We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel, but beware the sommelier!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau La Cheneviere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel, but beware the sommelier!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

As on our previous two visits, La Cheneviere was our last night's stay in France before taking the ferry back to the UK from Cherbourg. After days in chambres d'hote, it is our final extravagance before returning home. The Hotel is very much country house style, with extremely comfortable and well furnished bedrooms with super bathrooms and deluxe toiletries. The staff all speak English, and prefer to do so rather than to let you practice your French. If for no other reason, the superb restaurant is worth staying here, and if you pick your way judiciously through the menu, provides reasonable value too. The "chariot de fromages" is legendary! However, I fell foul of the sommelier on this occasion who diverted me from my choice of wine. I should know better by now, but perhaps it was the combination of a long day's drive from the south west, and the euphoria of the last night of holiday, that I allowed myself to be steered away, and towards a ludicrously expensive bottle of Bandol. Not only that, but he advised that it cam from the south west of France, whereas it was actually Provencal. His attitude when this was mentioned to him was that-"It's all the Mediterranean." A bit like saying Cornwall is the same as Kent. This Hotel accommodates a lot of American visitors coming quite rightly to pay their respects at the Normandy Beaches, and maybe the sommelier thinks he can fool some of the foreign visitors some of the time.... One more minor grumble- you could die of thirst at the bar any time outside apero hour. Otherwise, spoil yourself and enjoy the experience of your stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    66
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
69
219
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerpen
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Perfectly situated to visit the beaches in Normandy. This castel is surrounded by a beautifull garden. Great rooms, quiet place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBB051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were only staying for a one night stopover with our 2 children but were so thrilled we did. The place itself is unbelieveably beautiful, great pool area, lovely rooms. We enjoyed the facilities very much. Come dinner time the only place our baby monitor would get reception was on the terrace where they don't normally serve dinner. They were extremely accommodating. Lovely all round.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We have stayed at this chateau three times. The service has been excellent every time. Although an effort to speak French is appreciated, many of the staff speak excellent English so language is not a problem. The menu changes but we have always found it interesting. It is well worth asking advice of the maitre d' and the sommelier. The grounds are beautiful with a good swimming pool and tennis court. The chateau is an excellent base for exploring both the D Day beaches and , with good road access, Normandy generally. The bedrooms in the main chateau may not have air-con, don't worry you don't need it and the views are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vantage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

What a magical and perfect place to stay in the Normandy region. Wonderful service, lovely rooms, excellent gardens. Made for a memorable stay and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avandane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

La Cheneviere is in a class by itself! The entire staff in reception, dining room and room service were outstanding and went out of their way to be helpful. Our room was fantastic and exceeded our high expectations. We will certainly look forward to returning to La Cheneviere someday again....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddrankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I was at first disappointed that our assigned rooms were in the Forge, rather than the Chateau proper as some of the previous reviews indicated that these accommodations were less desirable. I should not have been concerned & I hasten to assure future guests that the Forge is more than acceptable. The air-conditioned rooms are quiet, tastefully decorated and spotless as are the bathrooms. There has obviously been considerable thought put into decorating which is contemporary & utilitarian rather than traditional. The beds were very comfortable. There were many satellite channels available from all over Europe, GB and the US on a widescreen HD TV. The restaurant does have first class meals, service and wine list. I would wish that the breakfast coffee were available as a separate offering rather than having to pay for the complete petite dejeuner (which was extensive) since I rarely eat breakfast, but apparently, that may be standard in France as it was in the 2 hotels we stayed. The heated swimming pool is very clean and the exquisitely manicured grounds of the hotel are expansive, wooded with old growth trees and superbly planted.

The hotel staff were pleasant, cheerful and always helpful. They all speak English well and had suggestions for places to eat in nearby towns which also turned out to be very enjoyable country style menus heavy on seafood as one might expect since many of the restaurants in Port-en-Bessin are literally steps away from the sea and the fish market. I wish to give special recognition to our always cheerful morning waitress Béatrice, who was a wealth of local trivia and suggestions for places to eat in surrounding towns.

The hotel is located reasonably close to expressways and as such, we were able to use it as the base to explore all of Basse Normandie and Mont. St. Michel to the Route de Cidre, the landing beaches, the coastal towns all the way to Honfleur, Caen with museum and cemeteries, Bayeux and Giverny.

Unless your expectations are very much higher than mine, I can almost guarantee you a pleasant stay at Chateau La Cheneviere.

I have absolutely no vested interest in making travel arrangements or the Chateau.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRLTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
591 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
1.0 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
972 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
11.5 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Cheneviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Cheneviere

Property: Chateau La Cheneviere
Address: Escures-Commes, 14400 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau La Cheneviere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau La Cheneviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Cheneviere Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Chateau La Cheneviere France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing