We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitted our requirements.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fitted our requirements.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed one night during our D-Day beach tour. Central location, was ideal.for our two day tour.From front door, enjoyable sight of coloured trawlers and fishing boats.TomTom directions hassle free . Room met all requirements, clean, bed provided a sound nights sleep.Very adiquate breakfast. No problems with parking, situated behind hotel, with short ramp providing lift access.to reception area.Many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    477
    88
    14
    8
See reviews for
194
456
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Second stay here and still good and would visit again. Position and parking good with helpful and friendly staff and very clean. Breakfast good compared to many French hotels with staff replenishing items promptly. Only minor complaint would be about the size and quality of towels. Must make a note to bring our own if we visit again! Whilst we realise ibis are not a luxury hotel chain and their prices reflect this the provision of one small thin towel per person and one small hand towel to share is not good. Shower excellent.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank janehague2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

usual ideal hotel accomodation at ibis. No grassed area close to hotel,but about 200 yards which worked OK for us. Only a short walk to a selection of restaurants and a small beach. Great service, clean and ideal accommodation, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in to see Port En Bessin, very close to Port and the many resturants which are in walking distance. Parking was great , just behind the hotel
Room was excellent as was breakfast, Very helpfull staff. Will definately stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jamesp1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I don't understand how this hotel receives such great reviews. The town, while picturesque and scenic, is dull. I chalk it up to it not being tourist season, so if you're not going during the busy time be prepared to find most restaurants to be closed. The hotel is near the Normandy beaches and the American Cemetery, which is a plus.

The room we stayed in looked really nice when we first entered... until we had a real good look around... It was not clean. The bathroom was disgusting... hair all over the floor, I don't think anyone really scrubbed the shower in months. We also found hair all over the pillows on the bed. We found the staff to be mostly friendly... which is why I rank this hotel a 2 out of 5 and not a 1 out of 5.

Don't waste the money on eating in the hotel... they don't make the food on site, it's all microwaveable. The breakfast was 9 euro... it looked like it consisted of cereal and some fruit (we skipped it). There is a bar, but it is awkwardly positioned right next to the check in desk... so the hotel clerk is also the bar tender... very odd.

It's probably best for a romantic get away (I guess). Overall, very disappointed with the hotel. We paid around 90 euro for 1 room for 1 night... looking back on it, I wouldn't be willing to pay more than 30 euro and I'd rate it a 2 star at best.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washdctraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a good hotel in a wonderful spot overlooking a harbour full of fishing boats and it is very close to the small, pleasant town which has plenty of places to eat. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are friendly. There is ample, free convenient parking. The location is convenient for visiting the D-Day sites eg Normandy Landing beaches, museums and cemetries, as well as Bayeux.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank s_clark007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel in excellent location for exploring D-Day beaches.
Only 8km from American cemetery.
Hotel overlooking fishing boats - lots of activity early morning (surprisingly not too noisy) - great to watch from small balcony.

Booked online through Accor website - 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children (12 and 10).
We received one room with a double bed (overlooking harbour) and one room with 2 single beds (looking at nothing!) Rooms were not next to each other and were a few doors apart (even though they were consecutive numbers!)

Rooms usual ibis - no frills but clean, comfortable and quite a decent size.

Check-in was friendly, informative and quick (English speaking).

Hotel is short walk along harbour into town where there are numberous small restaurants and shops.

A Super U supermarket is a short drive away.

Parking is free at rear of hotel (Don’t park out the front as this is for the fisherman!)
Hotel parking was limited - not a problem for us in winter but may be in summer.

A pleasant adequate stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
595 reviews
4.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#7 of 21 in Bayeux
582 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
5.8 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Property: Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing