting nearby gardens and sights in Normandy.
The situation is perfect, on the banks of the Seine and was within fairly short distances of our chosen locations.
All our party agreed that the hotel was very good in many respects.The rooms were traditionally furnished with very comfortable beds, those on the front having lovely views of the river. Bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean with lots of hot water and a good supply of towels.
The meals were good, well presented and the portions were generous.
The manager/owner and his staff were very welcoming, providing us with excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgran_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have stayed here many times over the years, and have always been very pleased. The owners are trying very hard to constantly improve what was an ailing hotel, and have just about succeeded. The restaurant is excellent, with great views of the River Seine. The bedrooms are small, and do vary in comfort. But, they have what you need, and I always sleep well. Poor storage areas though, not much more than a hanging rail. Caudebec is pleasant enough, not much to see or do, but plenty in the immediate vicinity so it's a good base for a few days touring in Normandy.

Room Tip: Ask for river view, and a terrace if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MijasMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Rooms are small a bit cramped & I am sure I could smell cigarettes, even though the room should have been non smoking. Bathroom facilities en-suite are OK but again a little cramped, fine for short stays. Restaurant looks like it's been decorated since last time I was here and mostly the food was OK, however, I did get one main that was actually cold.

There's some parking out the front & a larger car park to the rear, there's a couple of small bars in the nearby market area and nice views out the front of the river.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millhouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

The room was clean, airy and freshly decorated in marine style , with river views; but we were not told that the hotel would be closing on our second night. The restaurant was also stylishly prepared but it all went wrong when the food arrived. My husband's meal was acceptable.My first course, a salad, was a disgrace. The lettuce was mostly brown but there was a large lump of black, decomposed lettuce also on the plate. For the main course I ordered sea bream. When it came it looked old/reheated and I was not able to cut into it; the vegetables were tired in appearance. After leaving the restaurant to complain, I was offered monkfish as a replacement with the assurance that it would be fresh. It was acceptable but the vegetables were still grey. It would seem that they had been prepared well in advance and kept hot or reheated. Do they not know that this is very dangerous, especially with rice? The cheese course was delicious and the pudding acceptable and nicely presented.
A question: - why does every single dish (except the pudding) have to be served with a sprinkling of curry powder around the plate? It is not necessary and only confuses the palate. French cheese usually speaks for itself! Fortunately I was not asked to pay for my meal on leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMKRye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caudebec-en-Caux hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caudebec-en-Caux
0.2 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#1 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Flormandie
Hotel Le Flormandie
#1 of 1 in Notre-Dame-de-Gravenchon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Auberge du Val au Cesne
3.0 mi away
La Croisiere
La Croisiere
#1 of 1 in Louvetot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Relais d'Etretat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normotel Restaurant La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normotel Restaurant La Marine

Property: Normotel Restaurant La Marine
Address: 18 quai Guilbaud, 76490 Caudebec-en-Caux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Caudebec-en-Caux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Caudebec-en-Caux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Normotel Restaurant La Marine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Normotel Restaurant La Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing