We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal location for the D Day beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ibis is a hotel chain but this was not your average "Travelodge"!
Located in the fishing port of Port-en-Bessin-Huppain the hotel is located on one side of the quay with numerous restaurants and bars on the other.
It was a short walk over a bridge at the head of the harbour to all the restaurants but this adds to the charm of the location. Even on a cool, wet and windy September evening the lights of the port shone brightly and warmly.
The hotel was fine as a chain, with a 24 hour bar and a la carte food service; all the staff I met spoke excellent English, thankfully given my French is more than a little rusty! The only drawback was that the main car park was a two minute drive to it's location, round a few back streets from the hotel even though it was well signposted, yet it was linked directly to the hotel via a small walkway from a hill that overlooked the hotel.
Another possible problem is that if you have a room at the front of the hotel you may be disturbed by some noise from the fishing port which is working day and night.
But these are really nothing when you look at the charm of this pretty port and the history of the local area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you don't want to be possibly disturbed by any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andywilson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 894 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was the third Ibis hotel we used on this holiday and it did not disappoint. The location was fine, looking out over the fishing harbour and only a few minutes pleasant walk in the small town centre where there are plenty of restaurants to chose from. Both the receptionists we met were really pleasant and helpful with our efforts at speaking French. The hotel décor reflected the importance of the poppy as a symbol of the history of the area and we thought this was a nice gesture. Our room was very good quality, well presented and with comfortable beds. We managed to park immediately at the back of the hotel where there are 6 spaces or thereabouts but learned that they have a larger car park from which you enter the hotel over a bridge to the second floor. It is signposted as you come into the area. We enjoyed a very reasonable breakfast and would recommend the hotel for its facilities and value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_brindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Funtravelinr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, many places to eat to choose from.
Had a flat tire on our Budget rental car and Desk Clerk Adeline was able to help us communicate with the office in Caen so we could change the car. She saved our vacation.
Todd and Linda Timberlake OHIO USA

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were extremely impressed with this Ibis. Reconciling ourselves to a small room, we were delighted to find a large bedroom and clean bathroom. Perfectly comfortable and clean. The hotel has no internal stairs to the car park and I don't like lifts so I requested a change of room to the ground floor instead of the first floor room (which appeared to have a small balcony). This was all achieved with courtesy and the minimum of fuss. I then thought our window looking directly over the small port area and road could be noisy but with the window closed we heard barely anything. There is also air conditioning which comes on automatically when the window is closed but is easily turned off.
Breakfast was first class value and very good. There is of course limited choice but it's all freshly prepared and good quality. My only bugbear - a huge queue for the single tea/coffee machine - which was a bit of a nuisance as we had to get away relatively early. There was good WIFI at the hotel which we had no difficulty accessing. Again though, as with all the hotels this trip, I felt the staff were a bit stretched. I was going to order a drink at the bar but a couple had the attention of the receptionist with a computer problem, she was also answering the phone and attempting to take care of some other customers with another simple enquiry. The town is a reasonable walk away for the unfit - you have to walk the length of the wharves before crossing over but it is a lovely little friendly place with an interesting beach of rock pools and washed up scallop shells. Great location for exploring the landing beaches.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can only confirm and expand on the other positive reviews. For one thing, the room we had was so much larger than other Ibis hotel rooms we've stayed in, we were wondering if we'd been upgraded to a suite! Yes, the bed is hard, but we prefer that (I don't think it's so hard that one couldn't fall asleep on it). As for the parking, the important thing is to follow the signs leading to the parking plaza BEFORE you arrive at the entrance to the hotel; otherwise, you'll just have to turn around on a very narrow street and go back there. The parking signs will take you through a residential neighborhood for a few blocks, but you'll end up directly behind and above the hotel. You park, cross a little metal bridge to the second floor of the hotel, take the elevator down to the lobby, and then you can check in and/or go to your room. So if you're using GPS, don't let it take you to the front of the hotel; instead, keep an eye out for the parking signs on the right and make the turns as signposted.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, facing the harbor. They do work through the night, but you won't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YanksAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank OneoftheIans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
614 reviews
4.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
8.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayeux
Ibis Budget Bayeux
#1 of 1 in Nonant
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing