We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great coquilles st jacques”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Estaminet

L'Estaminet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $37
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great coquilles st jacques”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

nice neighborhood restaurant with a comfortable feel and good food. service was fairly good and pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    64
    21
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albergen, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The cook of L'estaminet is good. Whe liked the menu's and it was not expensive. The desserts were excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This restaurant in the idyllic town of Sainte-Marie-du-Mont is everything one would want from a trip to the Normandy coast. The restaurant is warm, welcoming and serves fanatstic local food with artisanal twists. The wait staff were very pleasant and tolerant of my broken French. My husband and I were surrounded by locals, always a good sign! The restaurant offers either a fanatsic prix fixed menu or a build-your-own. I came to the Normandy coast with the intent of having oysters and this was teh place. As an appateizer I had the oysters which were grilled, and topped with a creamy cheese, smoked duck and apples soaked and cooked in cider. The smeell was heavenly, the flavor was divine. For the maine course I had teh salmon which was topped with a fantastic curry rub and served with pasta and creamy Camembert sause. The dessert brought tears to my eyes. It consisted of cooked apples toppic with an incredibly rich panna cotta, topped with the local salted butter caramel and whipped cream. The wine list was also very good and all for a very reasonable price.

Oh, and if that wasn't enough, its about a mile from Utah beach and across the street from several key historic sites from the intial D-Day landings.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Circe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant Would Recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was the only restaurant open on Monday night in the area. It has authentic local cuisine with good presentation. We were warmly welcome and I would go back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wish we had a restaurant like this in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been visiting Normandy on a regular basis for some years and always try to get to L'estaminet. We find that it is always wise to book a table as it is very popular. We have always had a very good meal and last weeks was no exception. Its not exactly fine dining, but what you get is fabulous rustic local cooking - you will not leave feeling hungry. It is not cheep, but well worth paying slightly more for the great food. The service is excellent, they don't rush you, but no massive wait between courses. We will definitely be there next time we are in Normandy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estaminet also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
 

Been to L'Estaminet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing