We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the ferries”

Ouistreham Beach (Plage de Ouistreham)
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.53*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries...
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Ouistreham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shame about the ferries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a lovely day on this great beach which is clean and tidy but I could only find one toilet block which was closed. I bought a baguette from one of the stalls and took it onto the beach to enjoy. It was fantastic and at only 6 euros it filled me up for the rest of the day and I wish I had taken a photo to show friends how large it was. Next year we are going to hire bikes and use the excellent cycle paths. The only problem is that you can see the ferry that is going to take you back to England.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    119
    23
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Great Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A lovely beach , plenty of space for everybody and nice and clean. Close enough to the town to stroll for some food if needed. Plenty of parking available also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KieranG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The beach here is huge. Lots to do. The beach is normally pretty breezy which is great if you like flying kites, riding wind carts or other similar sports. You also obviously have the D-Day connection here too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Deep and wide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love the gentle slope of the beach, the expanse of it and the fact that locals use it, not only tourists. We like Ouistreham.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This beach was one of the sites of the D-Day Landings and museums and military memorials dot the cost. That said, you'd never guess this was once a war zone. The beach is spectacularly beautiful and, incidentally, enormously popular with French joggers (of which there are a great many!).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouistreham Beach (Plage de Ouistreham) also viewed

 

Been to Ouistreham Beach (Plage de Ouistreham)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing