We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ok for beaches, not so much for town access” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
seattle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok for beaches, not so much for town access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to Normandy to tour the beaches-chose this hotel for location. Port-en-Bessin-Huppain is a drive away and doesn't offer many dining options. Bayeux is further but is a FAR BETTER location than this golf-oriented hotel.
Because of location, we ate there frequently as the default choice at the end of a day of touring. The restaurant was a "C" at best. Staff is nice but food leaves a lot to be desirec. Reception staff is friendly and helpful.
Rooms are quite small.
Breakfast is nice but adds 14Euro per person per day to your bill. This Mercure Hotel was far more expensive than the nicer Mercure facility we stayed in at Stratford-Upon-Avon.
My recommendation would definitely be to stay in a hotel in Bayeux - much better access to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciao-bg5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    252
    107
    34
    7
See reviews for
159
230
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The only thing that spoilt this hotel was the restaurant. The reception staff are excellent and speak English. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Breakfast in the hotel is good with a wide choice available. Golf courses are good and it is easy to get tee times. The restaurant however is below the standard one would expect. Service is slow and when coach parties are in it becomes really slow. The food is ok but not great for the prices charged. Nearby local restaurants are better value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We were in Europe on a WWII memorial tour, and the Mercure Hotel was very convenient to the beaches of Normandy. The staff was very friendly. There wasn't much lighting, so the room was very dark. The lights in the bathroom would come and go as if there were a short in the wiring. The hotel is situated on a beautiful golf course for those who like to play golf.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canakkale, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staff were very friendly & helpful.
Rooms were nicely decorated & well kept.
Close to the small town for restaurants etc..
Lovely surroundings, nice pool area and terrace where you can sit & enjoy a drink in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidIDBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Came upon the Mercure by chance when Brittany Ferry staff went on strike and we were diverted from Calais to Cherbourg. We arrived tired and late, without a reservation which was no problem for the staff who immediately booked us into the restaurant so we could eat. We stayed in a standard double room which was more than adequate for our overnight stop and would most certainly have stayed longer were we not already delayed in our return to the UK. The room was fresh, clean, large, modern with a lovely long balcony overlooking the beautifully landscaped pool area. The room had a kettle, tea and a hairdryer which was bliss and sadly not standard in comparatively priced French hotels. I have fybromyalgia and was starting to suffer badly after touring France for the previous week but I slept like a baby in the soft sheets and the most perfect hotel bed I have ever slept in. My only complaint would be that although there was soap and shampoo, there was no lotion for me to sample, I'm guessing that the company have done their research and found the habit unprofitable. The restaurant food was very good and the staff friendly, it was also less expensive than anticipated. Although we couldn't stay, there seemed to be an air of deep peace and satisfaction in the whole area which was well reflected at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portopunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
23.1 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Property: Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing