We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed there over a long weekend at the end of May. The staff was simply a pleasure. They were helpful in booking restaurants, and recommending activities. We had booked a duplex room for connivence with our two children. The room did not disappoint, it was a great size with a nice layout. The location of the property is perfect for enjoying the beach or visiting all of the local war memorials. I would diffidently stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slynngermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Bonjour, Nous vous remercions d'avoir partager votre expérience sur Tripadvisor et nous sommes très heureux de constater que votre séjour a répondu à vos attentes. Je transmets cet agréable avis à l'ensemble de mes collaborateurs.
Dans l'attente et le plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    228
    91
    28
    4
See reviews for
145
201
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My son and I stayed here when we spent 3 days touring the D Day beaches and museums. We had a duplex room with a double bed on the lower floor and two singles on the first floor. The beds were fabulously comfortable and the bathroom looked reasonably recently refurbished. The breakfast room was sufficiently large that you could easily find a table and there were plenty of choices. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez pu pleinement profiter d'une de nos chambres "famille" et nous sommes très sensibles à vos appréciations : elles nous encouragent à maintenir nos efforts afin de mieux vous satisfaire.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We only stayed for one day and would have liked to have stayed longer once we arrived, the room was comfortable, the bed and sheets were the best we have experienced in a hotel. The situation of the hotel with an easy walk to the port for a meal was great, the pool area, gardens and receptionist were all perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank spbgjbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions pour votre message. Nous ne manquerons pas de le partager avec nos équipes, pour lesquelles la satisfaction client est la principale préoccupation.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau au Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you want charm this is not the hotel for you, if you like modern and a peaceful green setting you may love this hotel.If you have read the other recent reviews you know it's on a golf course is quiet and has beautiful views. It is modern so has elevator The rooms are adequate if a little plain in the decor. Comfortable bed .Excellent WIFi free in the rooms. You need a car and a GPS but I cannot imagine traveling by car in Europe anywhere without one. One tip :you can download the Tom Tom app to your iPad and you don't need to be connected to the Internet. Breakfast overpriced which is frequently a problem in Hotels in Europe. We are not big breakfast eaters and often bring a cafetiere and use the kettle provided,just to have a cup of coffee before heading to a boulangerie for a yummy croissant.The small town nearby has a small selection of restaurants. Nothing spectacular but nice fresh sea food. Overall hotel is well located for visiting the beaches of Normandy and Bayeux. Also accepts dogs.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank toffeenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous tenons à vous remercier de votre aimable commentaire au sujet de notre hôtel.
Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié nos chambres ainsi que l'environnement de notre établissement.
Nous espérons vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement à l'Hôtel Mercure Omaha Beach.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good place to stop over around the Normandy area, room size was average, a bit too small to be squeezing in a coffee table and a sofa, not much room to move around, TV was awkwardly placed away from the bed. Nice modern furnishings and complete with necessities. Beautiful golf course view, it is not at the beach area, much more inland and have zero views of the beach. Breakfast was ok. Location wise, nothing around it, just an overnight stopover.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos commentaires suite à votre séjour dans notre hôtel. Ceux-ci ont été transmis à nos équipes afin de mettre en oeuvre les actions nécessaires pour remédier à ces désagréments. Vos observations sont très importantes car elles nous permettent d'améliorer nos prestations afin de vous apporter un service de qualité et de mieux répondre à vos attentes.
Concernant la localisation de l'hôtel, celui est certes en retrait de la ville mais bénéficie de la vue panoramique sur le Golf 36 trous d'Omaha Beach.
Dans l'attente du plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau. Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Responsable relations clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspendale, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed 1 night as part of a tour, large hotel, big comfy bed, clean, and quiet, it's not near anything as its on a golf course. Staff on checkin were polite and prompt.
Breakfast wasn't anything fantastic
If I was passing through here and wanted to play golf I would stay, the golf course looked impressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our first stop on our European tour. The hotel is very clean although the bathrooms are a bit odd. The shower is totally open to the rest of the bathroom and water goes everywhere. The beds are bit strange too but as we learned later on, they are all this way in Europe: a "king size" bed is 2 twin beds pushed together, every hotel was this way. A strange European custom apparently. The nearby restaurant overlooking the golf course was very good. The hotel breakfast was excellent. This hotel served as a base for our tour of the Normandy beaches and WW2 sites. It served us well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emp328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
4.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 23 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel d'Argouges
Hotel d'Argouges
#2 of 23 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Property: Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing