We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau La Cheneviere
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine de l'Hostreiere(Colleville-sur-Mer)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Saint-Patrice(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel La Rosiere(Tracy-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mogador(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
289
70
25
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
70
25
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla chenevieredining roommain buildingjunior suitebeautiful chateaud day beachesold treeslovely groundsluxury hotelnormandy regionmichelin starwonderful servicethe entire stafftwo nightsvisiting bayeuxfrench countrysidethis wonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 392 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four wonderful nights while touring the D-Day beaches. Everything and everyone are absolutely first class. As with many of the Small Luxury Hotel properties, one feels one is a guest in a country house rather than staying in a hotel. The grounds are lovely and the heated swimming pool a bonus for those visiting in the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_and_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Castle has extended grounds with the sea coming right up to the castle's gardens. I think the hotel needs a bit of restoration, there are things that for the price one pays, it should be kept a bit better. The sitting rooms (2) are confortable facing the lovely garden with sea view...the restaurant was not that special, the rooms are quiet (as the area has no traffic at all) very clean but a bit crackly, the floors are wood. The position of the hotel makes up for alot of little things that should be kept better for the price which is high. The restaurant is average.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in the hotel, therefore ask for either ground floor rooms if you have problem climbing stairs, or maximum first floor If you can afford it, ask for a room with sea view. (we had one on the first floor facing the entrance of the hotel).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMLeonTerzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am a partner in an organization which brings groups of visitors to Normandy dealing with the D-Day events and sites. In the eight years we have been doing this, we have had occasion to deal with most of the finest properties in the coastal Normandy regions and in the Bayeux area especially. We will never stay anyplace other than La Cheneviere UNLESS it happens to be unavailable for our dates and room numbers.
The rooms are excellent, the grounds phenomenal, the pool spectacular. But the main reason we choose La C is because of the staff. They are warm and friendly, not aloof in any way, which is unusual for the area, and the service is quick and very accommodating to every need of our guests. The quality of the food is of the highest standard, the meal service appropriately formal for the elegant ambience, and the typical breakfast buffet is the very best we have found in Europe, and the staff are eager and quick to serve you your choice of preparation if it is not on the buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been coming to Chateau La Cheneviere for twelve years and have never been disappointed. The staff is always extremely cordial and they treat my family and me like royalty. La Cheneviere is literally my home away from home whenever I visit Normandy. Special kudos to the reception staff and the breakfast staff, who always meet guests with pleasant smiles and exceptional courtesy. The Sales and Marketing coordinator is par excellent. The restaurant staff is extraordinarily professional and attentive. Close to Bayeux and the D-Day beaches, La Cheneviere is the finest chateau in which to stay when visiting the battlefields and the Bayeux Tapestry. In short, having accompanied twenty-five corporate groups to Normandy since 2001, I long ceased considering alternate locations. Five stars in every category.

Colonel Cole C. Kingseed, U.S. Army (Ret.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the grounds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent a day with my husband at Chateau La Cheneviere. We were at first very pleased with the lovely setting. The pool is great and the hotel is surrounded by superb gardens. The room was also at the standard of "a small luxury hotel". However, we started to have mixed feelings when we had an aperitif just before our dinner. We were standing for at least 5 minutes waiting for someone to show us where we could seat but as nobody seemed to care we decided to seat at a table with leftovers of the previous customers. The waiter finally took things off the table without even cleaning it then just asked us as if we were in a cafe what we wanted to drink without giving us the drinks menu. We had more or less the same experience for dinner, service is really poor! Staff are really young and made any mistakes not acceptable for the price you pay and the standard you expect in a "small luxury hotel". It is definitely not a place we will come back as we felt very frustrated. We are regular clients of relais et chateaux hotels and so far never been disappointed this way .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews