We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel punches well above it's weight, what a delightful surprise it was to find an Ibis Hotel that is warm and inviting, great breakfast and the rooms, although Spartan, much better than other Ibis Hotels. Great location, for touring, great restaurant choices nearby although many closed the days we were there. Interesting to see the fishing boats come in and out without any noise at all.

Room Tip: Arrive early and park at the back of reception, car park difficult to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allenhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 907 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

We arrived at Port en Bessin late in the evening with the intention of driving through after a short sightseeing trip but decided to stay in the area for a few days instead. We entered Hotel Ibis and that was that, we were welcomed with smiles and the friendliest of staff. We stayed in the hotel for four days and I can honestly say that the experience was excellent. The room was really clean and it included a flat screen television. Breakfast was whatever you wanted it to be, from orange juice and toast to a fry and coffee. By the time we decided to check out I felt that we were personal friends with the staff there. I will admit that a working knowledge of French will go a long way but most of the staff were quite fluent in several languages. The overall cost is very competitive and will not be beaten for value. I highly recommend Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin for your stay in this historical area of France.

Room Tip: As the area is very quiet I do not think that front or rear rooms differ much from one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter. It worked well for a one night stay with a kid. (We brought our own travel crib but if you need a crib you have to ask in advance.) The room was small but new and clean. The bathroom kind of felt like a bathroom on a boat but it was semi-roomy for a European budget bathroom. The location was mostly great - it was nice to be right in the heart of a quaint and friendly town on the coast. We walked to shops and restaurants and hiked up the side of a hill to a WW2 bunker & battle sight. The only downside is that it is right across from where they clean the fish so it smells outside. But you can't smell it at all in the hotel. I still give this place 4 stars for what it is meant to be - a short term stay in a cute town.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the harbor so you don't have the fish smell. Also request a crib well i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin during a trip to Normandy and it was a great location. You can walk to the Port in just minutes and watch the tide come in. Although I was expecting more of an "Ocean view", it was perfectly accommodating. The rooms are not large but fine for a couple who just needs a comfortable place to crash in the evenings. There was A/C and they were pet-friendly which were both pluses in our book. The staff was friendly and everything was clean. Ibis hotels are a great option for traveling on a budget.

Room Tip: You can pay more for a view of the Port but it smells a bit fishy with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is the typical Ibis formula and it was comfortable enough although anything longer than a short stay might find yourself wishing for a little more luxury. However the room was clean and the service was friendly. Would recommend, particularly as it is one of the best placed hotels in Port En Bessin

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Feels more like a college dorm room then a hotel room. It's clean and staff is friendly. Restaurants across the water so convenient to food. Quiet area with fishing boats docked in water outside hotel. Smells fishy in the AM. Breakfast is nothing spectacular.....cereal, Yogurt, croissants, and fruit. Nothing fancy. Just the basics.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank YankeeBoy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Like nearly all Ibis Hotels in France (where I have visited) you expect cleanliness, comfort and courteous staff. This was one of the really good ones, especially the welcoming staff, who could not do enough for you, 'though rushing over to open the lift exceeded their duty, but nice anyway. As described in my room tip addendum, rooms at the front of the Hotel are better than those at the rear but you pay a premium.
Breakfast at 9 euros was great value, don't even think that you would get the same quality or quantity in the town.
Honestly, really liked it.
If the owners read this review, give the Staff a pay rise! (No I'm not related to any of them).
P.S. Fantastic location for visiting all the D.day beaches, 20 - 30 minutes each way.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the Hotel have a very limited view and not much sunlight (in Normandy this is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobAshbydelaZouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
623 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
609 reviews
4.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Bayeux
Premiere Classe Bayeux
#11 of 21 in Bayeux
485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
382 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bayeux
Hotel Le Bayeux
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: $61 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing