We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camping Port'Land(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)(Great Value!)
$41
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel de la Marine(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Chateau La Cheneviere(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$605
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Omaha(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eisenhower(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine de l'Hostreiere(Colleville-sur-Mer)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Matelot(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
6.3 Resto Home(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Les Hortensias(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
177
303
128
39
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
303
128
39
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursetour groupomaha beachprivilege roomplay golfnormandy beachesnice hotelgolf resortlower floorswimming poolenjoyed my staycannot commentbreakfast roomfour star hotelbrittany ferriesd day beachescold meats
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 657 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is our second trip to Omaha Beach so it certainly isn't 'bad' in any sense. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are more than adequate, although ours was lacking in hangers when we arrived and the air-com wasn't working both issues were quickly resolved.

Breakfast is fine. Pretty standard French breakfast but with the option of scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage for UK tastes.

Dinner wasn't special but, for the money, probably about adequate (just).

So....whats the problem? Its all 'ok' but you don't get any feeling that its special and, once you add in golf and dinner, it's not cheap.

It's also very popular with groups, both golfing and those visiting the war-sites/beaches/cemetaries etc. This is fine but groups can be (and were) loud, including one American group which insisted on 'whooping and hollering' late one night. Sadly (as is all too common now) the hotel did..............absolutely............NOTHING about it.

The golf however is excellent. Both courses are outstanding and the (so-called) lesser Manoir course is, in my view, probably more fun to play...not easier though. There are some tough carries from the tee! Both courses are in top class condition.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sir, dear Madam,
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.
Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice hotel and a great location. Staff is friendly. I thought my AC wasn't working in the night so I called the reception and the gentleman came immediately and resolved my problem. Had dinner here at the hotel (was part of a group tour travelling through France) and the arrangements were superb. My room was absolutely in the corner, and so it was also smaller than other rooms and I did not like it so much. But there are many other better rooms available with nice views, available here. I will recommend this hote.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner rooms because they feel too cut-off and some of them are smaller than the other rooms of this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayezad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.
We are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in Mercure Omaha Beach.
Yours sincerely.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As the name suggests, this hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the many sites associated with the Allied landings in June '44. It is thus frequented a lot by American tourists -- at least when we were there. The golf course surrounding the hotel would help, too, to attract visitors from overseas. As a hotel, the place is good enough, even if there are signs of tear and wear after a good 25 years in business. We lived in a duplex room -- our two teenage boys loved the upstairs bedroom -- which is smaller than it appears to be on the hotel's website but none the less pleasant for that. Excellent pool, a small sauna and fitness room, and a great breakfast buffet made our stay special. Also, if a 30 minute walk to the near-by port of Port-en-Bessain does not frighten you, make sure that you don't walk next to the main road but opt for the more scenic way by the coast; ask in the hotel and they will provide you with a map: excellent restaurants await you and what a wonderful hike!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalwayGeographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there over a long weekend at the end of May. The staff was simply a pleasure. They were helpful in booking restaurants, and recommending activities. We had booked a duplex room for connivence with our two children. The room did not disappoint, it was a great size with a nice layout. The location of the property is perfect for enjoying the beach or visiting all of the local war memorials. I would diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slynngermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
Bonjour, Nous vous remercions d'avoir partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor et nous sommes très heureux de constater que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes. Je transmets cet agréable avis à l'ensemble de mes collaborateurs.
Dans l'attente et le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we spent 3 days touring the D Day beaches and museums. We had a duplex room with a double bed on the lower floor and two singles on the first floor. The beds were fabulously comfortable and the bathroom looked reasonably recently refurbished. The breakfast room was sufficiently large that you could easily find a table and there were plenty of choices. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez pu pleinement profiter d'une de nos chambres "famille" et nous sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations : elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin de mieux vous satisfaire.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews