We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Nearby Hotels
Chateau La Cheneviere(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$530
$477
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach(Port-en-Bessin-Huppain)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine de l'Hostreiere(Colleville-sur-Mer)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Saint-Patrice(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel La Rosiere(Tracy-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mogador(Bayeux)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$80
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
311
506
95
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
506
95
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkfishing boatsd day beachessecure parkingshort walknormandy beachesclean roomsthe hotel offersworking harbourrestaurants and shopsself servicebuffet breakfastspoke good englishideal locationcouple of nightsyogurtair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 937 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We wanted something near Bayeux as a base for the Normandy Beaches, the Tapestry and Mont Saint-Michel. We trust IBIS and this hotel was ideally placed. We were unsure when our SatNav directed us down country lanes and the IBIS signs took us through a small residential development and brought us to the car park at the back of and above the hotel. Our entry was on the top floor and we took the lift down to reception.
We know of the jokes about friendly rivalry between the French and English but the hotel staff were great throughout our five night stay. What was surprising was the fishing harbour scene on our doorstep as we walked out the hotel main entrance. The walk around the Port-en-Bessin was something we enjoyed at night, and it added an unexpected dimesion to our holiday.
It's only a five mile drive into Bayeux and is very well worth the effort.
Anyone who has tried to park in Bayeux will appreciate the ease of the free arrangements here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggM593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a Brittany Ferry deal. Chose hotel from reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Excellent value for money very clean and a good breakfast. All the staff were very friendly and the breakfast staff worked extremely hard making sure all food was replenished and fresh at a very busy time. Good parking comfortable bed, good shower and free wifi. Good restuarants within walking distance. We were allocated a rear view room and paid 10 Euro per night to upgrade to a harbour view which in retrospect probably was not worth it as we did not spend much time in the room. Excellent base for visiting area and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janehague2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a great stay at the Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin in October 2012. It was a perfect base for visiting the D-Day beaches and I wish we had used it to visit Bayeux and Caen as well in hindsight. The staff was very helpful, the room was spotless, and the bed was comfortable. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the end of the port where you can walk up to an old tower, view the cliffs, and watch the tide come in where there are picture perfect rows of small boats lined up. There is also a small fish market to walk through on certain days (check with the hotel). You can easily walk to all the recommended restaurants as well. Parking is the only thing that's a little bit tricky - it is behind the hotel and you get there completely differently from driving to the front of the hotel. My best advice is to follow the small Ibis Parking signs at the traffic circles that start when you enter the town.

Enjoy the Normandy coast!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a port view, but you're still a considerable distance from most of the boats. The rooms in the back are less expensive.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Throughly enjoyed the service provided by the hotel and its staff. The accommodation allocated was a double room with a rear facing view ,which was as equally pleasant as the front facing harbour view, so not disappointed. The room was very clean and the facilities within were all in working order, the rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and it was a nice welcome to return to a tidy room after a day out. All in all a nice contained unit in which to have as a base to explore the sights of Normandy. My stay included bed and breakfast, the start of the day was with a good quality continenal style breakfast, which was more than adequate to see me through to lunch. The frontline staff were very helpful, using both French and English to help with any queries. The village of Port en Bessin was very attractive with a wide selection of restaurants to try. The hotel located near to the town of Bayeux, is only a short 15 minute drive, if more attractions are required. Overall the experience was very good and I say money well spent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel was very clean and inviting. The staff is very friendly and do speak English pretty well (better than my French). The room was large and it was very clean. The bathroom has a hair dryer. The breakfast each morning (9 euros per person) has plenty of items, from sweet to savory. The croissants ( plain/butter & chocolate) were excellent....and there is cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, quiche, ham and crepes, as well as coffee, tea and juice. The secure, gated parking lot is behind the hotel (you will take a road a short distance away to get there after you drop off your luggage.....and then you go to an elevator from the parking area to enter the hotel). That worked out well. The hotel has free internet...you just need to sign in and create your own password. The location is convenient to visiting all the sites in the Normandy area. There are a number of good restaurants a short walk from the hotel (across a bridge)....an easy walk (no hills). If you have seen the movie "The Longest Day", one of the battle scenes (Casino) was filmed here (but it was of a battle in Ouistreham)...so not accurate, but it is interesting to see the scene....many things are easily recognized from the village, to include the stone tower. Above the stone tower, are the remains of German trenches....a long zig zag stretch. So, there is much to see and do here in this nice fishing village as well as the area in general. Ibis is a great place to stay while in the coastal area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews