We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel in Port-en-Bessin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Central hotel in Port-en-Bessin”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Good hotel right in the centre of Port-en-Bessin. This is a fishing town and opposite the hotel, the boats prepare their nets for fishing and can be seen leaving in the evening. Secure gated free parking behind the hotel. This hotel is ideal for touring around the D-day landing beaches and museums and is within easy strolling distance, 10 minutes, to many restaurants the other side of the waterway The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and are of the usual basic accommodation of the Ibis/Accor hotels. Breakfast is available which is self service and has a selection of pastries, yoghurts, fruit, bread, jams and coffee/tea facilities for 9 Euros, which is good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    456
    85
    14
    8
See reviews for
185
437
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed for just one night in September during our drive through France and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the hotel.

The receptionist was lovely, very very friendly, professional and helpful and we were always met with a smile when we came through reception.

The rooms were pristine, spotless and of the usual Ibis layout and decor with everything you need, including a hair dryer in the bathroom (which also included a great shower).

We were lucky enough to get a room with a balcony which looks out on to the harbour and from where you can watch the numerous fishing boats coming in and out - would highly recommend one of the harbour facing rooms. There was no undue noise however despite this and we both had a great night's sleep.

The car park is situated behind the hotel and is secured by security gates however you can park for a short time right at the front while you check in and unload bags which is very helpful. There is also a short path which leads directly from the car park to the back of the hotel so it is all very convenient.

Breakfast was the usual mix of breads/cereals/fruit etc with the added yumminess of fresh crepes and other little extras.

All in all, a great hotel in a really pretty location - highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracemcd81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for four nights - met up with friends from Orleans, France who also booked a room. Just can't say enough about the wonderful staff and the beautiful room. we had a balcony that overlooked the canal - yes there was a fishing enterprise there - but very interesting to watch. The walk into the Port-en-Bessin village was about five minutes - many good small restaurants located there. The proximity to Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery was excellent and the roads to Utah (one direction) and Arromanche (other direction) were easily accessible.

The parking lot is located behind the hotel - and is reached by a different route - and is behind a security gate. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, as well - it was not included in the room tariff - but at 9 euros each, was not over-priced for the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room (second or third floor) facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALItraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A perfect stop-over for the night - highly recommend this hotel if you're after good quality, clean, no frills accommodation at a reasonable price. Bedroom was clean and comfortable, and we got a good night's sleep. Also really loved the location in the heart of a small fishing port, which had heart and soul! What more could one want!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chashley1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Second time I've used this hotel; previously as a one night stop over on the way to the ferry, this time for three nights as a base to explore the Bessin region, specifically Bayeux and the D Day beaches, museums and sites.
The hotel is situated in a fantastic spot, overlooking the busy harbour and the picturesque town with cliff top secure parking behind the hotel. Don't be put off by the word 'secure', this is a friendly Normandy small town, its just that you can park an open top car with confidence behind electric gates and access the rear of the hotel via a lift.
This is one of the ultra modern Ibis with contemporary decor, minimalist bathrooms that have absolutely everything you need beautifully designed including a great shower.
The rooms are very comfortable with air con and in our case, a small balcony overlooking the port.
The lobby and bar are great, again contemporary , spacious and with a good selection of drinks etc.
Breakfast is continental, well presented (self service) good quality , offering a more than adequate selection.

The staff are charming and very helpful and offer the Ibis 15 minute guarantee - if they can't sort your problem in 15 mins, your stay is gratis!
I don't think this offer covers speech impediments or being vertically challenged, but I'm sure they would honour it in the case of a genuine hotel based issue.

The location really is a stunner; you can walk along the quay, over the swing bridge to the town where there are approx 10 restaurants, three of the ones we tried were good, one exceptional.
The harbour is fascinating , watching the floodlit trawlers go out to sea every night (except saturday).
Port en Bessin is not just a very pretty, very French town; it is a genuine hard working fishing port that is a hive of industry when the ships leave at dusk and again when they return to process the catch in the early hours. These are big tough boats and the engineering needed to keep them up to scratch is also frequent and can be loud!
It's not a problem to comfort though because the Ibis has the most effective sound proofing I've ever encountered.
So if you want to sleep like a baby as we did, you may need to close your balcony door at night sometimes (if you are on the front) and use the brilliant air con. It really isn't a problem and the bonus of seeing this amazing real life activity right in front of you more than compensates
We only ate breakfast in the hotel so can't vouch for the room service and dinner menu's but it looked ok.
Overall good value - we booked via last minute .com but I don't think the rate was discounted particularly.

I'd definitely use this Ibis again, the staff really are great and it is just such a cool, relaxing and well located Hotel.

Room Tip: I'd go for a front 1st floor room every time just to watch the harbour activity
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

An excellent hotel situated right ON the dockside of this pretty town. Staff exceptionally frindly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Nice bars and restaurants about 5-10 mins walk along the wharf. An ideal base for visiting the D day landing sights or exploring this lovely part of Normandy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triumphdaytona2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KING'S LYNN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our friends booked this hotel as we were planning to tour the D Day beaches and museums, it was a bit of a shock when we found the hotel across the road near a small fish dock, also the outside of the hotel did not look very appealing, but once inside the girl at reception was very nice and helpful, our room was clean and tidy although basic, towels and soaps were provided but no tea and coffee facilities in the room, bring your own kettle and supplies.

Breakfast was the continental type with a lot of choices and very clean eating areas around the small bar area, there did not seem to be many staff on duty on our stay.

Just a short walk away there are some great fish restaurants for dinner, but suggest you book a table as they can get full.

So if you don't mined a basic but clean hotel in a great touring area try this one, just one more point the car park can be a bit tight to get in and out of if you have a large car.

Sorry on the mistake about the swimming pool, there isn't one.

Room Tip: Although the rooms at the front of the hotel seem to have better views, there can be noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SONAS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Churchill
Hotel Churchill
#4 of 21 in Bayeux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Property: Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin France/Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing