We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here one night when we were in the Normandy area. Extremely convenient to see all the historical sights. The hotel is in a charming town with some wonderful restaurants. Rooms were OK. Parking was easy and we felt very safe.

Room Tip: rooms on the backside are quieter. dont pay for breakfast, eat locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    465
    85
    14
    8
See reviews for
189
448
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

there's a class of hotels in Europe, that probably compare to the typical motel in North America. They are low cost, efficiency style properties that don't go crazy with amenities. Just the basics. This hotel fits that class. A very clean and basic room, with a queen sized bed (NA sizing) and a novel bunk above for the kid. Maybe 2 little one's could fit up there, but no more. Internet is included. Breakfast was a bit extra, but not expensive. Front desk staff were not 100% fluent in English, but between my poor french and their English we got through it. Staff were very friendly. Basically everything you could ask for in this style of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in many Ibis Hotels and always had good value ,

This one was no exception , very helpful staff and good breakfast ,

Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to tour the surrounding area for a few days ..

Car parking was around the back of the hotel through a housing estate but was secure and free !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were really impressed with this modern and spotless Ibis. Our room was facing away from the port, cheaper and possibly more quiet.
The staff were very friendly, brekfast really nice.
The place is a small fishing village if you are looking for a quiet place then this should be something for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TomaszWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a couple of days during the D Day commemorations. The staff were very helpful at all times. Our room was excellent and one of the best Ibis rooms that we encountered in France. The hotel was ideally situated to place us where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank coyleandgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Of the five hotels we stayed at during our cycling trip along the Normandy Beaches, this was the most expensive and gave us our worst night's sleep.

We knew we had a tough section to cycle to Port en Bessin so chose a good hotel as a treat. First impressions were good. Nice location by the docks and friendly reception staff. The girl on duty didn't speak much English but was patient while I absorbed the information. There is a secure shed with a combination lock at the rear which is purpose-built to hold bikes - a very good idea.

Our room was at the back, modern and with a very nice bathroom and shower. We had a very nice meal in town and then crashed out for the night. Both of us were awake again within an hour - the bed was rock-hard and the pillows were uncomfortable (they were hard and one was not enough but two were too much). We mentioned this when checking out and were met with a smile and a Gallic shrug. We won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely spacious and clean hotel with everything you would need for a weekend away. We went specifically to do a tour of the D-Day beaches and then on the following day to go to Mont St Michel. We had a car so the station where we met our tour guide was not too far away. A short walk takes you to the docks where you can walk by the rough sea and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Optional breakfast was €9 a day and well worth it for a nice selection. I would recommend this place

Room Tip: No pool. Choose either car park facing or the dock facing. It's in a very quiet place so no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxationLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
347 reviews
4.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
203 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
558 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Property: Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing