We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super views”
Review of Le Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Normandie
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed here for the last 3 times we have driven to south west France as our first stop on way down and last on way back. Unfailingly helpful and friendly staff...we asked for extra pillows this time and delivered to our room while we were at dinner. Basic amenities but then it is a basic price. We ask for the room called "Calvados" if we can as it is on a corner and has 2 large windows over looking the Seine and a side street and can provide through breeze and is very light. Excellent invigorating shower and we have always found room comfortable and very clean. Superb views of the Seine and the very large commercial and pleasure boats on the river. Breakfast is extra as seems to be the norm and it was good with croissants etc. The restaurant is very elegant but can at times present style over taste and at times we walk into the town instead.. Although once day trippers have left there is plenty of parking fronting on to the river there is a small private car park and back entrance which is very convenient and felt okay about leaving bike on back of car

Room Tip: Pick end rooms facing the Seine..and 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked into this hotel for a couple of nights stay - my husband went to have a shower and rushed out as there was not control working on the cold tap and so he got scalded quite badly. I was trying to dress for dinner, but they sent a lady up to inspect the shower and decided it could be mended, so I resorted to just applying makeup as I couldn't undress and dress again waiting for the workman! He came, he then left for some tools, returning about twice whereupon he decided he couldn't repair it so the upshot was that we had to move rooms - having just unpacked everything we weren't that pleased! The room they put us into was a family one with bunk beds, plus the previous occupants had been smokers. They apologised - but I think that when occupancy changes over a room check should be made. No adjustment was made to our bill so we definitely wouldn't stay there again. The breakfast was very expensive and not that wonderful compare to other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Caudebec-en-Caux is on the River Seine and at this point, it has a promenade just like a seaside town. The hotel fronts onto this promenade and there are attractive gardens and walks along the riverbank. Many of the hotel rooms overlook the river with balcony doors in the very traditional French style. The hotel is not expensive and the breakfast is very French in style, so I’d recommend staying here, but it is better to eat out, as when the restaurant gets busy, service slows down, although the staff were very pleasant and we were there.

Room Tip: As for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and having enjoyed the restaurant so much we decided to have a stop again on our journey North.
I agree with the previous reviewer who enjoyed this old style Logis. The rooms are clean, comfortable and functional. The price for the room is very reasonable so you can not expect the "extras" you might find in a 4 or 5 star hotel. However the view of the River Seine and the many barges passing up the river more than make up for the lack of "extras" as does the wonderful food produced by the owner/chef.
With a nice warm welcome and friendly staff this is an excellent stopover hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Dated, furnishings threadbare, carpets stained. Not one of your modern day newly renovated or newly built Logis monstrosities with bland corporate uniformed staff that seem to be replacing Logis with character all over France. We were starting to think that none of the old fashioned Logis still existed , so this was a great find. Clean rooms, comfortable beds (pillows were a bit hard but we overlooked that in our excitement!), great functionality and everything worked. Add to that the good old fashion service that was always part of the old Logis, a great dinner menu and The Seine so close to your bedroom window you can almost touch it, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great room with dual aspect windows overlooking the Seine. The room style was simple but it was all we needed! It was easy to park in the hotel car park and the staff were absolutely charming. The location of the hotel is great for restaurants, cafes and sitting in the sun, drinking French wine!

Room Tip: We loved our room CALVADOS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckyweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We tried Le Normandie as our regular Logis in Caudebec-en-Caux was full. We could forgive the hotel for looking a little jaded, cigarette smoke lingering in the corridors and patches of damp in the bedroom, as long as the food was good. It was excellent but towards the end of the meal the waitress knocked the bottle of wine over me. It was an accident and she was profusely sorry but there was no offer of any kind of recompense, such as a coffee or digestif on the house. I naievely thought she might tell the manager and a deduction made off the bill in the morning. No such luck. No apology offered, infact the manager's wife proceeded to refuse to acknowledge that the hotel was at fault and was really quite unpleasant. It didn't matter to her that the stain on my sweater may never come out. She was so rude that only a threat of not paying the bill brought her to her senses and whilst I am grateful that the full bottle of wine was removed from the bill, it wasn't what I wanted or expected - a simple offer of a free coffee and humbleness would have won me over. Whilst the waitress was lovely, she clearly too needs guidance on customer service when things go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normandie7623, Propriétaire at Le Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011
Google Translation

madame

le jour de votre depart je vous ai préciser que je ne travailler pas le soir quand vous avez manger dans notre établissement donc je n'étais pas au courant de ce qu'avait fait notre employée et pour ma part n'oublie pas que je vous ai offert la bouteille de vin donc un geste commercial de notre part et je pense que tout le monde peux faire des erreurs comme vous me l'avais présicer. j'espere vous revoir un jour dans notre établissement car j'ai tellement été surprise quand vous me l'avez expliqué .avec toutes nos excuses pour ce mal entendu

cordialement loisel delphine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caudebec-en-Caux
0.1 mi away
Le Cheval Blanc
Le Cheval Blanc
#2 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
Normotel Restaurant La Marine
#1 of 2 in Caudebec-en-Caux
87 reviews
6.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Yvetot
B&B Hotel Yvetot
#2 of 3 in Yvetot
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Auberge du Val au Cesne
7.7 mi away
Hotel Le Flormandie
Hotel Le Flormandie
#1 of 1 in Notre-Dame-de-Gravenchon
33 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Normandie

Address: 19 quai Guilbaud, 76490 Caudebec-en-Caux, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Caudebec-en-Caux
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Caudebec-en-Caux
Price Range: $85 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Normandie 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Le Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing