We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Normandy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Right next to the working harbour, so be prepared for the smell of fish when the fleet comes in. Car parking behind the hotel, so watch out for the road signs...look at the front the ibis, and drive to the right along the road until you see a sign for the car park ...it's easy from there. If you don't like dogs, be warned, there are some at breakfast....accompanied by their owners of course! Easy drive to bayeux, Omaha and Gold. About 2 hours easy drive to mont st michel.

Room Tip: Even numbers have harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pemkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 907 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Garage needs code or sensor with room key so not to depend on ring to reception, microphone had low volume and could not hear clearly the voice of clerk, annoying. Would also have another wifi service, the present one takes too long for first connection because of personal data introduction, it also blocks internet connection in next lodging because it automatically inserts an IP number in the internet "Properties" connection. Have indicated this problem, after finding out, to the Hotel network so they do something about it. Only 1 elevator, no stairs (only for emergency, with alarm connected), this makes no sense as it only has 3 floors. Could also use a code or sensor at elevator entrance if worried about security.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alberto4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although this hotel is well positioned and seems to have plenty of parking,was let down by beds of stone.My wife and I had the two worst nights sleep on our trip.Coupled with the fact that the shower head was broken and hit my wife on the head and the bath room wasn't cleaned when we was there put a bit of a downer on the last few days.We did report the matter but they chose not to do anything as we were only there for one more day.15 euro's off the bill for the inconvenience was offered however.(wow) Breakfast over priced and chose to eat out.Well placed for all D-Day sites if you like a hard bed.

Room Tip: Take your own mattress if you don't like sleeping on stone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in this small hotel during our sailing holiday with Escape Yachting and were delighted to find it in the perfect location overlooking the small harbour and town. We received a warm welcome at reception and the room was very spacious (Room 2) with a comfortable bed and good bathroom. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment on that. This hotel is not in Bayeux - which is a short distance away - but that was not a problem for us as we were on a yacht moored in the pretty harbour!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We decided to book there because Port en Bessin is a quiet nice place. not far to the landings beaches So much to visit.
The Ibis hotel is very modern , clean and pretty confortable.
Restaurants , "café" and shops are closed by We stayed 2 days .Enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: the top ones are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamynova007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were very pleased with the room we reserved at the ibis hotel. It was modern, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Its’ signature is the Poppy. Poppies adorn the carpets of the halls and the room numbers for each door; very classy. I figure this was the nicest room we stayed in during the entire two weeks we traveled around France and England. It had a balcony that offered a wonderful view of the boats in the inner harbour. Our bathroom was a round fiberglass modular unit that was quite unique, well equipped, and very user friendly.
The hotel is close to the famous Normandy beaches, restaurants, cafés, and rows of local vendors that set up each day across the inner harbour. The hotel offers a breakfast for 12 euros each. We elected to go across the Quay to one of the restaurants and ate well for under 7 euros each. The hotel has two parking lots, one is in the rear of the hotel and the other, is up the hill behind the building. You have access between the second floor of the hotel and this parking lot by a footbridge.
The people at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. This is a beautiful area and I fully recommend this hotel. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stivonovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We decided to book this hotel as it was exactly in the middle of Normandy D-Day beaches, splitting our Normandy experience into two perfect days. Hotel is based in a small port town, next to the canal and really close to the beach itself. Restaurants, bars, post office and supermarket in about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

About the hotel itself:
+ situated in the city centre
+ close to the beach
+ reasonable price per night
+ free parking
+ free wifi
- no hotel restaurant
- all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet limited variety of meals
- small bathroom
- unpleasant smell coming out of the bathroom
- limited tv channels

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
624 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
609 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Bayeux
Premiere Classe Bayeux
#11 of 21 in Bayeux
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
382 reviews
4.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
163 reviews
5.0 mi away
Le Saint-Patrice
Le Saint-Patrice
#12 of 21 in Bayeux
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: $61 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing